Selected Titles
The resources listed below are located in the Reference area or available as an ebook. When available, use the call number links below to view book summaries in the library catalog record, when available.
APA Handbook of Psychology, Religion, and Spirituality
by This two-volume handbook presents the most comprehensive coverage of the current state of the psychology of religion and spirituality. It introduces a new integrative paradigm for this rapidly growing and diverse field. This paradigm sheds light on the many purposes religion serves, the rich variety of religious and spiritual beliefs and practices, and the capacity of religion and spirituality to do both good and harm. The integrative paradigm encourages psychologists to attend to the ways religion and spirituality are expressed not only in individual lives, but also in the lives of couples, families, institutions, communities, and cultures. The handbook documents how the psychology of religion and spirituality is building on its theoretical and empirical foundation to encompass practice. The chapters in this handbook provide in-depth and varied perspectives of leading scholars and practitioners on the most vital questions in the field: What does it mean to say someone is religious or spiritual? Why are people religious and spiritual? How are people affected by the diverse ways they experience and express their faith? How are religion and spirituality shaped and manifested across different ages, ethnicities, religious traditions, and cultures? How can psychologists distinguish constructive from destructive forms of religion and spirituality? How can psychologists integrate religion and spirituality within various models of assessment and treatment? At a broader level, how can psychologists integrate knowledge about religion and spirituality more fully into efforts to address the most significant personal, social, and cultural problems of our day? In what ways might psychologists of religion and spirituality contribute to the full variety of human institutions -- mental health, medical, educational, correctional, military, workplace, and communal? And what distinctive contributions can the psychology of religion and spirituality make to mainstream psychological theory, research, and practice?Call Number: BF51 .A53 LRC-RPublication Date: 2013-01-01
Handbook of Cross-Cultural and Multicultural Personality Assessment
by Throughout the world as in the United States, psychologists are increasingly being called upon to evaluate clients whose backgrounds differ from their own. It has long been recognized that standard personality and psychopathology assessment instruments carry cultural biases, and in recent years, efforts to correct these biases have accelerated. The Handbook of Cross-Cultural and Multicultural Personality Assessmentbrings together researchers and practitioners from 12 countries with diverse ethnic and racial identities and training to present state-of-the-art knowledge about how best to minimize cultural biases in the assessment of personality and psychopathology. They consider research methodology, the design and construction of standard objective and projective tests, the use of measures of acculturation, racial identity, and culture-specific tests, the social etiquette of service delivery, and the interpretation of test data for clinical diagnosis. Ranging widely through all the relevant issues, they share a common collective vision of how culturally competent services should be delivered to clients. The Handbookoffers the first comprehensive view of a consistent approach to cultural competence in assessment--a necessary precursor of effective intervention. It will become an indispensable reference for all those whose practice or research involves individuals with different ethnic and racial identities. t issues, they share a common collective vision of how culturally competent services should be delivered to clients. The Handbookoffers the first comprehensive view of a consistent approach to cultural competence in assessment--a necessary precursor of effective intervention. It will become an indispensable reference for all those whose practice or research involves individuals with different ethnic and racial identities.Publication Date: 2000-02-01
Note: Limited to 1 user
Handbook of Psychological Assessment
by The most highly acclaimed and complete reference work on psychological assessment-fully updated and expanded Covering principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing, the latest edition of Gary Groth-Marnat's landmark Handbook of Psychological Assessment has been thoroughly revised and expanded. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, this classic resource offers coverage of the most widely used assessment instruments and has been updated to include new material and cover tests that are growing in popularity, such as brief assessment instruments. Handbook of Psychological Assessment also provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, how to interpret assessment data, and how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways in which to write effective, client-oriented, problem-solving psychological reports. The Fifth Edition provides thorough coverage of the most commonly used assessment instruments including the Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale-Fourth Edition (WAIS-IV), Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Children-Fourth Edition (WISC-IV), Wechsler Memory Scale-Fourth Edition (WMS-IV), Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory-2 (MMPI-2), California Psychology Inventory (CPI), Rorschach, Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory-III (MCMI-III), Thematic Apperception Test, Repeatable Battery for the Assessment of Neuropsychological Status (RBANS), brief assessment instruments, clinical interviewing, and behavioral assessment. In addition, this Fifth Edition includes: Updates on the new WAIS-IV, WISC-IV, and WMS-IV An increased emphasis on diversity A focus on screening for neuropsychological impairment, including coverage of the Repeatable Battery for the Assessment of Neuropsychological Status (RBANS) Coverage of the Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory-2-Restructured Form New information on client feedback and consultation An updated chapter on psychological report writing, including new examples of psychological reports Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Fifth Edition is a practical, valuable reference for professionals looking to stay current as well as for students looking for the most thorough and trusted resource covering the field of psychological assessment.Call Number: BF176.G76 LRC-RPublication Date: 2009-05-04
The Handbook of Psychological Testing
by Since publication in its first edition the Handbook of Psychological Testing has become the standard text for organisational and educational psychologists. It offers the only comprehensicve, modern and clear account of the whole of the field of psychometrics. It covers psychometric theory, the different kinds of psychological test, applied psychological testing, and the evaluation of the best published psychological tests. It is outstanding for its detailed and complete coverage of the field, its clarity (even for the non-mathematical) and its emphasis on the practical application of psychometric theory in psychology and education, as well as in vocational, occupational and clinical fields. For this second edition the Handbook has been extensively revised and updated to include the latest research and thinking in the field. Unlike other work in this area, it challenges the scientific rigour of conventional psychometrics and identifies groundbreaking new ways forward.Call Number: BF176 .K575 LRC-RPublication Date: 1999-11-16
Handbook of the Psychology of Religion and Spirituality, Second Edition
by Widely regarded as the definitive reference, this volume comprehensively examines the psychological processes associated with religion and spirituality. Leading scholars from multiple psychological subdisciplines present developmental, cognitive, social psychological, cultural, and clinical perspectives on this core aspect of human experience. The forms and functions of religious practices and rituals, conversion experiences, and spiritual struggles are explored. Other key topics include religion as a meaning system, religious influences on prosocial and antisocial behavior, and connections to health, coping, and psychotherapy. New to This Edition *Two chapters on cross-cultural issues. *Chapters on spiritual goals, emotional values, and mindfulness. *Reflects significant theoretical and empirical developments in the field. *Many new authors and extensively revised chapters. *Robust index amplifies the volume's usefulness as a reference tool. A Choice Outstanding Academic TitlePublication Date: 2013-05-21
Note: Limited to 3 usersMeasures of Religiosity
by Table of Contents sections include "Scales of Religious Beliefs and Practices," Scales of Religious Attitudes," "Scales of Religious Commitment and Involvement, and moreCall Number: BR110 .M43 LRC-RPublication Date: 1999-07-01
Includes measures and scales in the psychology of religion, such as the "Faith Maturity Scale" (pp. 171-) and "Spiritual Leadership Qualities Inventory" (p. 255).
Scientific Methods of Inquiry for Intelligence Analysis
by Since 9/11, the needs of intelligence agencies as well as the missions they conduct have increased in number, size, and complexity. As such, government and private security agencies are recruiting staff to analyze the vast amount of data collected in these missions. This textbook offers a way of gaining the analytic skills essential to undertake intelligence work. It acquaints students and analysts with how intelligence fits into the larger research framework. It covers not only the essentials of applied research, but also the function, structure, and operational methods specifically involved in intelligence work. It looks at how analysts work with classified information in a security conscious environment as well as obtain data via covert methods. Students are left with little doubt about what intelligence is and how it is developed using scientific methods of inquiry. This revised edition of the popular text has been expanded and updated significantly.Publication Date: 2014-09-08
Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, education and Business
by Provides current information on assessment instruments. Does not review or evaluate tests; provides concise, easy-to-read descriptions.Call Number: BF176.T43 LRC-RPublication Date: 2007-09-01
Search for Books and Ebooks
opens new window ORU Library Catalog
Try a keyword or subject search. Examples:
- opens new windowpsychological tests subject results
- opens new windowpersonality assessment subject results
- opens new windowpersonality tests subject results
For ebooks, limit the result list to "ebooks"
See: opens new windowHow to Find Books & Ebooks library guide