It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Earlier edition also available in print: BR67 .R24 1985
Christianity in the Roman Empire (AD 100-300) by Winn, Robert E.Christianity in the Roman Empire is a topical and biographical introduction to Christianity before Constantine. While its focusis the historical development of the proto-orthodox community, Robert Winn aims to bridge the gap between contemporary Christians and those who lived in the Roman Empire. To do this, his chapters discuss particular topics such as prayer, biblical interpretation, worship, and persecution, as well as prominent and controversial individuals such as Ignatius of Antioch, Justin Martyr, Melito of Sardis, and Tertullian. Part One addresses the world of the apostolic fathers, Part Two addresses hostility to Christianity and the response of Christians to this antagonism, and Part Three addresses doctrinal and communal issues of the third century. The book will pique readers' interest and provide them with a deeper appreciation for the religious identity of early Christians in the Roman Empire: what they believed and how they lived.Part One: Christianity in the Year 1001. Christians, Jews, and Romans in the First Century2. New Way of Life: Didache and the Epistle of Barnabas3. Clement of Rome and the Church of Corinth4. Ignatius of Antioch and True Christianity5. Worship and Church Order in the Year 100Part Two: Christianity in a Hostile World (100-250)6. Celsus, a Critic of Christianity7. Justin Martyr, a Defender of Christianity8. The Persecution of Christians9. The Martyrdom of Perpetua and Felicity10. Cyprian of Carthage and the Unity of the ChurchPart Three: Faith and Practice in the Third Century11. Reading the Bible with Early Christians12. Irenaeus of Lyons and True Christianity13. Tertullian of Carthage and True Christianity14. Prayer and the Spiritual Life of Early Christians15. Eusebius of Caesarea: After Two Hundred Years
The Early Christians in Their Own Words by Arnold, Eberhard, ed.In these firsthand accounts of the early church, the spirit of Pentecost burns with prophetic force through the fog enveloping the modern church. A clear and vibrant faith lives on in these writings, providing a guide for Christians today. Its stark simplicity and revolutionary fervor will stun those lulled by conventional Christianity. The Early Christians is a topically arranged collection of primary sources. It includes extra-biblical sayings of Jesus and excerpts from Origen, Tertullian, Polycarp, Clement of Alexandria, Justin, Irenaeus, Hermas, Ignatius, and others. Equally revealing material from pagan contemporaries - critics, detractors, and persecutors - is included as well.
The Fathers of the Church: An Introduction to the First Christian Teachers by Aquilina, MikeThe Fathers of the Church, first published a decade ago, has become the standard popular introduction to the great teachers of early Christianity. Now, this new edition presents more material from more of the Fathers ? including authors from little-known traditions of Egypt, East Syria, North Africa, and the lands that make up modern Iran and Iraq. Also new with this edition is a section on selected ?Mothers of the Church, ? holy women from Christian antiquity. This expanded edition features full references and citations, a topical index, detailed bibliography, and ancient texts available in English for the first time in more than a century. The Fathers of the Church is an excellent place to pass on those same teachings and traditions ? long established as an indispensable reference tool for clergy, seminarians, RCIA candidates, and lay Catholics who want to strive to live up to the ?Faith of Our Fathers.' ?Reading this book, one grows more Catholic by the page. It will surely be a classic.' ? Scott Hahn, Ph.D., Pope Benedict XVI Chair in Biblical Theology and Liturgical Proclamation, St. Vincent seminary, Latrobe, Pa. Praise for the first edition: ?Simply a great read... a clear, compelling, accessible primer that's a gem of readability for a popular audience. I highly recommend it.' ? Archbishop Charles Chaput ?An ideal introduction to the early history of the Church? ? Homiletic and Pastoral Review
The First Christian Theologians by Evans, G. R., ed.The First Christian Theologians offers a comprehensive introduction to the theology of the early Church through an accessible and lively examination of the major individual theologians of the time. Provides a comprehensive, single-volume introduction to the theology of the early Church. Features an accessible and lively examination of the major individual theologians from the first five centuries. Explores how Christian theology came into being - including detailed coverage of the Scriptural canon, preaching, heresies, and the role of ecumenical councils. Includes an international list of leading contributors. Edited by a leading academic in the field, with a reputation for producing first-rate, accessible books.
Call Number: BT25 .F57 2004
From Clement to Origen: The Social and Historical Context of the Church Fathers by Rankin, David IvanFrom Clement to Origen addresses the engagement of a number of pre-Nicene Church Fathers with the surrounding culture. David Rankin considers the historical and social context of the Fathers, grouped in cities and regions, their writings and theological reflections, and discusses how the particular engagement of each with major aspects of the surrounding culture influences, informs and shapes their thought and the articulation of that thought. The social and historical context of the Church Fathers is explored with respect to the Roman state, the imperial office and imperial cult, Greco-Roman class structures and the patron-client system, issues of wealth production and other commercial activity, the major philosophical thinkers in antiquity, and to rhetorical theory and practice and the higher learning of the day.
Getting to Know the Church Fathers: An Evangelical Introduction by Litfin, Bryan M.Augustine. Tertullian. Origen. For too many Christians such names are abstract, one-dimensional legends, innocuous voices from antiquity no longer relevant to modern needs and concerns. However, a closer look at these church fathers reveals writers whose reflections on the apostolic teachings edify all generations of believers. Bryan Liftin helps readers understand the fathers as individuals who cared deeply about preserving the core tenets of the Christian faith, and debunks misconceptions about their religious status and treatment of Scripture. An unveiling of these ten personalities demonstrates how much the fathers can teach us about the doctrines of our faith and the enduring community of which we are a part.
Call Number: BR67 .L58 2007
Greek Orthodox Patrology: An Introduction to the Study of the Church Fathers by Chrestou, Panagiotes K.,; trans. and ed. by George Dion DragasThe late Professor Panagiotes K. Chrestou of Aristotle University of Thessalonica, Greece, is justly regarded as the leading Greek Patrologist of the twentieth century. The present volume is a foretaste of Professor Chrestous Greek Patrology. Its great value will be realized by anyone who decides to delve into these pages. It provides a birds eye view of Greek Orthodox Patrology, and elucidates in a thorough and succinct way such basic topics as: who the Fathers are; the historical context of patristic literature; the nature and characteristics of Greek patristic literature; and the seven major periods of patristic literature from AD 90 through 1453, the capture of Constantinople.
Call Number: BR67 .C48 2005
History of Theology, vol. 1, The Patristic Period by Di Berardino, Angelo, and Basil Studer; eds.In this, the first of a four-volume series, Father Studer offers a detailed study of how theology was done" in the socio-cultural scene of the Christian community in the Constantinian and Theodosian eras (known as the age of "the Church of the Empire" or the "Imperial Church"). It defines the conditions in which pastors sought to help the faithful understand their religion and develops the thought through which the writers of the post-Nicene Church set out to actualize the Word of God as found in the sacred writings. Rather than narrowly focusing on major figures and their works, this historical investigation defines the context in which patristic theological inquiries were formed, since what is termed "theology" today only gradually took shape in the early centuries of Christian living. Terminology, literary genres, the Bible, philosophy, heresy, art and architecture, theological currents, and sociopolitical circumstances in addition to people and events are some of the categories this volume explores to integrate in a holistic manner the developing theological methods of the Church. Translated from Italian, this scholarly work is carefully organized and annotated. Text and chronological tales are included along with a list of abbreviations and a topical index. Chapters in Part One are: "The Beginnings of Christian Theology," "The Greco-Roman World: Challenge and Response," "Defense of Truth and Attack on Heresy," "The School of Alexandria and Its Fortunes," "A Theology Without Learning," "The East After Origen," "The Beginnings of Theological Reflection in the West," and "The Christian Apocrypha and Their Significance." Chapters in Part Two are: "The Situation of the Church," "Instituta Veterum," "Concluding Thoughts," "Eruditio Veterum," "Sapientia Veterum," "The Characteristics of Theological Work," "The Bible as Read in the Church," "Synodal Orthodoxy," "The Fathers of the Church," "The Beginnings of the Doctrinal Authority," "A Rational Knowledge of the Bible," "A Search for a Synthesis of Biblical Thought," "Summaries of Christian Doctrine," "The Role of Heresies," and "Reflection on Theological Systematization." Basil Studer, OSB, a monk of Engelberg Abbey in Switzerland, is professor of history of ancient Christianity and patrology at the Collegio di San Anselmo and the Instituto Patristico Augustinianum in Rome. He is also the author of Trinity and Incarnation, also published by The Liturgical Press. "
The Origins of the Christian Mystical Tradition: From Plato to Denys by Louth, AndrewScholars of the patristic era have paid more attention to the dogmatic tradition in their period than to the development of Christian mystical theology. Andrew Louth aims to redress the balance. Recognizing that the intellectual form of this tradition was decisively influenced by Platonicideas of the soul's relationship to God, Louth begins with an examination of Plato and Platonism. The discussion of the Fathers which follows shows how the mystical tradition is at the heart of their thought and how the dogmatic tradition both moulds and is the reflection of mystical insights andconcerns. This new edition of a classic study of the diverse influences upon Christian spirituality includes a new Epilogue which brings the text completely up to date.
Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2007
Patrology by Quasten, JohannesThis monumental series places at the disposal of the English reading public a solid introduction to early Christian literature. It is the first work of its kind written originally in English. The first volume appeared in 1950. Reviewers were unanimous in heaping praise upon the publication and looking upon it as a break-through in studying the Fathers of the Church. To arouse interest in the works of the Fathers, the author provides numerous excerpts in English. These are thought of as samples that, by giving readers a taste of the beauty and sublimity of the Patristic writings, may tempt them to take in hand the original and get their own impression of it, or, if that is too much for them, at least to read it in good translation. Only this, if achieved, will put readers close to Patristic literature, because only then do they sense the atmosphere of Christian antiquity and begin to penetrate its world. The author's experiences as a university professor prompted him to adopt this device. The selections are designed to also show the development of theology in the early centuries and to illustrate the approach of the Fathers to the deposit of faith.
Call Number: BR67 .Q3 1995 V.1-4 Ref
Patrology: the Eastern Fathers from the Council of Chalcedon (451) to John of Damascus (750) by Di Berardino, Angelo, ed.; trans. Adrian WalfordThis encyclopaedic work of reference covers an era in church history in which pagan ideas still existed and in which the symbiosis between Empire and Church was so close as to make them seem almost one, with the Emperor in the East often playing a domin ant role in religious matters, while in the West the authority of the emperors had faded, allowing the papacy to assume increasing secular authority. The domination of the East: reflected in the triumph of Greek over Latin as the language of administration; meant that Rome itself and the Western provinces were seen as rather provincial. The East faced different challenges, most conspicuously the range of theological ideas. Nestorian and Monophysite doctrines had not been suppressed by the Council of Chalcedon. New disputes arose, and in particular differences over the value of imagery. In the 7th century, Islam became a major threat to the Empire, while Islamic ideas also carried weight in religious matters. In this, the fifth volume in a series, Angelo Di Berardino provides a highly detailed documentation of the writings of the later fathers of the Eastern Church. Each chapter is written by a sole specia list, which lends a unity not seen in previous volumes while permitting an impressively broad scope. The literature of the period can conveniently be divided linguistically and regionally, and significant areas covered include: Constantinople and Asia Minor; The Greek Literature of Syria; Palestinian Writers; Alexandrian and Egyptian writers; Syriac Literature; Coptic Writers; Armenian Writers; Greek Exegetical Catenae; and, Canonical and Liturgical Literature. The study is divided into nine chapters with an introduction and a table, which clarifies abbreviations used. Each chapter further contains an introduction, which helps acquaint the reader more readily with what can be a complex area of study. There are also lengthy bibliographies and an extensive index. This groundbreaking work offers the reader the opportunity to discover the fascinating literature of the fathers of the early Christian era, discussed by a leading expert in the field. Translated into English by Adrian Walford, this is a fundamental work of reference, and makes a major contribution to patristic scholarship.
Reading the Church Fathers by Morwenna Ludlow & Scott Douglass, eds.Reading the corpus of texts written by the Fathers of the Church has always been a core area in Christian theology. However, scholars and academics are by no means united in the question how these important but difficult authors should be read and interpreted. Many of them are divided by implicit (but often unquestioned) assumptions about the best way to approach the texts or by underlying hermeneutical questions about the norms, limits and opportunities of reading Ancient Christian writers. This book will raise profound hermeneutical questions surrounding the reading of the Fathers with greater clarity than it has been done before. The contributors to this volume are theologians and historians who have used contemporary post-modern approaches to illumin ate the Ancien corpus of texts. The chapters discuss issues such as What makes a 'good' reading of a church Father? What constitutes a 'responsible' reading? Is the reading of the Fathers limited to a specia list audience? What can modern thinkers contribute to our reading of the Fathers?
Call Number: ProQuest eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Reading the Early Church Fathers: From the Didache to Nicaea by Papandrea, James LeonardReading the Early Church Fathers introduces the reader to the primary sources of Church history, with commentary that will help the reader make sense of the theological/Christological trajectory that led the Church from the New Testament era, through the apologists, to the development of the major doctrines of the Church. Papandrea's treatment of the early Church fathers is unique in that he situates his discussion against the social and cultural context of the Roman Empire and its relationship to the Church, especially with regard to the effect of the persecutions on the Church. Instead of providing actual excerpts of the works under discussion;' Reading the Early Church Fathers directs the reader to the primary sources available on the Internet, resources that will be updated regularly. The result, for all students of the early Church, is a unique and unprecedented "big picture" of early Christian literature. Book jacket.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by Di Berardino, Angelo, ed.2014 Midwest Publishing Association Award of Excellence (Scholarly/Reference)2014 Readers' Choice Awards Honorable Mention the Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity covers eight centuries of the Christian church and comprises 3,220 entries by a team of 266 scholars from 26 countries representing a variety of Christian traditions. It draws upon such fields as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, cultural studies, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology.This three-volume encyclopedia offers unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the people, places and ideas of ancient Christianity, including:cultural currentsevents and movementsphilosophyiconography and architecturearchaeologytexts and translationstheological termsdoctrinesliturgyspiritualitymonasticismChristian sectsheresiescontroversiescouncilsThe encyclopedia's A-to-Z coverage extends from "Aaron (iconography)" to "Zosimus, pope" and chronologically from Christianity's origins to Bede (d. 735) in the West and John of Damascus (d. ca. 749) in the Greek East, with detailed emphasis on the first four centuries of Christian history. Its geographical range reaches across:North AfricaMauretaniaNumidiaAfrica Proconsularis ByzacenaLibyaEgyptNubiaEthiopiaAsiaAdiabeneArmeniaBithynia & PontusGeorgiaCappadociaLycia and PamphyliaPhrygiaSyriaMesopotamiaArabiaPalestinePersiaChin aEuropeGaulSpain & PortugalItalyGermanyBritain and IrelandScotlandPannoniaDalmatiaMacedoniaMoesiaThraceCyprusCreteThis edition updates and expands on previous Italian and English-language editions with the addition of more than 500 new articles (added to the current Italian or English edition), including the following 30 articles exclusive to IVP's edition:apostolic seeCapuaCarmen de synodo TicinensiChin acosmopolitanismdeathdiakonia/diaconateDialogi de sancta Trinitate IV-Vdoorkeeper (porter)dynamis/energeiaeternityforgivenessfreedom/free willgoodHierotheusincubatioinfinity/infinitudelibelli miraculorumloveMara bar Serapion (letter of)oikeiosisold agepresanctifiedSerapeion (Serapeum)subdeacon theosebiaTriumphus Christi heroicusTychonunityVirgo ParensExtensive cross-referencing provides ease in exploring related articles, and helpful bibliographies, including primary sources (texts, critical editions, translations) and key secondary sources (books and journal articles), give access to the very latest in-depth scholarship in countless disciplines of study. IVP's new Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity (2014) is translated from Nuovo dizionario patristico e di antichita cristiane (2006-2008), produced by the Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum, the world's foremost center for partristic studies, under the direction of Professor Angelo Di Berardino, and it greatly updates and expands the 1992 Encyclopedia of the Early Church (Oxford University Press/James Clarke).
The Westminster Handbook to Patristic Theology by McGuckin, John AnthonyThis is a unique reference resource for study of the theological ideas developed in the early church period. Patristic theology is the theology of Christian writers up to the ninth century which became formative for succeeding centuries of Christianity. This handbook provides easy access to these leading theological understandings. The Westminster Handbook to Christian Theology series provides a set of resources for the study of historic and contemporary theological movements and Christian theologians. These books are intended to help students and scholars find concise and accurate treatments of important theological terms.
Call Number: BR162.3 .M38 2004 Ref
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Patristics by Parry, Ken, ed.This comprehensive volume brings together a team of distinguished scholars to create a wide-ranging introduction to patristic authors and their contributions to not only theology and spirituality, but to philosophy, ecclesiology, linguistics, hagiography, liturgics, homiletics, iconology, and other fields. Challenges accepted definitions of patristics and the patristic period - in particular questioning the Western framework in which the field has traditionally been constructed Includes the work of authors who wrote in languages other than Latin and Greek, including those within the Coptic, Armenian, Syriac, and Arabic Christian traditions Examines the reception history of prominent as well as lesser-known figures, debating the role of each, and exploring why many have undergone periods of revived interest Offers synthetic accounts of a number of topics central to patristic studies, including scripture, scholasticism, and the Reformation Demonstrates the continuing role of these writings in enriching and inspiring our understanding of Christianity
Call Number: Ebook Central
Publication Date: 2015
Early Christianity and Patristic Theology: Bibliographies by Wm. Harmless, S.J.