When trying to locate secondary data, use relevant terms and search a variety of types of resources. Government and associations or organizations may publish relevant authoritative secondary data, primary source documents and information in journals and on the Web. For regional data use geographic location(s) in a search, such as Tulsa, Inola, or a zip code. Types of secondary data may include:

• Demographics-population, gender, ethnic group, migration trends, urban/rural, community, age, education level, economic level, geographic data/location
  (socioeconomic, environmental)
• Health - mortality, immunization rate, health services and access, facility-to-population ratio
• Sociocultural factors or characteristics - customs, education, family, language, neighborhood, politics, social interactions (peer relationships), technology and values
• Religious/Spiritual - affiliations, beliefs, traditions

In addition to the sites and sample results listed below, search your area or people group and the data or statistics you need on the Web. Limit the results to government documents for relevant, reliable results. Examples:

your concept(s) and location and site:.gov
health and Tulsa and demographic

For more detailed resources and information See opens new windowNUR-409 Community Health, Course Research Guide.

• opens new windowCenters for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
  Examples: opens new windowMuskogee (Creek) Nation, opens new windowCherokee Nation, opens new windowCDC: Oklahoma, opens new windowOklahoma - 2015 State Health Profile PDF, opens new windowCDC: Tulsa
• opens new windowCity-Data.com
  City-Data.com: Tulsa Oklahoma
  Comprehensive facts and statistical data gathered from government and private sources. Profiles cities, schools and neighborhoods; includes populations, maps, health care and more by zip code areas. Search by city or zip code.Browse options under Cities, Schools, Neighborhoods or More in the top menu bar. Options on the main page include: Quick navigation map, Browse cities by state, Interactive data map, and Tools
  ♦ opens new windowCompare two cities (crime, education, population and move)
  ♦ opens new windowAdvance U.S. City Search  - Select a region and city size; choose up to ten criteria, including demographics, crime& safety, work and jobs, houses and residents, races, education, financial, weather, air pollution, religions and other; edit your selection criteria and change values.
• opens new windowFlu.gov (CDC) Oklahoma
• opens new window Invisible Tribes: Urban Indians and Their Health in a Changing World- (Urban Indian Health Commission) PDF 48 pp.
• opens new windowOklahoma State Department of Health (ODH)
  • opens new windowOSDH:2017 County Health Profiles - #Healthier OK - "The Data Tables includes the estimates for every county in a single document, and the Maps display demographic, socioeconomic, behavior, and outcome indicators across the state."
  • opens new windowOSDH: Data and Stats - Provides data for Community & Family Health, including "Child and Adolescent Health" and "Minority Health," Disease and Prevention, Protective Health, and more.
  • opens new windowOSDH: "Cherokee Nation" 
  • opens new windowOSDH: "Creek Nation"
  • opens new windowOSDH: State of the County's Health Report PDF - Includes images, charts and graphs. Covers Demographics; Nutrition and Obesity; Injury and Violence; Tobacco Use; Physical Activity, Wellness and Diabetes; Teen Pregnancy; Poverty; Health Care Costs Summary and more.
• opens new windowQuickFacts (U.S. Census Bureau)
  QuickFacts includes current statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with more than 5,000 people. Search population size, age, sex race, housing, education, health, economy, transportation, income and poverty, and more. Offers tables, maps, and charts.compare data for multiple areas, as shown below. Click the magnifying glass (shown circled in image below) for population QuickLinks.
  • opens new windowQuickSearch: Tulsa County, OK
  • opens new windowQuickSearch: Muskogee City, Tulsa County, U.S.
    
    
• opens new windowTHD (Tulsa Health Department)
  • opens new windowTHD: Community Health - "far-reaching community health programs [that] focus on prevention and education to promote healthy lifestyle choices."
  • opens new windowTHD: Data & Stats
  • opens new windowTHD: Tulsa County Health Profile 2015 PDF
  • opens new windowTHD: Tulsa County Community Health Needs Assessment (CHNA) 2016 PDF

Search Example: your concept(s) AND demographic AND site:.gov

• opens new windowAmerican FactFinder (U.S. Census Bureau)
  Population, housing, industry, economic, and geographic data.

• opens new windowCenters for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
  opens new windowFact Sheets, Example:opens new windowTraumatic Brain Injury & Concussion
  - opens new windowHealth, United States, 2015: With Special Feature on Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities (CDC), PDF, 461pp.
  - opens new windowHealth, United States, 2016 (National Center for Health Statistics, CDC)
  -opens new windowHealth, United States, 2016: With Chartbook on Long-term Trends in Health (CDC) PDF, 488 pp.

• opens new windowU.S. Census Bureau (U.S. Dept. of Commerce)
  -opens new windowAmerican Community Survey (U.S. Dept. of Commerce) -Detailed demographic data updated annually by the Census Bureau. View the opens new windowlist of compass handbooks for data users.
  -opens new windowCensus Explorer (U.S. Census Bureau)
  -opens new windowHealth (U.S. Census Bureau)
  -opens new windowQuickFacts, United States (U.S. Census Bureau) - Quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography" at the national, state, county, and city level

• opens new windowStatistical Abstract of the U.S. (U.S. Census Bureau)
  - opens new windowHealth & Nutrition: 2022  - Statistics on health expenditures and insurance coverage, medical personnel, hospitals, nursing homes and other care facilities, injuries, diseases, disability status, nutritional intake of the population, and food consumption.
  TIP: Use "Breakdown by" Filter in the side menu: breakdown results by race, age, sex, disease, state, education, occupation, income and more; limit results by geographic area and subjects

• opens new windowUSA.gov (USA.gov)
  - opens new windowData and Statistics (USA.gov)

• opens new windowWorld Health Organization (WHO)
  - opens new windowGlobal Health Risks: Mortality and Burden of Disease Attributable to Selected Major Risks, 2009 (WHO) PDF, 70 pp.