Most nursing books are found in the WY call number section. Helpful resources, such as nursing drug books, nursing dictionaries, patient education guides, etc., may also be found in the W, WY, and QV call numbers sections.

Books are shelved in Library of Congress (LC) and National Library of Medicine (NLM) call number order, so similar subjects will be shelved next to each other.To find specific reference titles in the library, use the Library catalog and limit your results to "Reference Collection."

QV — pharmacology
WY— most nursing books
W's — other medical materials
WS — pediatrics

View opens new windowLC Classification Outline: Class R-Medicine,
View opens new windowNLM Classification Outline- Preclinical Sciences (Q-) and Medical and Related Sciences (W-).

Use the Table of Contents and Index(es) to find your topic or subject in the book and to see how it relates to other topics.

Reference books cannot be checked out; however, some titles may have a duplicate in the main collection that is available for checkout. Search the title you need in the library catalog to see if the book is located elsewhere in the library and available for checkout.

The books below are located in the Reference Collection. Linked titles indicate the book is also an ebook.

• opens new windowCode of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements — Call #WY85 C669 LRC-R
• The Encyclopedia of Aging: A Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics — 2 vols., Call #WT13 E56 2001LRC-R,
  opens new windowEncyclopedia of Aging (Credo Reference Collection)
• Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine — Call #WB100 H322P LRC-R
• The Harvard Guide to Women's Health — Call #WA309 C284H LRC-R
  ​opens new windowThe New Harvard Guide to Women's Health (Credo Reference Collection)
• Hospital Blue Book — Call #WX22 AA1H8285
• opens new windowThe Human Body: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function, and Disorders — Call #QT104 H918 LRC-R
• The Little Black Book of Emergency Medicine — Call #WB 39D542L LRC-R
• Medical Terms and Abbreviations — Call #W15 M489 LRC-R
• The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy (18th Edition) — Call #WB100. M54 LRC-R
• Nurse's 3-minute Clinical Reference — Call #WY49 N9748 LRC-R
• Nurse's Drug Handbook — Call #QV39 H688N LRC-R
• Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual — Call #WY49 R163 LRC-R
• Nursing Documentation Handbook — opens new windowCall #WY49 M358N LRC-R
• Nursing Interventions Classification (NIC): Iowa Intervention Project — opens new windowCall #WY15 N974 LRC-R
• Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC): Measurement of Health Outcomes - opens new windowCall #WY 100.1 O94 2013
• Official Guide to Graduate Nursing Programs — opens new windowCall #W22 AA1 O3252004LRC-R
• Professional Guide to Diseases — opens new windowCall #WB39 P964 LRC-R
• Sheehy's Manual of Emergency Care — opens new windowCall #WX39 S541M

Explore and browse:

• opens new window topic Search: Nursing
Go to Advanced search. Choose the topic Finder tab, enter a term, and then click Search . View a tiles or wheel display (shown below).

Sample Titles:

Explore and browse:

• opens new windowNursing Titles
• opens new windowTopic Pages with Mind Map: Medicine

Sample Titles: