Selected Book and ebook Titles
Bioethics
by Is denying a patient medical care ever justified? Should patents on living organisms be permitted? When does "consciousness" begin in human being? Are there circumstances under which people should be sterilized? Questions such as these and others are the basis of assignments, debate topics, and life and death decisions people face everyday. They are aspects of a broad and dynamic field called Bioethics. Bioethics is the where ethics--right and wrong--intersect with biology, medicine, biotechnology, politics, law, religion and philosophy. It encompasses issues of profound importance to students, faculty and laypersons. Yet balanced, objective information--free from business, political or religious agendas--is hard to come by. The encyclopedia used a basic conceptual framework involving 3 clear steps to explore, understand, and address key issues and questions; these are * Identifying applicable moral principles, ideals, or standards; * Assessing current practice or behavior in light of principles; * And suggesting policies or procedures to bring practice into line with principles. With its initial publication in 1978, Bioethics became the first reference to focus solely on a then burgeoning field, in effect helping to define the discipline. Both the first and second (1995) editions won the Dartmouth Medal, and the set remains the standard reference on bioethics for teachers, students, and those in related fields of health care, philosophy, environmentalism, law, and religious studies. The fourth edition offers hundreds of revisions or addenda to entries from previous editions as well as over 100 new or rewritten entries on topics such as key cases in bioethics, the human biome, genetically modified foods, emergency preparedness and response, social justice, sustainability, chemical warfare and torture, among many others. Revised articles will explain the events as well as legislation changes of the past decade. The work is also being expanded to include views of nations and cultures other than the United States on such issues as abortion, medical triage, social responsibility, access to health care, stem cell research, etc. *In nearly 500 entries averaging 4000 words, key concepts and issues in bioethics are explained. *Many subjects--such as abortion, animal rights, genetic testing--are discussed in terms of various perspectives: religious, ethical, policy/law, etc. *Entries will have bibliographies and cross references to other articles; also included will be tables/charts/graphs, a topical outline, an annotated bibliography, an annotated list of legal cases, an annotated filmography, and an index.Publication Date: 2014-05-12
See: "Nursing Ethics"Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements by
Call Number: WY 85 C669ISBN: 9781558105997Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Encyclopedia of Bioethics, 5 vols.
by This new edition is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set last revised in 1995. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations. All bibliographies have been updated and new entries added--from cloning, to issues of privacy or censorship on the Web, cell-stem research, same-sex marriage, privatization of water access, animal rights and much more.Call Number: Also available in print - QH332 .E52 2004 LRC-RPublication Date: 2004
Sample Entry: Nursing Ethics
Guide to the Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements
byPublication Date: 2015-03-01
Database Search Strategies
Search your key concepts with "ethics" related terms in the nursing databases.
Examples:
opens new window"pediatric nursing" AND SU (ethic* OR values OR moral*)- ~40 results; limits 2014-2017; full-test; multiple EBSCO databases
ethics AND culture - ~2,267 results in Ovid; limited to "nursing" and "Ovid Full Text Available." (shown below) To view the search results: Go to opens new windowOvid Core Nursing Collection. Under "All Resources" mark "Your journals at Ovid" then click "OK." Key in ethics and culture. Set limits and/or subsets. On your search results page, under "Filter by date," choose "current year."
International Council of Nurses
Websites
opens new windowNational Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Provides access to biomedical and genomic information.
Journals
- Journal Finder + This link opens in a new window
Sample Journal Titles:
opens new windowAmerican Journal of Bioethics (in MEDLINE) - Full text: 2001-present with a 18 month delay due to publisher restrictions.
Covers all areas of bioethics.
opens new windowThe Journal of Nursing Administration (JONA) - Full text available in Ovid.
"Provides knowledge, strategies, and ideas for nurse administration. Contents are aimed at upper level nursing executive."
- Globethics.net This link opens in a new windowA worldwide ethics network based in Geneva to ensure that people in all regions of the world are empowered to reflect and act on ethical issues. Free registration required to get access to all the full text journals, encyclopedias, ebooks and other resources in the library.
Using MESH 2023
In opens new windowCINAHL or opens new windowMEDLINE, use the MeSH (Medical Subject Terms) 2019 to identify subjects to include in your search.
1) Click Subjects, Thesaurus or MeSH 2018in the blue menu bar.
2) Key in your term in the browse text box.
3) Mark the checkboxes of relevant subjects. Click Add.
Marked subjects are added to the search boxes, where you can add additional terms to focus your search.