Featured Articles
Theory of Nursing for the Whole Person
Swanson, C., Thompson, A., Valentz, R., Doerner, L., & Jezek, K. (2019). Theory of nursing for the whole person: A distinctly scriptural framework. Journal of Christian Nursing, 36(4), 222-227. DOI: 10.1097/CNJ.0000000000000656
Featured Video Resources
AVON has more than 72,000 videos all immediately available for your viewing.
- AVON: Academic Videos Online This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference Video Collections
opens new windowCambridge Educational Video Collection – a curated set of educational videos covering topics of importance today; includes Nurse Practitioner videos
opens new windowInside Science Video Collection – a curated set of educational videos covering topics of importance in Science.
Featured Books/Ebooks
American Indian Health and Nursing
by " A]n extraordinary textbook that addresses the historical and national impact of healthcare and nursing on the American Indian... Although written for nurses, the usefulness of this healthcare textbook extends far beyond this professional practice. Anyone who wants to understand how healthcare is delivered to the American Indian population will be become well informed while immersed in this text. In this day of indigenizing the academy, including nursing, this textbook would be an excellent resource in Native Studies, Sociology, Psychology, Medicine, or Education." --Karen Doty-Sweetnam, Department of Psychiatric Nursing, Faculty of Health Studies, Brandon University, The Canadian Journal of Native Studies The first book to examine the profound disparities in American Indian health, and how they can be remedied, through a nursing lens The average life expectancy of a male born on the Pine Ridge reservation in South Dakota today is somewhere in the mid-40s'the lowest life expectancy of all peoples not only in the United States but the entire Western Hemisphere. Written by and for nurses, this is the first text to focus exclusively on American Indian health and nursing. In fact, it is likely the only nursing book to even mention American Indian health as a distinct entity. The text addresses the profound disparities in policy, health care law, and health outcomes that affect American Indians, and describes how these disparities, woven into the cultural, environmental, historical, and geopolitical fabric of American Indian society, are responsible for the marked lack of well-being among American Indians. American Indian nurse authors, natives of nine unique American Indian cultures, address the four domains of health' physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional' within each region to underscore the many stunning inequalities of opportunity for health and well-being within the American Indian culture compared with Anglo culture. In an era of cultural competency, these expert nurse authors bring awareness of what is perhaps the least understood minority population in the United States. The text covers the history of American Indians with a focus on the drastic changes that occurred following European contact. Included are excerpts from relevant journal articles, historical reports, interviews with tribal health officials, and case studies. The book addresses the roots of American Indian nursing, including coverage of indigenous knowledge and traditional approaches to health and healing. It examines current issues surrounding American Indian nursing, nursing education, and health care within 10 distinct American Indian cultural populations, including a crucial discussion of the health care needs of American Indians living in urban areas. KEY FEATURES: Focuses exclusively on American Indian health and nursing' the first book to do so Written by American Indian nurses Covers four domains of health: physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional Highlights nine specific cultural areas spanning Indian Country, each with its own unique history and context, with urban spaces as a final areaPublication Date: 2015-10-01
APA Style Simplified: Writing in Psychology, education Nursing, and Sociology
by This is a compact but comprehensive guide to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. Demonstrates how to write objective scientific research papers using interesting prose Incorporates guidelines from the 6th edition of the APA publication manual Explores how to develop ideas, connect them to what others have written, and express them clearly Discusses the differences between written, oral, and poster presentations and offers instructions for applying APA style to eachISBN: 9780470671238Publication Date: 2012-05-15
Limited to 3 users.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
by ""Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons"-Provided by publisher"--ISBN: 9780028666587Publication Date: 2020-04-03
Nurse's Legal Handbook
by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Here is the current authoritative tool you need as you weigh potential ethical issues and make important decisions for you and your patients. Nurse's Legal Handbook works as your personal legal nurse consultant, with practical direction on how to navigate legal ethics, pitfalls, and preventative steps. This indispensable handbook demonstrates the issues with recent nursing malpractice cases, to help you be protected and informed regarding your legal rights, risks, and responsibilities as a nurse. Get informed on current laws, practice standards, and areas of legal liability ... · NEW Current laws and trends in litigation that affect nursing · NEW Current legal/ethical controversies, including: the definition of death; the nurse's response to a patient request to stop treatment · NEW Legal guidance on: o How to protect yourself from being sued for nursing negligence o The importance of professional liability insurance o The litigation process, and the four elements needed to prove nursing negligence or malpractice o Signs you are at risk for civil or criminal prosecution o What to do if you are named as a defendant o Testifying as a nurse expert o Nursing documentation as the best courtroom evidence o How testifying experts use medical records in malpractice litigation o The effects of Good Samaritan Laws on nursing o Making ethical decisions; ethical relationships with patients and coworkers o Your employee rights; the meanings of employee contracts; and whistleblowing · NEW How the states' Nurse Practice Acts and the current American Nurse Association (ANA) Scope and Standards of Nursing Practice regulate quality of care · NEW How nursing standards and hospital policies affect court decisions · NEW Ethical issues raised by landmark cases: End of life, quality of life; laws such as the Patient Self-Determin ation Act; violence against nurses and the ANA's response · Crucial information for advanced practice nurses and nurse practitioners, legal nurse consultants, risk managers, critical care nurses, medical/surgical nurses, nurse attorneys, emergency nurses, long-term care nurses, and nurse educatorsPublication Date: 2015-10-07
Plagues, Pandemics and Viruses: From the Plague of Athens to COVID-19 by
From the plague of Athens to the Covid-19 pandemic, Plagues, Pandemics and Viruses covers the history, causes, medical treatments, human responses, and aftermath of the world's biggest pandemics as well as several modern diseases of note and those that are making a comeback. It chronicles the plagues, pandemics, and other diseases that have inflicted man through the millennia, including the bubonic plague/black plague, which killed 30%-60% of Europe's population; the 1918 Spanish Flu; AIDS, and now Covid-19.
ISBN: 9781578597048Publication Date: 2020-11-01
Worldmark Global Health and Medicine Issues
by This 2-volume set "provides accessible explanations of many recent scientific advances in public health, as well as advances in medicine, molecular biology, genetics, epidemiology, and related fields. It covers current health and medicine issues with global impact in the modern world and organizations and groups addressing these issues." (GVRL)Publication Date: 2015-10-27
Featured Project
opens new windowFlorence Nightingale Digitization Project
A comprehensive digital collection of digitized correspondence written by Florence Nightingale.
