Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Orientation - New Faculty Cohort

This guide is designed to orient new faculty members to Library resources and services

Zotero

Logo 

 

opens new windowZotero is a free reference management system that can help you collect, manage, cite, and share your research. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

Getting Started with Zotero

Create an account

Before getting started, you will need to opens new windowcreate an account. Registering for an account allows you to sync your Zotero library to the cloud, create group libraries to collaborate with other Zotero users, and to monitor your storage usage.

Register link for Zotero

 

Install Zotero for Windows or Mac

 

Visit opens new windowzotero.org/download. Choose Download to install.

Download link for Zotero for Windows OR Link to Install Zotero for Mac

 

Add Connectors

Choose Install to add connectors for each browser you might use to do research.

Link to install Zotero Connector

Ways to Create, Save, and Manage Citations and Downloaded Full-Text

The next time you use an EBSCOhost database, create your own personal account by clicking "Sign in," and then "Create your own account." Be sure to keep track of the user name and password you select. After that, all you have to do to access anything you've saved to your personal folder is to sign in from any EBSCOhost database or from EagleSearch. To save citations to your EBSCOhost folder, click the title of the item and then the folder icon in that record.

Go to Ebook Central and the "sign-in" link in the upper right menu, and sign in using your ORU Network user name and password to set up and access your personal Ebook Central bookshelf.

In the upper, right-hand corner of the opens new windowProQuest dissertation database, click the icon of a person and "Sign into My Research." First-time users may create an account here. Thereafter, sign in as an existing user.

To add a citation of an item in a database to the bibliography of your research project, click the "cite" link or icon provided, select the desired citation style, and copy and paste the citation into the document. Please note: all machine-generated citations need to be carefully proofread and corrected to conform to style manual guidelines.

EBSCOhost Cite IconHow Do I Cite This? Link in Library Catalog

To organize downloaded PDFs of journal articles, assign them a file name that includes the author's last name and the first few words of the article title, then save to one of a set of folders in the cloud and/or on your laptop that is arranged by the chapter or section of the research project to which it relates.