Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Orientation - New Faculty Cohort

This guide is designed to orient new faculty members to Library resources and services

opens new windowEagleSearch is EBSCO's discovery tool that allows a more-or-less comprehensive search of the library's resources, giving a quick glimpse of the volume and type of material relative to a particular subject area. This next-generation integrated search engine combs through some one-half billion documents/records instantaneously, including the contents of the vast majority of databases to which the Library subscribes.

  • To focus a search in EagleSearch, go to opens new windowAdvanced Search page and select one or more disciplines.
  • To globalize a search beyond the ORU Library, scroll down the advanced search page and uncheck the "Available in Library Collection" box.
  • To refine results, limit them to one or more source types or facets, such as subjects, publications, and databases in the left menu.
  • To extend the search to databases not searchable in EagleSearch, click one of the widgets in the right menu.

Video Tutorials - EagleSearch

How to Use EagleSearch
opens new windowopens new windowthumbnail
ORU Library 2020 6:05
How to Use EagleSearch to Find Periodical Articles
opens new windowopens new windowthumbnail
ORU Library2020 5:32

EagleSearch ~ Improving Your Results Tutorial

EagleSearch - Overview Tutorial

Reasons to Use EagleSearch

  1. You want to use a library search box that functions like Google, only better.
  2. You realize for current faculty, students, and staff the Library provides free access to copyrighted resources for which the Web cannot legally provide the full text except by password or pay-per-view.
  3. You are not sure which database to use for a particular research topic.
  4. To complete your footnotes or bibliography, you need to find the full citations of items for which you have only partial information, e.g., an author's full name or an article's page numbers or perhaps the volume or issue number of a journal.
  5. You need to get a quick overview of what is available in the Library in a particular discipline.
  6. You need to quickly find information for a class lecture you will be teaching in an hour.
  7. You are working on a major research project and realize you will eventually need to search the individual databases in your discipline but first you want to jump start your research project by using EagleSearch.