Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Orientation - New Faculty Cohort

This guide is designed to orient new faculty members to Library resources and services

Reference Collection

The Reference Collection (LRC-R)

Just inside the Library Information Commons (LINC) is a collection of the most frequently consulted books. To make these books available at all times, they may not be checked out, except by special arrangement. Scanner/copiers are available to scan or copy pages needed from Reference books.

Many Reference books are available as ebooks. opens new windowGale eBooks (GVRL) and opens new windowCredo Referenceare two of the ORU Library's largest collections of e-reference works.

Librarians are available at the One-Stop Library Services Desk to help users find Reference works and find resources in the library and online.

reference collection

 

Main Circulating Collection

Books:

Books are shelved on the 4th and 5th floors of the LRC (Learning Resources Center). They are classified, for the most part, according to the opens new window Library of Congress Classification System (LCCS).

Faculty check out is 90 days, with option to request a longer period or renew as needed.

No late fees are charged for circulating books.

  • The leisure reading (LRC-L) located on LRC-5 next to the west elevator is a collection of popular Christian novels.
  • The new books area is located on LRC-4 next to the west elevator. New books may also be browsed online here.

DVDs:

DVDs are shelved on LRC-4 near the One-Stop Library Services Desk. They are available for 3-day check-out. You may browse an alphabetical list of the over 375 DVDs online or search the opens new window Library catalog by title, subject or keyword.

Audiobooks:

Audiobooks (LRC-AV) are shelved on LRC-4 near the One-Stop Library Services Desk. They are available for two-week check-out. You may browse this alphabetical list of over 300 audiobooks. (See also a small EBSCOhost collection of downloadable audiobooks available online.)

Periodicals

The majority of the library's current periodical subscriptions are now online, but A small collection of current print magazines, journals and newspapers are located in a comfortable reading area beside the One-Stop Library Services Desk.

Back issues of periodicals in print and and microfilm format are located, for the most part, in LINC (LRC-4) just inside the doors to the Graduate Center.

Bound back issues of periodicals are shelved by call number in the Periodicals area.

Pre-1979 bound periodicals for subjects other than theology are shelved on LRC-5 after Z's in the Main collection.

Microform, whether fiche or film, are stored by call number in yellow cabinets along the north wall in the Periodicals room. A scanner is available to digitize microforms.

Library Collection Development

The Library relies on the faculty to assist us in selecting relevant books, journals, videos and other resources to build a library that supports our curriculum.

Please send information on any materials you recommend for the library. The library liaison for your department will gladly receive your input.

For more information and to find your library liaison, visit the opens new window Library Collection Development Guide.