ORU Library Catalog
opens new window Library Catalog
All materials in the library, including books, audio-visual materials, DVDs, and reserve items, can be found using the ORU library catalog. Additionally, all ebook titles, with links to the full text, are included in the library catalog.
View opens new windowmusic subjects.
View opens new windowmusician subjects.
View opens new windowmusic therapy subjects.
Sample books in the library:
Music Techniques in Therapy, Counseling, and Special EducationCall Number: ML3920 .S746Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Searching for Book and Ebooks
Ebook titles are included in the library catalog with links to the ebook, but you may prefer to search an ebook database instead of using the library catalog.
See: opens new windowHow to Find Books and Ebooks
Ebook Central (ProQuest database)
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Sample titles by subject:
opens new windowMusic -- Social Aspects
opens new windowPopular culture
opens new windowPopular Culture - History and criticism
Adolescents, Music and Music Therapy
by When guided effectively, the relationship between adolescents and music can offer powerful opportunities for expression and release. This book provides music therapists with the complete 'how to' of working with teenage clients. Helpful and accessible, the book explains the methodology used in music therapy, a topic that has been considered only briefly until now. The author presents an empowering approach to practice, discussing how the therapist can be placed in a collaborative relationship with the individual or with the group. A range of strategies is explored, including song sharing, improvisation, song writing and various multi-media approaches. Some of the key challenges faced by music therapists working with adolescent clients are addressed, including the constantly changing repertoire and evolving musical tastes, and the author offers practical solutions for overcoming these. Contemporary models of Community Music Therapy are outlined in the second half of the book, and case vignettes illustrate how each of the methods can be applied in practice, and the outcomes that may be expected. The first of its kind, this comprehensive book is a must for all music therapists working with adolescent clients.Publication Date: 2010-04-15
Blues Music in the Sixties
by Can a type of music be "owned"? Examining how music is linked to racial constructs and how African American musicians and audiences reacted to white appropriation, Blues Music in the Sixties shows the stakes when whites claim the right to play and live the blues. In the 1960s, within the larger context of the civil rights movement and the burgeoning counterculture, the blues changed from black to white in its production and reception, as audiences became increasingly white. Yet, while this was happening, blackness--especially black masculinity--remained a marker of authenticity. Crossing color lines and mixing the beats of B.B. King, Eric Clapton, and Janis Joplin; the Newport Folk Festival and the American Folk Blues Festival; and publications such as Living Blues, Ulrich Adelt discusses these developments, including the international aspects of the blues. He highlights the performers and venues that represented changing racial politics and addresses the impact and involvement of audiences and cultural brokers.Publication Date: 2010-04-02
Church Music and Protestantism in Post-Reformation England
by 'Church Music and Protestantism in Post-Reformation England' breaks new ground in the religious history of Elizabethan England, through a closely focused study of the relationship between the practice of religious music and the complex process of Protestant identity formation. Hearing was of vital importance in the early modern period, and music was one of the most prominent, powerful and emotive elements of religious worship. But in large part, traditional historical narratives of the English Reformation have been distinctly tone deaf. Recent scholarship has begun to take increasing notice of some elements of Reformed musical practice, such as the congregational singing of psalms in meter. This book marks a significant advance in that area, combining an understanding of theory as expressed in contemporary religious and musical discourse, with a detailed study of the practice of church music in key sites of religious worship. Divided into three sections - 'Discourses', 'Sites', and 'Identities' - the book begins with an exploration of the classical and religious discourses which underpinned sixteenth-century understandings of music, and its use in religious worship. It then moves on to an investigation of the actual practice of church music in parish and cathedral churches, before shifting its attention to the people of Elizabethan England, and the ways in which music both served and shaped the difficult process of Protestantisation. Through an exploration of these issues, and by reintegrating music back into the Elizabethan church, we gain an expanded and enriched understanding of the complex evolution of religious identities, and of what it actually meant to be Protestant in post-Reformation England.Publication Date: 2010-05-28
J. S. Bach by
Peter Williams approaches afresh the life and music of arguably the most studied of all composers, interpreting both Bach's life by deconstructing his original obituary in the light of more recent information and his music by evaluating his priorities and irrepressible creative energy. How, even though belonging to musical families on both his parents' sides, did he come to possess so bewitching a sense of rhythm and melody and a mastery of harmony that established nothing less than a norm in Western culture? In considering that the works of a composer are his biography, the book's title A Life in Music means both a life spent making music and one revealed in the music as we know it. A distinguished scholar and performer, Williams re-examines Bach's life as an orphan and family man, as an extraordinarily gifted composer and player and as an ambitious artist who never suffered fools gladly.
ISBN: 9780521870740Publication Date: 2007-02-15
Music Therapy Improvisation for Groups
by While more and more music therapists appear to be using improvisational methods, few published resources exist to guide training and development, especially at the undergraduate or entry level. This unprecedented book provides clinicians, educators, and trainers with knowledge-based and skill-based competencies in group improvisation leadership and a suggested sequence for instruction in these competencies. The competencies pinpointed fall into three categories: preparatory skills (before the improvisation), facilitative skills (during the improvisation), and verbal processing skills (after the improvisation). The book contains clinical vignettes and 80 exercises designed to reinforce competency in the aforementioned areas.Publication Date: 2007-06-01
Ebook Collection (EBSCO database)
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Sample titles by subject:
opens new windowMusic, Musicology...
The God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob
by The God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob brings readers on a surprising journey from the dawn of divine-human communion to the present, showing how this mysterious, ongoing relationship holds the keys to true worship. Laying a new foundation for understanding worship, the book makes a compelling case for distinguishing the church's practices from those of the world. Recognizing the holiness of worship, the author observes that music itself, apart from language, conveys its own theological meaning; that, similar to Scripture, there is an evolving canon of sacred music; and that, to mitigate idolatry, the spirit of worship must be tested to ensure that it addresses the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob. When this timeless liturgical journey with God is honored with vital commitment, worship will be compelling and transfiguring to all people, at all levels of religious experience.Publication Date: 2013-07-31
The Science of Music
by In this engaging title, young readers learn about the form of energy that is sound! Sound waves and their wavelengths are discussed, as are the vibrations of molecules, acoustics, and how the ear interprets sound. These properties are illustrated by the making and hearing of music. Colorful infographics make decibels, amplitude, frequency, and ear anatomy easily accessible, and prominent contributors such as Ludwig van Beethoven are featured. A fun experiment with vibrations brings the science of sound to life! Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Checkerboard Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.ISBN: 9781624039621Publication Date: 2015-12-15
The Ten Most Influential Churches of the Past Century
by Your Church Can Influence the World History has shown that great leaders have the ability to reach beyond the walls of their churches to influence cultures for Christ. We've seen it in the Pentecostal/Charismatic movement, in the explosive growth of house churches in Communist Chin a, in the expansion of the Southern Baptist Convention, and in the worldwide rise of praise and worship music led by Hillsong Church, among other phenomena. In The Ten Most Influential Churches of the Past Century, Dr. Elmer Towns presents evidence of the powerful influence of these churches and how their innovative strategies and faith accomplish these goals. Then he tells how you can apply these principles to your church. You will learn how some of the most influential leaders in Church history became conduits for your future ministry and how your church can experience exponential growth. Most importantly, you will see that the great results in these ten churches grow out of the power of the Word of God, the ministry of many dedicated lay workers, the faith-producing ministry of great leaders--all under the anointing of the Holy Spirit.Publication Date: 2015-01-20
