Identify your key concepts and terms then try a variety of searches in the opens new window ORU library catalog, opens new windowWorldCat, opens new windowGoogle Books and other book databases. When you find a book, use the Table of Contents and book index to find your topic or subject and to see how it relates to other topics. (This may offer ideas for new search terms.)

• Try a simple keyword search.
• Search available subject fields, such as Subject keyword, subject begins with, etc.
• For information about a book:
  - Use the book's title for a subject Search
  - Search the title in its original language and English translation
  - Use any variant spellings
• For information about an author:
  - Use the author's name for a subject Search
  - Search any variant spellings
  - Limit to a foreign language, if possible

opens new window Library Catalog

Use the library catalog to find books and other items in the library. Ebook titles, with links to the full text ebooks, are also included in the catalog. Books are shelved in opens new window Library of Congress (LC) call number order, so similar subjects will be shelved next to each other. Search the author, keyword or title you need in the library catalog to see if the book is available at ORU.

Search Reference databases for background information and brief biographical entries.

opens new windowProject Gutenberg offers more than 56,000 free ebooks. Search or browse categories.
For example, Browse By Language: opens new windowFrench | opens new windowSpanish

Ebook titles are included in the library catalog with links to the ebook, but you may prefer to search an ebook database instead of using the library catalog. Two key academic ebook databases are listed below. For more information, see How to Find Books and ebooks.

Includes multiple language resources with more than 150,000 academic ebooks from scholarly and professional publishers. If you are off campus, when prompted, sign in with your SSO (network login). See: opens new windowEbook Central Overview and searching (video 2:37 mins.)
Use Chapter Results - After you search, click the Chapter Results tab to view the 20 most relevant chapters from your result list.
Use Language Limits - To find books in a specific language, use Advanced Search and mark a language, such as French or Spanish.
Use Browse Search - Select a subject then set language and other filters to refine the results.
Use Call Number Limits - To browse titles in a specific call number section, use Advanced Search.

The Ebook Central bookshelf allows you to store ebooks, create notes, highlight text, add Web links, and more.

Go to Ebook Central.
- Click the Bookshelf tab (top left) and enter your ORU network login to create and log in to your Bookshelf. (Your username is your ORU email address)
- To delete ebook titles, highlights and notes, use the delete trash icon at the right in your folder.

Search records in library catalogs around the world. opens new windowmore
Use Advanced Search to limit results to a specific language. If the book is not available at ORU, use the Interlibrary Loan 'Request Item' option in WorldCat.

opens new windowWorldCat (FirstSearch database)

opens new windowGoogle Books

Includes some book previews and complete books available. opens new windowMore
Connects to books with the opens new window Library Project and Partner Program. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given permission, Google Books provides a preview of the book. If the book is in public domain, you can freely download a PDF copy.

Search for books then click a title. In the book record, use Find in library (left sidebar) to link to the item record in WorldCat.org,