Always refer to the print style manual for complete citation formatting and punctuation guidelines. Follow your professor's recommendations.

Note: Although an "index" database, Such as Christian Periodical Index or Literary Index, may identify where to get the full text, do not include a citation for an "index" database in the Works Cited, as it does not include full text.

For additional format styles, see the library guide opens new window Citing Sources.

MLA Style Center (Modern Language Association)

To organize key elements in your citation, use the opens new windowMLA Interactive Practice Template from MLA Handbook (8th ed.), PDF, by the Modern Language Association (style.mla.org),

- opens new windowHow to cite an online video?
- opens new windowUsing MLA Format
- opens new windowWorks Cited: A Quick guide
- FAQs, MLA Style Center

• MLA Citation Style 8th edition HD (Hayden Memorial Library)
• opens new windowCitation Help for MLA, 8th Edition (College of St. Scholastica)
• opens new windowMLA Documentation Guide (The Writing Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison)
• opens new windowScribbr - Provides interactive MLA citation generator

For a single citation in an EBSCO database, click the article title to access the detailed record. Click the "cite" button in the right toolbar then choose the recommended style. (The "Tools" menu is only available on the detailed item record; it is not on the results page.) Copy, paste, and edit the citation to match the required citation style and your professor's requirements.

NOTE: When editing an MLA citation, change EBSCOhost to the database name, such as Academic Search Complete or Gale in Context: Biography.

The EBSCO Folder is a personal information management tool to save articles, save searches, create citations lists, write notes, and more. Create a folder then sign in to your folder. Note: Items added to the default folder are NOT saved.

For multiple citations use the EBSCO folder:

1. After you add the articles to the folder, click Folder has items at the top of the page.
   In the folder:
2. Click checkboxes to mark items to be cited.
3. Click the Print icon (in the right toolbar).
   In the Print Manager window:
4. Uncheck HTML Full Text and Search History boxes, if showing and checked.
5. Choose a Citation Format.
6. Click Print (items are reformatted for printing). Cancel the print, then save or copy/paste/edit the citations.

MLA Handbook
Call number opens new windowLB2369.G53 2016.
The library holds several copies of the current edition of the official MLA Handbook:
• Reference (LRC-R)
• Reserve

The Little, Brown Handbook (Includes the 2016 MLA updates.)
Call number opens new windowPE1112.F644 2016.
The book is located in the reference collection on the carousel at the Library Services Desk and on reserve.

When page numbers are not fixed (the number are not the same in all formats) or not available, use a label identifying abbreviation for the number reference. Use a comma to separate the author from a reference that is not a page number.

Examples:
(Smith 27) page number 27
(Smith, par. 6) paragraph 6
(Smith, pars. 6-7) paragraphs 6 and 7
(Smith, ch. 4) chapter 4

See:
MLA Handbook, 8th edition (pp. 36, 123-127) - Call number opens new windowLB2369.G53 2016
The Little, Brown Handbook, 13th edition (pp. 638-640) - Call number opens new windowPE1112.F644 2016.