Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Print Books
opens new windowLibrary Catalog
✓ Mouse over the to view book descriptions.
✓ Click a call number link to go to the book record in the library catalog.
Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing
by Trusted for 30 years, Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing, A Critical Care Approach, 7th Edition is the only book on the market that provides comprehensive clinical content tailored specifically for perianesthesia nurses. An easy-to-use format with five distinct sections - covering the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations - means you get five books in one. Nursing and pharmacologic interventions are integrated with in-depth coverage of pathophysiology, and updated content includes the latest standards and current issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice. Focusing on research, documentation, and psychosocial considerations, this is the one book that can take you all the way from being a novice nurse in the PACU to preparing for your CPAN® or CAPA® certification! Updated Evidence-based Research boxes in sections IV and V provide the latest standards of care. Five separate sections?provide comprehensive coverage, including: the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations. Addresses current policies and issues?affecting perianesthesia nursing practice such as patient safety, infection control, managed care implications, pain management, and bioterrorism. Special Considerations section details the care of patients with conditions such as malignant hyperthermia, substance abuse, sickle cell anemia, and cardiac arrest.comprehensively covers the various types of anesthetic agents to be anticipated in the PACU. In-depth coverage of pathophysiology for all body systems integrated with nursing and pharmacologic interventions. Streamlined format?includes an overview,?definitions, summary, and references for each chapter. NEW and EXPANDED! Updated content covers the latest evidence and standards, including new sedation and pain guidelines, new information on older patients, implications of new surgical techniques, and more bariatric implications. NEW and UPDATED! New illustrations and thoroughly updated references throughout.
Publication Date: 2017-02-15
Essentials of Nursing Research
by Give your students everything they need to actively learn how to apply research to nursing practice. Updated to reflect the latest innovations in research methods, this worldwide bestseller helps students learn how to read and critique research reports, speak the language of nursing research, and develop an appreciation of research to enhance nursing practice. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck present research essentials, dig into the research steps, and explore quantitative and qualitative research, igniting student curiosity and encouraging them to pursue a professional pathway that incorporates thoughtful appraisals of evidence. Highlights of the Ninth Edition Enhanced accessibility. The presentation of complex topics is simplified and streamlined, incorporating more straightforward language. New content. The book's coverage of state-of-the-art research concepts and approaches includes new discussions of quality improvement projects as well as clinical significance, a seldom-mentioned but important topic that has recently gained prominence among nurse researchers. Reorganized coverage. The book's new structure is organized by methodologic content to offer greater continuity and facilitate better understanding of key methodologic differences between quantitative and qualitative research. Critiquing guidelines and support. Each chapter provides questions that walk students through a study, drawing attention to aspects of the study that can be critiqued by research consumers. In addition, full-length research articles and sample critiques at the end of the book provide opportunities for further critiquing practice. Research examples. One or two actual research examples at the end of each chapter sharpen readers' critical thinking skills, and research examples throughout the text illustrate key points and stimulate students' thinking about areas of research inquiry. Practical guidance . Translation of the abstract notions of research methods into more concrete applications includes tips that explain confusing issues in actual research articles. New test generator . Hundreds of multiple-choice questions, which are completely new and written by the book's authors, help instructors assess their students' understanding of the chapter content.
Publication Date: 2017-02-04
Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts, Theories, Research & Practice, Fourth Edition
by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The Cornerstone Text on Transcultural Nursing Concepts - Updated with the Latest Advances and Breakthroughs A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Leininger's Transcultural Nursing: Concepts, Theories, Research & Practices, Fourth Edition offers theoretical and practical guidance about the provision of client-focused care by integrating cultural values, beliefs, and lifeways into an individualized plan of care. This acclaimed resource presents a global comparative perspective about Western and non-Western cultures and examines the potential future directions for transcultural nursing with insights into rural and urban cultures in the United States including the culture of homeless mothers and children. The book covers important topics such as transcultural nursing, research, and healthcare in Kenya, Southeast Asia, Haiti, Syria, and Taiwan, as well as translational research, globalization, conflict resolution, mental health considerations, Ayurvedic medicine, genetics and genomics in healthcare, integration of care and caring, and an overview of transcultural history, concepts, and principles. Reflecting the work of experts and scholars in the discipline, the Fourth Edition includes twenty-five new chapters. There are also major updates to the Theory of Culture Care Diversity and Universality, Ethnonursing Research Method, Sunrise Enabler, and other enablers. SPECIAL FOR FACULTY:Chapter PowerPoints available online at MHProfessional.com, including learning objectives, figures, and chapter summaries to support classroom use.
Publication Date: 2018-04-10
Nutrition Essentials for Nursing Practice
by A strong foundation in nutrition is essential for effective nursing practice. Reflecting the latest evidence-based practice and nutrition recommendations, this eighth edition of Susan Dudek's highly respected text maintains its focus on all steps of the nursing care process, from assessment and nursing diagnoses to implementation and evaluation. Highlights of the eighth edition: * New! Unfolding case studies use real-life scenarios to build critical thinking skills by asking students to apply theory to nutrition issues. * A revised Chapter 1, Nutrition in Health and Healthcare, explains the role of nutrition in chronic disease prevention, the interdisciplinary nature of nutrition care, and how technology is affecting the future of nutrition. * Updated content includes the 2015-2020 Dietary Guidelines for Americans and its companion MyPlate, use of "eating patterns" in place of "diet" to connote lifestyle rather than a therapeutic approach, and inclusion of the newly revised Nutrition Facts label to be implemented for most packaged foods by 2018. * New topics include antibiotics in the food supply, new guidelines for the provision of enteral and parenteral nutrition support, and proposed changes in how malnutrition is defined. * An increased focus on obesity prevention and treatment includes lifestyle modification, medication, and bariatric surgery. * Built-in learning aids, include chapter-opening Check Your Knowledge questions, key terms defined in the margins, at-a-glance Nursing Process tables, chapter-ending Key Concepts summaries, and How Do You Respond? questions that prepare students to think on their feet in clinical practice.
Publication Date: 2017-06-07
Spirituality in Nursing
by Spirituality in Nursing: Standing On Holy Ground, Sixth Edition explores the relationship between spirituality and the practice of nursing. The text focuses on relevant topics in contemporary nursing such as the spiritual history of nursing, assessment of patient's spiritual needs, the nurse's role in spiritual care as well as the the nurse patient relationship and spiritual needs. The Sixth Edition also features three author developed theoretical models for nursing practice and an instrument to measure spiritual well-being, the "Spiritual Assessment Scale." Key Features: Expanded and updated content on contemporary spirituality in nursing across New chapter addressing the spirituality needs in recent mass casualty events (Boston Marathon bombing, Paris and Brussel attacks) New chapter detailing the ministry and nursing practice of Catherine of Siena Application of the Author developed theoretical models for nursing practice Spiritual Assessment Scale Instructor Resources: Case Studies Discussion Questions
Publication Date: 2017-03-17
Strategies, Techniques, and Approaches to Critical Thinking
by Develop the clinical nursing judgment you need to become a safe, competent clinician! Strategies, Techniques, & Approaches to Critical Thinking: A Clinical Reasoning Workbook for Nurses, 6th Edition uses a case-based, workbook format to help you build clinical reasoning skills. The clear, step-by-step approach helps you learn and apply essential knowledge, guiding you through increasingly sophisticated levels of critical thinking, priority-setting, and decision-making. More than 100 rea listic case studies reflect the scenarios commonly encountered in clinical practice. Written by noted nursing educator Sandra Luz Martinez de Castillo, this edition adds coverage of emerging topics such as QSEN, interprofessional collaboration, and nursing leadership and delegation. UNIQUE! Step-by-step approach builds your skills in critical thinking, clinical decision-making, and clinical reasoning, walking you through the author's research-based critical thinking model. More than 100 true-to-life cases demonstrate how cases progress and complications arise, helping you develop increasingly sophisticated levels of critical thinking. Emphasis on prioritization helps you prepare for nursing practice and for the NCLEX® Examin ation. Integrated NCLEX Examin ation review helps you apply critical thinking skills to test questions and prepares you for the state boards. NEW! Expanded coverage of the Safety and Patient-Centered Care competencies of the Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) initiative, with distinctive icons highlighting this content. NEW and UNIQUE! Coverage of interprofessional collaborative practice includes integration of interactions with other professions into relevant cases (especially in the cases involving leadership), incorporation of the Core Competencies for Interprofessional Collaborative Practice set forth by the Interprofessional Education Collaborative (IPEC), and inclusion of SBAR communication as a tool for interprofessional collaboration. NEW! Increased emphasis on delegation, leadership, and collaborative learning promotes professional practice and team-based learning. NEW! UPDATED content reflects changes in clinical practice and the latest NCLEX® Examin ation test plan, featuring new examples of EHR charting, the use of only generic drug names, and the exclusion of medical diagnoses from questions unless absolutely necessary.
Publication Date: 2017-02-02
by Inspire your students to be theoretical thinkers, innovative advocates, and agents for change. Focused on cultivating the next generation of scholars, this highly respected classic demystifies theory, charts strategies to use in developing and advancing theory, and provides tools and best practices in evaluating progress in the discipline. Based on the feedback of nursing students, this edition was updated to be more accessible without losing the necessary rigor to foster critical thinking. Meleis provides a developmental and historical review of theoretical nursing and helps readers develop analytic skills and integrate knowledge into a coherent whole. By embarking on the journey of nursing theory, practicing nurses will find ways to improve everyday practice, as well as develop theories that capture their expertise. Highlights of the Sixth Edition Key Topics Paradigms that influenced nursing thought, such as feminism and post-colonialism Nursing Theories, including need , interaction , and outcome theories Social and health care transitions and their influence on advancing nursing knowledge The most updated global definitions of the discipline of nursing and the future of nursing Critical discussions on how different classifications of theories may lead to productive explorations and explanations of the process of clinical judgment and decision making Key Features New online journal articles and case studies give students an opportunity to apply theory to practice. Chapter-ending Reflective Questions expand students' understanding of theory and its impact on nursing today. Separate chapters covering Middle Range Theory and Situation-Specific Theory . This text is complemented by and frequently used with Peterson & Bredow's Middle Range Theories: Application to Nursing Research and Practice . A new two-column design that enhances readability. Doody's Review Services gives this title a Weighted Numerical Score: 89 - 3 Stars! "This is the most exemplary nursing theory title available and it is particularly useful because it is a treasure trove of classic and emerging theorists and their work. The breadth, comprehensiveness, and historical grounding make this a must-have title that is a relevant reference for emerging nursing theorists and researchers, faculty, graduate students, and policy makers." - Doody's Review Service
Publication Date: 2017-01-13
Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests
by For students in masters, baccalaureate, associate degree, diploma, and practical nursing programs - and for RNs and LPNs working in hospital settings. Everything students and practicing nurses need to know about laboratory and diagnostic testing, with an emphasis on nursing implications and patient education. Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications is designed to provide quick, pertinent information about laboratory and diagnostic testing, and the corresponding nursing implications. Author Joyce LeFever Kee discusses each test in the context of seven subsections: Reference Values/Normal Findings (for children and adults), Description, Purpose, Clinical Problems, Procedure, Factors Affecting Laboratory or Diagnostic Results, and Nursing Implications with Rationale and Client Teaching. In the 10th Edition, you'll find new, rewritten, or updated coverage of dozens of tests; new Situational Study Questions; an updated section on Therapeutic Drug Monitoring that includes HIV drugs; and revised appendices addressing everything from abbreviations to test values.
Publication Date: 2017-03-28
opens new windowOvid eBooks Full Text
opens new windowEbook Central
opens new windoweBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
✓ Mouse over the to view ebook descriptions.
✓ Click a title link to go to the ebook full text.
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice by 5 Stars! "Overall this is an excellent, comprehensive, and practical resource that is evidence-based and easy to use. It is essential that this book be withing reach of not only student nurses, but also novice or more experienced clinical practice nurses in any setting across the healthcare continuum. A must have for any nurse's library!"-- Lisa R. Binns-Emerick, MSN, GNP-BC, FGNLA for DOODY'S Book Review Service, A classic nursing reference, the fully updated Lippincott Manual for Nursing Practice, 11th Edition , offers expert nursing knowledge and much-needed practical guidance on patient care. Authoritative yet easy to follow, this comprehensive text guides you through the nursing concepts and skills particularly vital for medical-surgical assessment, care, and treatment. Essential for both in-the-classroom and on-the-unit guidance, this is the expertise that all students, new nurses, and medical-surgical nurses need to grasp essential nursing concepts, care management, and procedures. Discover the insights and data that every nurse needs: NEWand updated features - Nursing, Gerontologic, Drug, and Transitional Care Alerts, evidence-based references, diagnostic methods, and drug treatment throughout the book Easy-to-read, well-illustrated outline format - practical, pertinent, and comprehensive content for the busy nurse, including: Patient education - essential self-care, prevention, and health promotion information Nursing assessments - important signs and symptoms and other clinical data to be on the alert for in all types of conditions Body system terminology - how anatomy and physiology are affected by disease in each body system Equipment use - utilizing technology for patient monitoring and therapy Nursing process and practice - systematic use of the nursing process for assessment, planning, and intervention Emergency nursing - emergent conditions Psychiatric Nursing - mental health problems Medical-surgical nursing - adult physical assessment, IV therapy, perioperative nursing, cancer nursing, and care of the older or disabled adult Patient care by body system - functions, problems, disorders, and therapies described for the respiratory, cardiovascular, neurologic and sensory, gastrointestin al, renal, genitourin ary, reproductive, metabolic, endocrine, hematologic, immunologic, musculoskeletal, and integumentary systems Maternity and neonatal nursing - maternal and fetal health, nursing management during labor and delivery, care of mother and neonate in postpartum period, and complications of childbearing Pediatric nursing - pediatric growth and development, physical assessment, primary care, treatment of pediatric disorders of all body systems, and developmental disabilities ebook that includes step-by-step procedure guidelines - guidance on more than 150 procedures, with rationales and direction on what to do next and why Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced ebook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC, and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your ebook experience: The ability to download the ebook on multiple devices at one time--providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource ebooks About the Author Sandra M. Nettin a, MSN, ANP-BC, is a Nurse Practitioner and founder and president of Prime Care House Calls, West Friendship, Maryland.
Publication Date: 2018-11-02
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by This start-to-finish guide includes over 400 nursing procedures--from basic to advanced. Every entry lists equipment, details each step to perform right at the bedside, and provides rationales and cautions to ensure patient safety and positive outcomes. Organized alphabetically for fast, easy access, the 8 th Edition of Lippincott Nursing Procedures addresses what the nurse needs to know and do to perform best-practice procedures concerning infection control, specimen collection, physical assessment, drug administration, IV therapy, and hemodynamic monitoring, as well as procedures related to body systems, such as chest tube insertion, peripheral nerve stimulation, and intra-abdomin al pressure monitoring. Thoroughly updated, this edition also includes new evidence-based entries on synchronized cardioversion, gait belt use, intermittent infusion device flushing and locking, isolation garb use, nasal bridal insertion and removal, pneumatic antishock garment application and removal, self-medication administration practice, and weaning a patient from a ventilator. With clear, step-by-step guidelines and hundreds of sidebars, photos, illustrations, and eye-catching alerts (Nursing Alerts, Pediatric, Elder, Hospital-Acquired Condition Alerts), you'll find the level of detail required to provide optimal hands-on patient care. Packed with pre- and postprocedure nursing considerations, warnings about potential complications, troubleshooting tips, and other helpful advice, this go-to reference provides everything you need to do your job confidently and well, whether you are beginning your nursing career, learning a new skill, or brushing up on a familiar technique.
Publication Date: 2018-11-21
New Horizons in Patient Safety. Safe Communication: Evidence-based Core Competencies with Case Studies from Nursing Practice by This case studies book is an indispensable resource for educators, students, and practitioners of nursing. It is innovative in its application of lessons from the communication sciences to common challenges in the delivery of safe patient care. The authors apply basic tenets of human communication to the context of nursing to provide a foundation for practices that can advance the safety and quality of care. The cases, which describe "close calls" and adverse events, are organized along the continuum of healthcare delivery, providing quick access to solutions in commonly encountered care situations. Each case is accompanied by a discussion of how skillful communication can be key to preventing and recovering from errors and adverse events. Thought-provoking discussion questions and references for further reading make this book a valuable reference for nursing educators, students, and practitioners across the world.
Publication Date: 2017-12-18
Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice by Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Third Edition is an essential resource for advanced practice nursing students in master's and doctoral programs. This text is appropriate for students needing an introductory understanding of philosophy and how a theory is constructed as well as students and nurses who understand theory at an advanced level. The Third Edition features expanded discussion of the AACN DNP essentials which is critical for DNP students as well as PhD students who need a better understanding of the DNP-educated nurse's role. Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice, Third Edition covers a wide variety of theories in addition to nursing theories. Coverage of non-nursing related theory is beneficial to nurses because of the growing national emphasis on collaborative, interdisciplinary patient care. New to the Third Edition: * Updated content based on current literature and practice * New chapter on nursing theories related to health inequity and disparities * Expanded coverage of the DNP degree * New case studies
Publication Date: 2017-03-23
Physical Rehabilitation for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses by Physical Rehabilitation for Veterin ary Technicians and Nurses provides a comprehensive, illustrated guide to all practical aspects of veterin ary physical rehabilitation for veterin ary technicians and nurses. Provides a comprehensive introduction to physical rehabilitation for veterin ary technicians and nurses Offers a thorough grounding in the knowledge and skills needed to become a valued member of a veterin ary rehabilitation team Features contributions from leading practitioners from across the United States sharing their knowledge and expertise on all aspects of veterin ary physical rehabilitation Presents practical tips, tricks and advice to meet common challenges faced by rehabilitation technicians Covers pain management, hands-on therapy, therapeutic exercises, patient motivation, troubleshooting, and more
Publication Date: 2017-11-29
Credo Reference Collection
-opens new windowHealth (~34 titles)
-opens new windowMedicine (~29 titles)
- opens new windowNursing (~8 titles)
- View opens new windowall titles
GVRL (Gale Virtual Reference)
- opens new windowMedicine (~7 titles)
- View opens new window all titles
American Indian Health and Nursing by " A]n extraordinary textbook that addresses the historical and national impact of healthcare and nursing on the American Indian... Although written for nurses, the usefulness of this healthcare textbook extends far beyond this professional practice. Anyone who wants to understand how healthcare is delivered to the American Indian population will be become well informed while immersed in this text. In this day of indigenizing the academy, including nursing, this textbook would be an excellent resource in Native Studies, Sociology, Psychology, Medicine, or Education." --Karen Doty-Sweetnam, Department of Psychiatric Nursing, Faculty of Health Studies, Brandon University, The Canadian Journal of Native Studies The first book to examine the profound disparities in American Indian health, and how they can be remedied, through a nursing lens The average life expectancy of a male born on the Pine Ridge reservation in South Dakota today is somewhere in the mid-40s'the lowest life expectancy of all peoples not only in the United States but the entire Western Hemisphere. Written by and for nurses, this is the first text to focus exclusively on American Indian health and nursing. In fact, it is likely the only nursing book to even mention American Indian health as a distinct entity. The text addresses the profound disparities in policy, health care law, and health outcomes that affect American Indians, and describes how these disparities, woven into the cultural, environmental, historical, and geopolitical fabric of American Indian society, are responsible for the marked lack of well-being among American Indians. American Indian nurse authors, natives of nine unique American Indian cultures, address the four domains of health' physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional' within each region to underscore the many stunning inequalities of opportunity for health and well-being within the American Indian culture compared with Anglo culture. In an era of cultural competency, these expert nurse authors bring awareness of what is perhaps the least understood minority population in the United States. The text covers the history of American Indians with a focus on the drastic changes that occurred following European contact. Included are excerpts from relevant journal articles, historical reports, interviews with tribal health officials, and case studies. The book addresses the roots of American Indian nursing, including coverage of indigenous knowledge and traditional approaches to health and healing. It examines current issues surrounding American Indian nursing, nursing education, and health care within 10 distinct American Indian cultural populations, including a crucial discussion of the health care needs of American Indians living in urban areas. KEY FEATURES: Focuses exclusively on American Indian health and nursing' the first book to do so Written by American Indian nurses Covers four domains of health: physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional Highlights nine specific cultural areas spanning Indian Country, each with its own unique history and context, with urban spaces as a final area
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care, Fourth Edition by Praise for the Third Edition: "The third edition of this outstanding resource reflects the many advances in the care of older people that have occurred since the publication of the second edition... The vast bulk of the content is accessible and relevant to an international audience. The indexing and cross-referencing are excellent... Score: 5/5 stars." -- Margaret Arthur, Nursing Standard "The information in this book] is amazing. I reviewed topics in which I have expertise and was very satisfied. This is an excellent addition to my library and I will refer to it often, much like a medical dictionary... Score: 90, 4 Stars." --Doody's Medical Reviews "Provides 273 comprehensive, yet succinct, entries on a variety of topics related to elder care. In addition, many of the entries include see also references that help readers easily navigate the book. Recommended." --Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries This expanded, one-of-a-kind reference of more than 250 entries provides a comprehensive guide to all of the essential elements of elder care across a breadth of health and social service disciplines. Responding to the needs of providers, directcare workers, family, and other caregivers, the diverse array of entries included in this encyclopedia recognize and address the complex medical, social, and psychological problems associated with geriatric care. In addition to a brief, accessible summary of each topic, entries include several key references, including web links and mobile apps for additional sources of information. This updated edition contains more than 30 new entries written by renowned experts that address a variety of elder care topics. New to the Fourth Edition: New entries addressing Ethics Consultation, Eye Disorders, Pain - Acute and Chronic, and many others Key Features: Provides succinct descriptions of over 250 key topics for health and social service cliniciansOffers crucial information for elder care providers across all settings and disciplinesDistills current, evidence-based literature sourcesWritten by nationally recognized expert researchers and cliniciansIncludes links to useful websites and mobile apps
Publication Date: 2017-11-28
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by lumin aries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science.comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today. This one-stop reference presents key terms and concepts and clarifies their application to practice. The fourth edition has been substantially updated to contain the latest research for nurse scientists, educators, and students in all clinical specialties. With new information from the National Institute of Nursing Research, this reference is an essential compendium of nursing research for nursing students at any level and researchers in all clinical specialities. New to the Fourth Edition: Extensively revised and updatedProvides new information emphasized by the National Institute of Nursing Research on wellness, end-of-life and palliative care, and health technologyNew entries, including Symptom Management Theory and Self-Management Key Features: Provides the most relevant and current research perspectivesWritten by over 200 experts in the fieldClarifies research applications in practice
Publication Date: 2017-07-01