Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIBBIs

About the Required COMP-102 LIBBIs

LIBBI in Session

How do you start research? 

Where do you find scholarly articles?

How do you evaluate resources?

How do you cite online sources?

Beginning academic research includes a knowledge and understanding of these basic questions and requires more than simply "googling" to find sources. Discerning the potential value, or purpose, of resource types and information credibility are key to efficient and effective research.

During the LIBBIs you will get an overview of library resources, learn basic skills to get started, and acquire basic knowledge of essential research tools.

The goal of the LIBBI is to help you master basic information skills that will will enable you to successfully complete your research assignments with ease and efficiency. As part of COMP-102, -102H, and HONR-101, you will complete two LIBBIs: Part 1, an online tutorial to do at your own pace, and Part 2, a hand-on session you sign up for and attend.

LIBBI-102COMP Part 1, Tutorial

The ORU Library, Books & Ebooks, and Reference

Objectives

After completing the Part 1 LIBBI Tutorial, you should be able to:

  • Navigate the library Web page
  • Access online resources
  • Perform basic searches in the ORU library catalog
  • Search and navigate ebooks
  • Use online reference databases
  • Locate innovative and immersive learning technologies, such as augmented & virtual realities and 3D printing.

See related library guides:

 

Part 1 - Online Tutorial [Approximate completion time 1 hr. 15 mins.]

Laptop and booksGo to: LIBBI-102COMP Part 1 Tutorial
This is an online and interactive tutorial, available starting Sept. 9, 2021, for students to complete at their own pace, but before attending LIBBI Part 2. The tutorial has four (4) Modules.

As part of Module #1, you will be instructed to complete three short pre-assessment quizzes in D2L, which take approximately 15-20 minutes. The pre-assessment scores do NOT count, but are used for evaluation, improvement. and statistics.

To access and progress through the tutorial modules, click the tutorial link above then, when prompted, correctly answer basic questions as you work through the tutorial. After you complete one module, move to the next module.

To get credit for LIBBI Part 1, you must complete all four tutorial modules and submit your name and email on the form in Module #4. Your completion of the tutorial is automatically documented and saved when you submit the form. COMP 102 professors are provided weekly updates of student completion.

Module #1 - The LIBBI Tutorial and Navigating the Library's Website [approximately 20-25 mins.]
This module explores the library website and briefly covers basic information and tools available there, including:

  • Summary of the content and purpose of the COMP 102 LIBBI
  • Ask-A-Librarian
  • The Quick Search Box
  • Off-Campus Access
  • Database List
  • Library Hours
  • Library News
  • Includes instructions (with links) to complete three short pre-assessment quizzes in D2L which are used for Library data (scores do NOT count).

Module #2 - Finding Books and Ebooks [approximately 20 mins.]
Explore the library catalog features and ORU's ebook collections.

  • Books+
  • Ebooks+
  • Ebook databases

Module #3 - Reference Databases [approximately 20-25 mins.]
Learn how to access, use, search, and get citations in some of the most popular online Reference databases. 

  • CQ Researcher
  • Gale Ebooks
  • Credo Reference
  • Points of View Reference
  • Includes 12 short optional instructional videos, ranging from 0.34 mins to 3:07 mins.

Module #4 - Sign up for Part 2 and Submit Part 1 Completion Information for Credit [5-10 mins.]

  • Step-by-step instructions show you how to sign up for LIBBI Part 2, which is required.
  • Complete the form with your name and email, then submit it to get credit for completing LIBBI Part 1. The information you submit is automatically recorded, saved in a data file, and given to your professors.
    (Note: You do not need to do anything else for Part 1. COMP 102 Professors get the student completion information.)

Library Guides:
- Composition 102, 102H, HONR101, Course Research Guide
- How to Find Books and ebooks

LIBBI-102COMP Part 2, Hands-on Experience

Note: Additional Part 2 sessions will be posted, and made available for sign up, after Fall Break.

Journals, Articles, and Databases

Objectives

After completing the Part 2 LIBBI, you should be able to:

  • Choose an appropriate database for your research
  • Find a scholarly article using keyword and Boolean expressions
  • Interpret, evaluate and improve a search for more relevant results
  • Create a MLA citation using a database tool, then accurately edit it
  • Find a journal or magazine title in Journal Finder+
  • Identify Web appropriate information for academic work

Part 2 - Hands-on Session [1 hr. 15 mins.] 

Discover and explore library resources and learn effective and efficient research skills. Sessions meet in the Library Instructional Lab (LIL) or online on Zoom and are scheduled at a variety of times to accommodate student needs.

To attend session:

Complete the Part 1 Tutorial.
Select a Part 2 session and sign up in opens new windowVision. (Instructions are in the Part 1 Tutorial or see How To Sign Up for a LIBBI.)
Be on time; sessions start promptly; attendance is taken.
Attendance is taken at the start of the session and given to your professors. If you are unfamiliar with the LIL location, you may want to visit the area prior to your session so you arrive on time. Late arrivals who miss the attendance check-in will need to attend a different session. 

To get credit for LIBBI Part 2 you must sign up, attend, and stay until the session is over. During the last part of the session, three short "Exit Exercises" will be completed in D2L. Scores will count as part the General Education Information Literacy rubric of your WPA; scores do not affect your Composition 102 grade.

For Zoom sessions, the Zoom link and password will be sent to your ORU email the day of the LIBBI session.

See related library guides:

Important Notes

  • Both the Part 1 Tutorial and Part 2 hands-on session are required and must be completed. Non-attendance results in a letter grade consequence in the COMP 102 course. See the opens new windowcourse syllabus.
  • For the semester, when the LIBBIs are over there is no way to make them up.
  • You will need your network login (SSO). If your login does not work, contact the IT Concierge Desk at studenthelpdesk@oru.edu, 918.495.6321, or it.oru.edu.

Library Guides: