Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Uncataloged HSRC Periodical Titles
The Holy Spirit Research Center holds an estimated 1,200 periodical titles from Pentecostal and Charismatic Movement. Currently, 600 of these are cataloged in our library cataloging system accessible at Library.oru.edu. But there remains over 600 titles that have been documented but have not yet been cataloged. Therefore, this list serves as a finding aid for additional titles we have but are not in our system. The holdings information is limited at this point since full documentation has yet to be done. For information about the exact holdings, you can contact the HSRC (firstname.lastname@example.org) or the Director, Daniel Isgrigg (email@example.com). Below is a PDF of the alphabetical list.
Recently Acquired Spirit-empowered Studies
Grieving, Brooding, and Transforming: the Spirit, the Bible, and Gender by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2021-08-19
Grieving, Brooding, and Transforming: The Spirit, The Bible, and Genderis a collection of scholarly essays by Pentecostal women. It explores troubling biblical texts, as well as those of contemporary church life, in regards to the portrayal of women. The authors seek to identify the presence and work of the Spirit that is often hidden within the contours of these texts. A Pentecostal feminist hermeneutic desires to move beyond suspicion into the deeper terrain of the Spirit's mission of grieving, brooding, and transforming a broken world. The essays point to the purposes of God toward justice and the healing of creation.
Bishop Charles H. Mason in the Age of Jim Crow by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2020-12-15
Bishop Charles H. Mason in the Age of Jim Crow profiles the life and career of Charles Harrison Mason. Mason was the founder of the Church of God in Christ (COGIC), which from its Memphis roots, grew into the most significant black Pentecostal denomination in the United States, with profound theological and political ramifications for poor and working-class black Memphians. Bishop Charles H. Mason in the Age of Jim Crow is grounded in the history of the Jim Crow era. The book traces the origins of COGIC in Memphis; it reveals just how Mason's new black Pentecostal denomination grew, gained social and political power, and earned a permanent place in Memphis's black religious pantheon. This book tells how a son of slaves transformed a rural migrant movement into an urban phenomenon, unusual religious demonstrations exemplified infrapolitical religious protests, how these rituals of resistance changed black lives, and helped strengthen and sustain blacks fighting for freedom in segregated Memphis. Mark the Perfect Man reveals why Charles H. Mason was an inherent pre-civil rights religious leader, who laid the groundwork for integrated churches.
Essays on the History of Contemporary Praise and Worship by
Publication Date: 2020-03-09
Seeking to push the historical study of the liturgical phenomenon known as "Contemporary Worship" or "Praise and Worship" to a new level, this collection of essays offers an introduction to the phenomenon, documents critical aspects of its development, and suggests methods for future historical study. This multi-authored work investigates topics in both the Pentecostal and mainline branches of this way of worship, looking at subjects little explored by prior work. The provocative issues explored include Integrity Hosanna! Music, James White, charismatic renewal, John Wimber, the development of second services, Black Gospel, overlooked (non-white) sources of worship music, degree programs for worship leaders, and Robert Webber.
Essentials of Pentecostal Theology by
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2020-01-20
Only a few decades past, academia tended to scoff at the very idea of serious Pentecostal theology. Today profound and variegated theological implications of this dynamic movement are the object of exploration and development across the entire spectrum of the Christian theological corpus. Arguably, an acute need has arisen for identification and evaluation of the Pentecostal movement's original and ongoing theological "essentials." What is Pentecostal theology really all about anyway?This volume realizes that Pentecostal theology is at its heart a working theology undergirding and energizing believers' worship of God in prayer and praise, in holy living, and in witness to a personal experience of the risen Lord and Savior manifested in the continuing power of the Holy Spirit. Authentic implementation, if not explicit articulation, of fervent Pentecostal theology often occurs in the vitality of local churches, house fellowships, and various mission settings in America and around the world. Birthed in the fires of revival movements, essential Pentecostalism, including Pentecostal theology, continues to burn brightest wherever it is fueled most directly.
Spirit on the Move by Pentecostalism is currently the fastest-growing Christian movement, with hundreds of millions of followers. This growth overwhelmingly takes place outside of the West, and women make up 75 percent of the membership. The contributors to Spirit on the Move examine Pentecostalism's appeal to black women worldwide and the ways it provides them with a source of community and access to power. Exploring a range of topics, from Neo-Pentecostal churches in Ghana that help women challenge gender norms to evangelical gospel musicians in Brazil, the contributors show how Pentecostalism helps black women draw attention to and seek remediation from the violence and injustices brought on by civil war, capita list exploitation, racism, and the failures of the state. In fleshing out the experiences, theologies, and innovations of black women Pentecostals, the contributors show how Pentecostal belief and its various practices reflect the movement's complexity, reach, and adaptability to specific cultural and political formations. Contributors. Paula Aymer, John Burdick, Judith Casselberry, Deidre Helen Crumbley, Elizabeth Mca lister, Laura Premack, Elizabeth A. Pritchard, Jane Soothill, Linda van de Kamp
Call Number: BR1644.3 .S65 2019
Publication Date: 2019-04-05
Baptists and the Holy Spirit : the contested history with Holiness-Pentecostal-Charismatic Movement by Baptists and the Holiness Movement -- Holiness, healing, and A. J. Gordon -- Baptist responses to Holiness teaching -- Gender and race in the Baptist Holiness Movement -- The radical fringe and Spirit-led end-times revivals -- Baptist involvement in the Azusa Street Revival -- Baptist hostility to the Azusa Street Revival -- Baptists and second-generation Pentecostals describe each other -- Baptists, Pentecostals, and divine healing -- Women preachers among Baptists and Pentecostals -- From Baptists, to Holiness-Baptists, to Pentecostals -- The Chrismatic movement and Southern baptists, 1960s -- Conflict and confrontation between Southern Baptists and the growing Charismatic Movement -- Keswick, Spirit-filled, but not Charismatic Southern Baptists, 1970s -- American Baptists and the Charismatic Movement, 1960s-1970s -- Southern Baptist Charismatics seek fulness, 1980s -- Baptists and the Third Wave -- Southern Baptists and Charismatics at the turn of the Twenty-first century -- American Baptists and the Holy Spirit renewal ministries, 1980s-2000s -- Gender and race in the Baptist charismatic story.
Call Number: BX6329.P4 W43 2019
Publication Date: 2019
The Miracle Lady by In this latest volume in the Library of Religious Biography, Amy Collier Artman tells the remarkable life story of Kathryn Kuhlman, who, in her day, was considered the best-known female preacher in the world. In the process, Artman relates the larger story of charismatic Christianity, particularly how it moved from the hinges of American society to the mainstream. Tracing Kuhlman's remarkable career as a media-savvy preacher and fleshing out her unconventional character, Artman also shows how Kuhlman skillfully navigated the structures, rules, and landmines that surrounded female religious leaders in the mid-twentieth century. Book jacket.
Call Number: BV3785.K84 A78 2019
Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Digitized Periodicals Collection
Finding Aids - Holy Spirit Vertical File
Vertical File Finding Aids
The HSRC has a vertical file of over 1700 files on various individuals, groups, and topics within the global Spirit-empowered movement. These files contain information collected over the past 50 years such as letters, artifacts, brochures, pamphlets, unpublished writings, photos, and other documents related to each person, group or topic. A master list of these files is currently under audit. Several of the individual files have been indexed and there are finding aids available. Some items also have been digitized and are available on the Digital Showcase.
Archival Collection Finding Aids
We also have a number of special archival collections that have been indexed in finding aids to help researchers.
- "Evelyn Carvell Collection"-HS 2019-01]-The personal papers and effects of Evelyn Carvell, Associate evangelist with Charles Price and editor of Golden Grain magazine after his death. Includes personal papers, books and full bound set of Golden Grain .
- “Dr. Richard J. (M.D., Ph.D.) and Pastor Rose Owellen Collection” - HS2019-002 -A collection of archival materials from Reverend Dr. Richard J. Owellen (PhD, M.D.) and Pastor Rose Owellen, consulting physician for the Kathryn Kuhlman Foundation Healing Services. Collection includes personal correspondence from Kuhlman, Kathryn Kuhlman Sermon Notes Transcripts, photographs, audio cassettes Kathryn Kuhlman Radio programs, and Kuhlman personal artifacts. Includes correspondence from Margaret (Maggie) Hartman, office assistant to Ms. Kuhlman.
- "Rev. A. G. Nelson Collection" -HS 2019-03 -Personal items from Rev. A. G. Nelson (1851-1943) and the Ridgway Covenant Church of Ridgeway, Pennsylvania. Nelson was a Swedish immigrants and was ordained by the American Home Missionary Society.