Spirit-Empowerment Journals
Below are listed a number of journals and other periodicals related to the Pentecostal/charismatic movement. For more Spirit-empowered periodical titles available in the ORU Library, see opens new windowhere. (Use of some of these requires ORU login credentials)
- Africa Journal of Pentecostal StudiesHSRC (paper)
2002–2007 - Australasian Pentecostal Studies1999 to present
- Australian Evangel / Glad Tidings Messenger1927-1966, 1987 (some vols./issues missing)
- Charisma Magaine2009 to present
- Chilean Pentecostal Periodicals1909-1983
- EPTA BulletinChristianity, systematic theology
1982-2009
Followed by the Journal of the European Pentecostal Theological Association - European Pentecostal Charismatic Research Association Papers1989, 1991, 1999, 2001, 2009, 2011
- GoodNews Magazine (London)Catholic Charismatic, biblical studies, worship and spirituality
2002 to present - International Journal of Pentecostal MissiologyAssemblies of God, missions, peer-reviewed
2013 to present - New Wine1969-1986
- ParacletePentecostal, pastoral & practical ministries
1967-1995 - Pentecostal Journal of Theology and Mission2016-2017
Published in the US in partnership with the HSRC - Pentecost Today2000 to present
- The Pentescope: Continental Theological Seminary2020- Present
- PneumAfrica Journal: The Online Journal of African Pentecostal ChristianityPentecostal, peer-reviewed
2013 - Pneuma Review2013 to present (online)
opens new window1998 to present (paper - BR1644 .P578 - Holy Spirit Resource Center) - The Spirit & Church1999-2002
- Spiritus: ORU Journal of TheologyPentecostalism
1985, 2017 to present - Vanguard Journal of Theology and Ministry (affiliated with Pentecostals Assemblies of Canada)The Vanguard Journal of Theology and Ministry (VJTM) is an open-access journal dedicated to publishing the scholarly works of students, scholars, and practitioners. It is based out of Vanguard College, an evangelical Bible college affiliated with the Pentecostal Assemblies of Canada (PAOC) in Edmonton, Alberta. Issues are published once a year and are peer-reviewed in a double-blind process. The VJTM welcomes original scholarship in the fields of theology and applied ministry.
- Malaysian Pentecostal JournalThe Malaysian Pentecostal Journal (eISSN: 3009-0059) is an annual publication by the Malaysia Pentecostal Research Centre, Bible College of Malaysia. It intends to promote Pentecostal studies on Pentecostal movements, theology, education, spirituality, practice, missions, and history in the Malaysian context and beyond.
Thesis & Dissertations
opens new windowDissertations, Theses, & Research Projects (Use of these requires ORU login credentials)
- The most comprehensive source of full-text dissertations and theses is ProQuest's opens new windowDissertations & Theses Global.
- To find theology theses and research projects written at ORU, search ProQuest's opens new windowDissertations & Theses@ORU.
- Also, try searching Research in Ministry Online (opens new windowRIM) for citations and abstracts of D. Min. projects from reporting ATS schools and in opens new windowTheological Research Exchange Network (TREN) for more than theses from over 70 institutions.
- For more information on finding theses, see this opens new windowguide.
Links to Other Pentecostal Archives
- USC Pentecostal and Charismatic Research Archive
the Pentecostal and Charismatic Research Initiative (PCRI) is working with the USC Digital Library to build an online digital archive of primary historical materials - correspondence, organizational records, tracts, sermons, diaries, photographs, oral histories - from different regions of the world. In order to build this resource, PCRI is providing funding to selected seminary and university libraries so that they can digitize and catalog the most important materials from their collections. Includes important materials on Black Pentecostalism. - Malaysia Pentecostal Research Centre
Malaysia Pentecostal Research Centre (MPRC) is a research avenue for scholars on Pentecostal theology, education, spirituality, practice, missions, and history in the Malaysian context. The Centre envisions enriching a holistic Pentecostal education and spirituality among current and new generations to strengthen the God-spirited revival movements and churches in Malaysia in the twenty-first century and beyond.
Pentecostal-Charismatic Reference Works
For finding background information on various people, movements and topics related to Pentecostal and Charismatic Studies, these reference works are a great place to start.
Brill's Encyclopedia of Global Pentecostalism by
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9789004297449Publication Date: 2021-09-22
World Christian Encyclopedia (ONLINE) by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781474403238Publication Date: 2019-11-30
Handbook of Pentecostal Christianity by Call Number: BR1644 .H36 2012ISBN: 9780875806723Publication Date: 2012-04-15
The Cambridge Companion to Pentecostalism by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781107007093Publication Date: 2014-08-11
Encyclopedia of Pentecostal and Charismatic Christianity by ISBN: 0415969662Publication Date: 2006-02-28
The Dictionary of Pan-African Pentecostalism, Volume One by Call Number: BR1644.3 .D53 2018ISBN: 9781532661334Publication Date: 2018-06-22
The New International Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements by Call Number: BR1644 .D53 2002ISBN: 0310224810Publication Date: 2002-05-27
The Routledge Handbook of Pentecostal Theology by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780429016233Publication Date: 2020-03-31
Search Boxes
Database Searches
opens new windowTheology & Ministry Databases: (Use of these requires ORU login credentials)
If you are looking for a good theological journal article,
- To search broadly the indexes, abstracts, and full text, try opens new windowAcademic Search Complete.
- To search multiple databases simultaneously, try opens new windowEagleSearch.
- To search articles specifically on Theology and Religion, try opens new windowATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials.
- Other helpful databases include opens new windowChristian Periodical Index (CPI), opens new window Index to Jewish Periodicals (IJP), opens new windowOld Testament Abstracts (OTA), and opens new windowNew Testament Abstracts (NTA).
For statistics on the global Spirit-empowered movement, you can access the World Christian Database
World Christian Encyclopedia
World Christian Encyclopedia provides comprehensive statistical information on world religions, Christian denominations, and people groups. Extensive data are available on over 9,000 Christian denominations, 13,000 ethnolinguistic peoples, as well as data on 5,000 cities, 3,000 provinces and 234 countries. Statistics data in this database includes
- Global Christian statistics
- Christianity by country statistics
- Catholic, Orthodox, and Protestant statistics
- Global Pentecostal and Charismatic statistics
- denominations statistics
According to the World Christian Encyclopedia statistics concerning the global Spirit-empowered movement(Accessed April 2019):
- Pentecostal and Charismatic Christians total 579,145,627.
- Pentecostals total 104,118,878.
- Charismatics total 249,000,966.
- Independent Charismatics total 226,025,783.
Recently Acquired Spirit-empowered Studies
Grieving, Brooding, and Transforming: the Spirit, the Bible, and Gender by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9789004469501Publication Date: 2021-08-19Grieving, Brooding, and Transforming: The Spirit, The Bible, and Genderis a collection of scholarly essays by Pentecostal women. It explores troubling biblical texts, as well as those of contemporary church life, in regards to the portrayal of women. The authors seek to identify the presence and work of the Spirit that is often hidden within the contours of these texts. A Pentecostal feminist hermeneutic desires to move beyond suspicion into the deeper terrain of the Spirit's mission of grieving, brooding, and transforming a broken world. The essays point to the purposes of God toward justice and the healing of creation.
Bishop Charles H. Mason in the Age of Jim Crow by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781498595162Publication Date: 2020-12-15Bishop Charles H. Mason in the Age of Jim Crow profiles the life and career of Charles Harrison Mason. Mason was the founder of the Church of God in Christ (COGIC), which from its Memphis roots, grew into the most significant black Pentecostal denomination in the United States, with profound theological and political ramifications for poor and working-class black Memphians. Bishop Charles H. Mason in the Age of Jim Crow is grounded in the history of the Jim Crow era. The book traces the origins of COGIC in Memphis; it reveals just how Mason's new black Pentecostal denomination grew, gained social and political power, and earned a permanent place in Memphis's black religious pantheon. This book tells how a son of slaves transformed a rural migrant movement into an urban phenomenon, unusual religious demonstrations exemplified infrapolitical religious protests, how these rituals of resistance changed black lives, and helped strengthen and sustain blacks fighting for freedom in segregated Memphis. Mark the Perfect Man reveals why Charles H. Mason was an inherent pre-civil rights religious leader, who laid the groundwork for integrated churches.
Essays on the History of Contemporary Praise and Worship by ISBN: 9781532679032Publication Date: 2020-03-09Seeking to push the historical study of the liturgical phenomenon known as "Contemporary Worship" or "Praise and Worship" to a new level, this collection of essays offers an introduction to the phenomenon, documents critical aspects of its development, and suggests methods for future historical study. This multi-authored work investigates topics in both the Pentecostal and mainline branches of this way of worship, looking at subjects little explored by prior work. The provocative issues explored include Integrity Hosanna! Music, James White, charismatic renewal, John Wimber, the development of second services, Black Gospel, overlooked (non-white) sources of worship music, degree programs for worship leaders, and Robert Webber.
Essentials of Pentecostal Theology by Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781532638817Publication Date: 2020-01-20Only a few decades past, academia tended to scoff at the very idea of serious Pentecostal theology. Today profound and variegated theological implications of this dynamic movement are the object of exploration and development across the entire spectrum of the Christian theological corpus. Arguably, an acute need has arisen for identification and evaluation of the Pentecostal movement's original and ongoing theological "essentials." What is Pentecostal theology really all about anyway?This volume realizes that Pentecostal theology is at its heart a working theology undergirding and energizing believers' worship of God in prayer and praise, in holy living, and in witness to a personal experience of the risen Lord and Savior manifested in the continuing power of the Holy Spirit. Authentic implementation, if not explicit articulation, of fervent Pentecostal theology often occurs in the vitality of local churches, house fellowships, and various mission settings in America and around the world. Birthed in the fires of revival movements, essential Pentecostalism, including Pentecostal theology, continues to burn brightest wherever it is fueled most directly.
Spirit on the Move by
Pentecostalism is currently the fastest-growing Christian movement, with hundreds of millions of followers. This growth overwhelmingly takes place outside of the West, and women make up 75 percent of the membership. The contributors to Spirit on the Move examine Pentecostalism's appeal to black women worldwide and the ways it provides them with a source of community and access to power. Exploring a range of topics, from Neo-Pentecostal churches in Ghana that help women challenge gender norms to evangelical gospel musicians in Brazil, the contributors show how Pentecostalism helps black women draw attention to and seek remediation from the violence and injustices brought on by civil war, capita list exploitation, racism, and the failures of the state. In fleshing out the experiences, theologies, and innovations of black women Pentecostals, the contributors show how Pentecostal belief and its various practices reflect the movement's complexity, reach, and adaptability to specific cultural and political formations. Contributors. Paula Aymer, John Burdick, Judith Casselberry, Deidre Helen Crumbley, Elizabeth Mca lister, Laura Premack, Elizabeth A. Pritchard, Jane Soothill, Linda van de Kamp
Call Number: BR1644.3 .S65 2019ISBN: 9781478000327Publication Date: 2019-04-05
Baptists and the Holy Spirit : the contested history with Holiness-Pentecostal-Charismatic Movement by
Baptists and the Holiness Movement -- Holiness, healing, and A. J. Gordon -- Baptist responses to Holiness teaching -- Gender and race in the Baptist Holiness Movement -- The radical fringe and Spirit-led end-times revivals -- Baptist involvement in the Azusa Street Revival -- Baptist hostility to the Azusa Street Revival -- Baptists and second-generation Pentecostals describe each other -- Baptists, Pentecostals, and divine healing -- Women preachers among Baptists and Pentecostals -- From Baptists, to Holiness-Baptists, to Pentecostals -- The Chrismatic movement and Southern baptists, 1960s -- Conflict and confrontation between Southern Baptists and the growing Charismatic Movement -- Keswick, Spirit-filled, but not Charismatic Southern Baptists, 1970s -- American Baptists and the Charismatic Movement, 1960s-1970s -- Southern Baptist Charismatics seek fulness, 1980s -- Baptists and the Third Wave -- Southern Baptists and Charismatics at the turn of the Twenty-first century -- American Baptists and the Holy Spirit renewal ministries, 1980s-2000s -- Gender and race in the Baptist charismatic story.
Call Number: BX6329.P4 W43 2019ISBN: 9781481310062Publication Date: 2019
The Miracle Lady by
In this latest volume in the Library of Religious Biography, Amy Collier Artman tells the remarkable life story of Kathryn Kuhlman, who, in her day, was considered the best-known female preacher in the world. In the process, Artman relates the larger story of charismatic Christianity, particularly how it moved from the hinges of American society to the mainstream. Tracing Kuhlman's remarkable career as a media-savvy preacher and fleshing out her unconventional character, Artman also shows how Kuhlman skillfully navigated the structures, rules, and landmines that surrounded female religious leaders in the mid-twentieth century. Book jacket.
Call Number: BV3785.K84 A78 2019ISBN: 9780802876706Publication Date: 2019-03-19
Canadian Winds of the Spirit by Call Number: BR1644.5.C2 B88 2018ISBN: 9781609471231Publication Date: 2018-05-01
