This special collection of resources on the Holy Spirit began in 1962, when Founder and President Oral Roberts and two other ORU administrators became aware that Pentecostals, their denominations, churches, and fledgling colleges were doing little to preserve their own materials. These leaders saw this need as an opportunity for ORU to serve the growing Pentecostal and charismatic constituency and the Christian church worldwide. The HSRC now houses one of the largest and most comprehensive Pentecostal-Charismatic and Holy Spirit collections in the world. Within the last 20 years, denominations have established similarly strong collections, ensuring that, working together, scholars and leaders will find the resources they need to understand and further this great move of God.
The Holy Spirit Research Center collection contains
- 14,000 books, including many significant Master's theses and doctoral dissertations.
- 1300 periodicals including peer reviewed journals, international publications, ministry magazines, and newsletters, some of which date back to the beginning of the movement.
- 9,000 audio/video items.
- 33,000 items in the Holy Spirit Vertical file: tracts, pamphlets, brochures, unpublished papers, newsletters, news articles, and more; nearly all are pre-2000 in their year of publication.
- hundreds of sound recordings, films, photographs, and microfilms.
This collection contains a wide cross-section of materials from within Pentecostalism worldwide, its denominations and institutions, its teachings and practices, and its leading figures, including the classical, neo-Pentecostal (charismatic), "Third Wave," and later streams and their critics. This research-level collection includes resources advocating both the continuationist and cessationist views regarding manifestations and gifts of the Holy Spirit, including glossolalia; and primary and secondary sources pertaining to the movement’s historical events and current issues. Researchers from all over the United States and from other countries have come to ORU to use this special collection for many reasons, including writing books and dissertations. Among significant recent works that benefited greatly from this collection are these:
Salvation with a Smile: Joel Osteen, Lakewood Church, and American Christianity, by Phillip Luke Sinitiere (New York University Press, 2015).
Blessed: A History of the American Prosperity Gospel, by Kate Bowler (Oxford University Press, 2013).
Spirit Cure: A History of Pentecostal Healing, by Joseph W. Williams (Oxford University Press, 2013).
In cooperation with similar special collections elsewhere, our long-term goal is to develop and maintain a world-class research collection on Pentecostal-charismatic (and related) movements worldwide and on the person, work, and theology of the Holy Spirit.
To help us meet this goal and thereby to serve the church worldwide, we welcome gifts of archival and library materials, as well as gifts of funds. If you wish to learn more about the gifts most helpful to us now, please call or email the HSRC at 918-495-6899 or email@example.com.
The primary source materials here require that all of the materials be used in the Holy Spirit Research Center. The Center holds a special, non-circulating collection.