About
Use reference resources to get background information, an overview of a topic, related concepts and topics, and more. Search for reference books in the library catalog or browse books in reference databases.
- Catalog This link opens in a new window
Research TIP: How to Search for Reference Books/ Ebooks
To Find Print Reference Books - Search the catalog or browse the shelves.
Go to the library catalog. Key in a search. Under View Entire Collection choose Reference Collection. (Note: The results include print books in the Reference Collection, but do not include reference ebooks.)
Browse the print books on the shelves in the Reference Collection. For call number sections, go to the opens new window Library of Congress Classification Outline and drill down to specific call numbers that match your subject.
To Find Reference Ebooks - Search the catalog or ebook databases.
Go to the library catalog. Key in a search and add the word reference to your search. Under View Entire Collection choose Ebooks.
Select a reference ebook database listed below, then browse or search ebook titles in the database.
Credo Reference
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Explore and browse:
opens new window• Mind Map: Health science (In a mind map, click a node to restructure the mind map.)
opens new window• Topic Pages: Exercise
opens new window• Health Science titles
American Women in Sports
by Praise for the previous edition:The articles engagingly summarize the athlete's career and usually narrate the most dramatic event in her career...Recommended for college and public libraries.--Library Journal A to Z of American Women in Sports provides an update to this area of the reference collection at a moderate cost and is a good selection for junior-high, high-school, public, and community college libraries.--BooklistThis work is highly recommended for public libraries, high school libraries, and community college and undergraduate libraries.--American Reference Books AnnualThe accomplishments of women in the sports industry are inspirational and memorable. From the women who first broke through gender barriers to the women who have benefited from their predecessors' ground-breaking determination, the experiences of these athletes are diverse in their triumphs and tribulations.This A-to-Z format biographical dictionary covers notable American women in sports--both athletes and coaches--and is inclusive regionally, chronologically, and multiculturally. There are more than 150 entries, each containing basic biographical data, but focusing on the woman's achievements and contributions in sports. Each entry also includes suggestions for further reading.Profiles include:Babe Didrickson Zaharias: high jumper, javelin thrower, runner, golferMartina Navratilova: tennis playerAlice Coachman: high jumperPeggy Fleming: figure skater, commentatorGertrude Ederle: swimmerBernice Gera: baseball umpireJackie Mitchell: baseball playerNancy Kerrigan: figure skaterEsther Williams: swimmerand many more.ISBN: 9781438150048Publication Date: 2016-05-01
Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
by First published in 1983, John Mariani'sEncyclopedia of American Food and Drink has long been the go-to book on all things culin ary. Last updated in the late 1990s, it is now back in a handsome, fully illustrated revised and expanded edition that catches readers up on more than a decade of culin ary evolution and innovation: from the rise of the Food Network to the local food craze; from the DIY movement, with sausage stuffers, hard cider brewers, and pickle makers on every Brooklyn or Portland street corner; to the food truck culture that proliferates in cities acrossthe country. Whether high or low food culture, there's no question American food has changed radically in the last fourteen years, just as the market for it has expanded exponentially. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, for the first time theEncyclopedia of American Food and Drink will include biographical entries, both historical and contemporary, from Fanny Farmer and Julia Child to the Galloping Gourmet and James Beard to current high-profile players Mario Batali and Danny Meyer, among more than one hundred others. And no gastronomic encyclopedia would be complete without recipes. Mariani has included five hundred classics, from Hard Sauce to Scrapple, Baked Alaska to Blondies. An AmericanLarousse Gastronomique,John Mariani's completely up-to-date encyclopedia will be a welcome acquisition for a new generation of food lovers.Publication Date: 2014-01-30
The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health
by The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health, Second Edition is the authoritative A-to-Z guide to all aspects of nutrition and maintaining a healthy diet. Thoroughly updated, it examines the latest advances in the field, including revised government guidelines and requirements - like the new folate enrichment laws - and new research - for example, the discovery of a link between colon cancer and preserved meats but not fresh meats. Concise and extensively cross-referenced, It is the perfect one-stop guide to the often-confusing mass of nutritional information available today. More than 2,500 entries provide the essential information readers will want to know about nutrition and good health. Covering food ingredients such as vitamins, minerals, fats, carbohydrates, and proteins; the health benefits and dangers of foods; diseases and health disorders related to nutrition; processed foods and their side effects; the link between certain foods and cancer; food allergies; eating disorders; and much more, this edition is comprised of approximately 30 percent of new material, including several new appendixes.Publication Date: 2003-08-01
Key Concepts in Sport and Exercise Sciences
by This book provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport & Exercise Science. Intelligently cross-referenced entries provide a sound map of the multi-disciplinary demands of sport related courses including physical and biological sciences, social science and education. The entries use clear definitions, examples, and suggestions for further reading to explore each discipline.Publication Date: 2008-11-13
Gale Ebooks
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowUse Advanced search then Topic Finder to find new and related topics.
opens new windowView all titles.
Sample Titles:
Gale Encyclopedia of Diet
by The Gale Encyclopedia of Diets 2-vol. set presents authoritative, comprehensive information on special diets, popular diets, dietary concerns, nutrition basics, and effects of dietary choices on health. All entries are presented in a standardized and balanced format. Topics are organized around the development and history of a diet, its basic principles, any key figures that influenced the practice, and any public and regulatory concerns associated with the diet. Articles provide information across all age groups, from infants to the elderly, without the intention of endorsement of any one diet. Such subjects as the South Beach Diet, The Zone, nutrition literacy, diabetes, and obesity are covered.Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness
by "The Gale Encyclopedia Of Fitness covers 300 topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010 / 2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness. It will round out our coverage of body systems and provide end users with information on preventative health topics. "Publication Date: 2012-05-24
Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology
by How do athletes overcome fears, slumps, mental blocks, or injuries? How do they deal with stress and anxiety, be it from competitors, teammates, audiences, parents, coaches, or themselves? What psychological techniques prove effective in mental training for peak performance, maintaining concentration, motivation, and competitive drive? How can an athlete enhance his or her commitment to a training regimen, or how might the average person better adhere to a program of fitness and exercise? Readers will find answers to these questions and more in the Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology.Features & Benefits: Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness in a manner that is accessible and jargon-free to help readers better understand human behavior in sport and exercise settings. From personal factors to situational factors influencing performance to specific psychological techniques for enhancing performance, this work provides comprehensive coverage of the field via approximately 350 to 400 signed entries. Entries conclude withcross-references and suggestions for further readings to guide students further in their research journey. Available in print and online, this monumental work is edited by two leading figures in the field with a distinguished international Editorial Advisory Board to select and assign entries, Ensuring authoritative content readers can trust.Key Themes: Career Transition Certification, Credentialing, and Roles of Sport and Exercise Psychologists Disability Emotion Exercise Health Group Dynamics History and Foundation Leadership Morality, Aggression, and Ethics in Sport Motivation Motor Control Perception and Cognition in Sport Personality and Psychological Characteristics in Sport Psychobiology Psychological Skills/Interventions Psychosociocultural Self-Concept/Self-Perceptions, and Identity Youth SportPublication Date: 2014-01-21
Other Resources - Possible Starting Points for Research
opens new windowAddiction Resource-"...provides resources to help patients and their loved ones so that they may stay on the road to recovery, and can successfully overcome addiction for life." Includes Addiction Guides, Substances, Treatment guides, and more.
opens new windowAmerican Psychological Association: Publications and Databases
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Reference Books in the Library
- Catalog This link opens in a new window
To find reference materials in the Library:
- Key in a search. Under View Entire Collection choose Reference Collection.
- Browse call numbers sections in the Reference Collection. For call numbers, click a subject on opens new window Library of Congress Classification Outline: SubclassQ - Science.