Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research guide provides subject and discipline related suggested resource links, search strategies, and research tips to support course assignments and student research success.
ACSM's Introduction to Exercise Science
by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Succeed in your course and learn more about potential careers with ACSM's Introduction to Exercise Science, 3rd Edition. This proven book provides an engaging, up-to-date overview of exercise science and related areas, such as athletic training and sports medicine. In every chapter, the author illustrates the importance and clinical relevance of each topic in the curriculum and gives you an insider's view of the profession through fascinating interviews and online video profiles and fieldtrips. As an American College of Sports Medicine publication, this full-color resource offers the unsurpassed quality and excellence that has become synonymous with titles by the leading exercise science and sports medicine organization in the world. NEW! A brand-new chapter shows how research is conducted, provides an overview of research as a career pursuit, and explores the concept of evidence-base practice. Video fieldtrips take you into different real-world settings to learn about exercise science careers. UPDATED! Interviews and video profiles of rising stars in the exercise science profession and working healthcare professionals (a dietician, cardiologist, exercise physiologist, etc.) demonstrate the challenges and rewards of careers that begin with an exercise science degree. UPDATED! The "Future of Exercise Science" chapter now reflects the latest trends in the field. Features important updates related to the 10th edition of ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription. REVISED! The motor behavior chapter is now more meaningful, relevant, up-to-date, and understandable. Chapter objectives, key terms and definitions, chapter summaries, and Thinking Critically boxes help you master key concepts.
Publication Date: 2017-11-22
American Women in Sports by Praise for the previous edition:The articles engagingly summarize the athlete's career and usually narrate the most dramatic event in her career...Recommended for college and public libraries.--Library Journal A to Z of American Women in Sports provides an update to this area of the reference collection at a moderate cost and is a good selection for junior-high, high-school, public, and community college libraries.--BooklistThis work is highly recommended for public libraries, high school libraries, and community college and undergraduate libraries.--American Reference Books AnnualThe accomplishments of women in the sports industry are inspirational and memorable. From the women who first broke through gender barriers to the women who have benefited from their predecessors' ground-breaking determination, the experiences of these athletes are diverse in their triumphs and tribulations.This A-to-Z format biographical dictionary covers notable American women in sports--both athletes and coaches--and is inclusive regionally, chronologically, and multiculturally. There are more than 150 entries, each containing basic biographical data, but focusing on the woman's achievements and contributions in sports. Each entry also includes suggestions for further reading.Profiles include:Babe Didrickson Zaharias: high jumper, javelin thrower, runner, golferMartina Navratilova: tennis playerAlice Coachman: high jumperPeggy Fleming: figure skater, commentatorGertrude Ederle: swimmerBernice Gera: baseball umpireJackie Mitchell: baseball playerNancy Kerrigan: figure skaterEsther Williams: swimmerand many more.
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
The Athlete's Clock
by The Athlete's Clock: How Biology and Time Affect Sport Performance offers an engaging, interdisciplinary consideration of some of the most compelling questions in sport and exercise science. This unique text takes a broad look at the physiological clock, offering students, researchers, coaches, and athletes a unique approach to understanding how various aspects of time affect sport performance. The Athlete's Clock explores the ways in which time and its relationship to athletic effort can optimize sport performance. Readers can investigate challenging questions such as these: -If physiological responses to training vary rhythmically throughout the day, what is the optimal time of day for training? -If a coach thinks that a high stroke count leads to a better time in a particular swim event, should the athlete go with it? Or is it better to stick to a more intuitively normal cadence? -Do endurance athletes consciously control their pacing, or are they under the control of unconscious processes within the central nervous system? -In what ways do aging and rhythmic biological variations over time control athletic performance? -Can athletes use cognitive strategies to subdue or overcome limits imposed by biological factors out of their control? Readers will find information on the mechanisms by which time influences physiological function--such as running speeds and muscle activation--and how those mechanisms can be used in extending the limits of motor activity. Chapter introductions cue readers to the ideas addressed in the chapter, and sidebars throughout present amusing or unusual examples of sport and timing within various contexts. In addition, take-home messages at the end of each chapter summarize important findings and research that readers may apply in their own lives. Addressing one of the most intriguing questions in sports, a conversational interview with athlete development expert, anthropologist, and sport scientist Bob Malin a covers the timely topic of sport identification and talent development. The interview is an engaging discussion of how and when talent identification should take place and how talent development for young, promising athletes might proceed. The text also considers how time throughout one's life span alters motor function, particularly in the later years. The Athlete's Clock: How Biology and Time Affect Sport Performance blends physiological, psychological, and philosophical perspectives to provide an intelligent and whimsical look at the effects of timing in sport and exercise. This text seeks to provoke thought and further research that look at the relationship between biology, time, and performance as well as an understanding of and appreciation for the intricacies of human potential.
Publication Date: 2011-04-15
Psychology of Physical Activity
by The positive benefits of physical activity for physicaland mental health are now widely acknowledged, yet levels of physical in activity continue to increase throughout the developed world. Understanding the psychology ofphysical activityhas therefore become an important concern for scientists, health professionals and policy-makers alike. Psychology of Physical Activityis a comprehensive and in-depth introduction to the fundamentals of exercise psychology, from theories of motivation and adherence to the design of successful interventions for increasing participation. Now in a fully revised, updated and expanded third edition, Psychology of Physical Activityis still the only textbook to offer a full survey of the evidence-base for theory and practice in exercise psychology, and the only textbook that explains how to interpret the quality of the research evidence. With international cases, examples and data included throughout, the book also provides a thoroughly detailed examination of the relationship between physical activity and mental health. A full companion website offers useful features to help students and lecturers get the most out of the book during their course, including multiple-choice revision questions, PowerPoint slides and a test bank of additional learning activities. Psychology of Physical Activityis the most authoritative, engaging and up-to-date introduction to exercise psychology currently available. It is essential reading for all students working in exercise and health sciences.
Publication Date: 2015-04-06
World Health Data Platform - Explore WHO's key data tools, data sets and databases
WHO: The Global Health Observatory - Indicators
Provides maps, chart data, metadata, and more for 35+ indicators,, including BMI, child malnutrition, child health, mental health, World Health Statistics,