Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Find Theses, Dissertations, and Applied Research Projects

Borrow through Interlibrary Loan

Thesis & Dissertations - ILL Request

If the title you need is not available in the library or free online, to get the full text once you have identified a title you will need to take steps which may be ordering and borrowing through interlibrary loan, or purchasing the work through a document delivery service.

Interlibrary Loan

  • A blank form for requesting ILLs is available opens new windowonline.
  • For information about requests, email LibILL@oru.edu.
  • For questions about pickup, contact the One-Stop Library Services Desk (918-495-6391).

For more information, see Interlibrary Loan libguide.

Purchase through Document Delivery

Theses & Dissertations - Document Delivery (to order a full text copy)

If you are unable to get a dissertation through opens new window interlibrary loan, you may need to purchase it. The commercial document delivery sites listed below allow you to search for and purchase documents. In addition, some sites include abstracts and/or allow you to preview dissertations.

opens new windowDissertation Express by ProQuest
http://disexpress.umi.com/

  • Purchase unbound print copies or PDFs of graduate works published by ProQuest.
  • Order options: PDF (immediate download) - $41.00; Soft and Hardcover options - $58.00-$82.00 - Unbound Paper Copy (courier mail)- $41.00; 
  • Covers 2.1+ million titles. Basic bibliographic information; no abstracts available.
  • To find a title: Search title, author or UMI order number search.

opens new windowDissertation.com
http://www.dissertation.com

  • Order options: Paperback and entire ebook (buy a password then download) or PDF download.
  • Prices vary. Abstracts available.
  • Free download of the first 25 pages (pdf).
  • To find a title: Search a keyword or browse available theses or dissertations

opens new windowNetworked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
http://www.ndltd.org/
A global digital library of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Title links go to TREN, where they can be purchased.

  • To find a title: In the Thesis Resources box, select Global ETD Search under Find ETD.

opens new windowTheological Research Exchange Network (TREN)
http://www.tren.com
Over 25,025 theological thesis/dissertation titles representing research from as many as 150 different institutions. No abstracts available. See opens new windowNEW search functionality. (pdf)

  • Order options: Digital downloadable e-docs, prices vary for paper loose-leaf/unbound and CD-ROM options. Shipping - $6.75.
  • To find a title: Search title, author, school, subject and degree.