Off-campus Access

To access the library licensed resources, click the Off-Campus Access button on the main library page and log in using your ORU network login or SSO (single sign on). Your ORU network login is your ORU email username less the @oru.edu and your email password. If you have problems with your network login, contact the IT Concierge Desk at studenthelpdesk@oru.edu, 918-495-6321, or go to the it.oru.edu website.

About Article Databases

ORU databases include authoritative full-text articles covering all subjects, in addition to a variety of other types of materials and formats, such as book reviews and magazine articles. In contrast to searching the Web, as noted in the chart below, databases offer many useful functions that provide easy and efficient search and storage tools for research assignments.

Database Selection  

Choose databases with the types of resources and formats needed for your research assignment.

  • Choose a subject database, multidisciplinary database, or combination of selected databases using an integrated search.
  • Some databases contain groups of subject-related publications.
  • Databases may include full text, abstracts, or citations from peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, trade publications, newspapers, and more.
Search Options

Limit your search results to match the assignment requirements.

  • Limit results to scholarly (peer-reviewed) articles.
  • Select a source type, such book reviews or newspapers.
  • Set publication date limits.
  • Refine results using the listed subject/thesaurus terms.
  • Select English or non-English language articles.
Personalization & Information Management

Store your articles to access and read later or create citations.

Citation Tools

Get a single citation or multiple citations in various formats to copy/paste and edit, as needed. Always check citations with the print manual and your professor's requirements. See: Citing Sources: Citation Tools

When the article is not available in full text

Some databases include full text while others have only citations and abstracts. Article full text varies and may be available in HTML, PDF, linked full text, print or a combination of formats.

If the full text is not available in the database you are using it may be elsewhere in the library or in another database. Use the "full text finder," or similar link, when trying to get the full text.

If the article you need is not available at ORU you may request it through the library Interlibrary Loan Service.

EBSCO Text-To-Speech

The Text-To-Speech feature allows you to get  HTML full text read out loud. Just highlight the text you want read and click the Listen button.

  1. Go to an EBSCO database, such as Academic Search Complete or EagleSearch
  2. Search and find an article.
  3. Click HTML Full Text
  4. Click the Listen button. You have an option to choose one of three accents.

See: Read It! Read Out Loud (Text-to-Speech): Using the Read Out Loud Feature

Note: Text-to-speech is not available for PDF format.