Library Guides: How to Find Newspapers: Newspaper Databases

News and Newswire Databases

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
More than 1,200 full-text newspapers. Features more than 2 million television and radio transcripts. Includes Christian Science Monitor and The Washington Post
Coverage from newspapers, newswires, news magazines; sources include CNN, ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, AP
More database information from EBSCO, including a title list.
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Provides near real-time access to news from Associated Press. Content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches. Includes AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, 50 State Reports and U.S. Politics & Government. Links to full text of the NewsMonitor-delivered web content.
Real-time full-text wire feed content from the Associated Press on a continuous basis.
Regional Business News Plus This link opens in a new window
View title list.
Coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces; provides access to essential newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, trade publications, newswires, videos and more.
More database information from Ebsco, including title lists.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Newspapers include Chicago Tribune (1996-present), Los Angeles Times (1996-present), New York Times (1980-present), New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine (1997-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and Washington Post (1987-present)
TIP: Use "quotation marks" to search for exact phrases. For additional searching help, click on "Search tips" above the search box on Advanced Search screen; also notice links for Thesaurus and Field codes specific to this database. (On the Basic Search screen, "Search tips" is located under the search box Enter button).
Advanced Search screen: Use for filtering by Company/Organization, looking up NAICS codes, selecting specific Document types, etc.
Web News This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive newsfeed collection, updated in real time. Ebsco's News Harvester provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe. These feeds are monitored by Ebsco and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in Ebsco.

Find Newspaper Titles in a Database

To browse or search a newspaper title in a database, follow the steps below.

Choose a database.
Click Publications in the top menu bar.
Under Browsing in the middle of the page, key in a newspaper title or click an alpha to browse titles. Select an option: Alphabetical, By Subject & Description or Match Any Words. Click Browse.
From the list of newspaper titles:
To search or view all issues of a newspaper - Mark the checkbox in front of the title, click Add, and then click Search.
To browse specific issues - Click the newspaper title and drill down through the issue dates in the right menu.