Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Find Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, etc.)

Special Library Location Codes

Although most periodicals are shelved in the Periodicals Area in LINC, LRC-4th floor, the library has several special collections shelved elsewhere.

Periodicals shelved in a special collection, such as those in the opens new windowHoly Spirit Research Center, will have an abbreviated location code in the ORU library catalog record.

Library Code Special Library Collection Name and Location
CMC opens new windowCurriculum Media Center
Location: 
Education Center, LRC 5th floor
Contains the audiovisual collection of slides, tapes and cassettes, as well as children's literature, media for grades K-12, and other materials teachers use to develop curriculum. in addition, there is a computer lab for education majors.
HLSSP Health, Leisure and Sport Science Periodicals
Location: opens new windowHLSS Research library, Aerobic Center.
HSRC opens new windowHoly Spirit Research Center 
Location: LRC 5th floor
LRC-PER Periodicals and Microform (newspapers, magazines, etc.)
Location: Library Information Commons (LINC), 4th floor.
LRC-REF
LRC-R
Reference Collection
Location: Library Information Commons (LINC), 4th floor.
Includes subject encyclopedias, specialized dictionaries, handbooks and similar materials that you would not necessarily read cover-to-cover. The reference also includes many biblical commentaries.To find specific reference titles, use the Library catalog and limit to "Reference Collection." Books are shelved in Library of Congress (LC) call number order, so similar subjects will be shelved next to each other. See:
opens new windowLC Classification Outline or inquire at the One-Stop Library Services Desk for assistance.

Reference books cannot be checked; however, some titles may have a duplicate in the main collection. Search the title you need in the library catalog to see if the book is located elsewhere in the library and available for checkout.
LRC 4th Floor Reserve opens new windowReserve Materials
Location: On the counter at the One-Stop Library Services Desk, 4th floor
Consists of books, audiovisuals, tests, short articles and other items placed on reserve for student use in conjunction with courses offered at ORU.
TBM-Music Listening Room Timko Barton Music Collection
Location: Timko Barton Music Building-Listening Lab (TB-2)
Contains a circulating collection of scores and a non-circulating collection of records, tapes, and compact discs. Music majors are given priority for use of these materials.