Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Find Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, etc.)

How To Search the Journal Finder+

Step 1: Go to opens new windowJournal Finder +. Key in a title or keyword. If you are unsure of the exact title, mark Contains for the Search Type.

Step 2: Choose a title from the list.

Step 3: Under your chosen title, click a database name that shows the dates you need. Follow the links to the full text. On the detailed record page you may have an option to select the year/date and volume/issue to browse articles or you may choose to search all issues for a topic or keyword.

When a title is available in the library in paper or microform, you will see a link to Oral Roberts University Library Holdings link. This will take you to the title record in the library catalog, which lists dates/issues held in the Library. To get the journal, record the call number and retrieve it from the Periodicals area, LRC-4th floor.

How To Find a Periodical Title in a Database

Periodicals in Individual Databases
In a database, such as opens new windowATLAReligion Database with ATLASerials, use the "Publications" link in the top menu to search or browse the list of periodicals in that database. Options include search, view, and limit searches to publications. Remember that each database has a limited number of selected titles.

How To Find a Print Periodical in the Library Catalog

For in-house, hard-copy periodicals, use the opens new window Library Catalog and limit your search to Periodical Collection.

Once you find a title in the library catalog, click the title, then note the dates to identify if the dates you need are available. Record call number and format, such as microform, to find the publication in the library.