What are Reference books?

Reference books, such as an encyclopedia, atlas, dictionary, handbook, etc., contain authoritative, relatively brief information or facts for consultation. They are not intended to be read cover to cover.

The library has print reference books, eReference books and reference databases. To find a reference title, search the ORU library catalog and limit your results to reference or search a reference databases.

eReference Books

eReference materials include online full text handbooks, specialized encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, atlases, and other sources. They provide objective background information, quick facts, statistics, biographies, and more.

To find a title:

  • Search the ORU opens new windowlibrary catalog and limit to Reference Collection under the View Entire Collection drop menu. Sroll the list and select ebooks.
  • Search or browse titles in a reference database.

Reference Databases with eBooks

opens new windowGale in Context: Biography - Includes opens new windowContemporary Authors Online and numerous almanacs/yearbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, factbooks, and handbooks, in addition to articles, transcripts and videos.

opens new windowBritannica Spanish Reference Center

opens new windowBritannica® Online Academic Edition

opens new windowCredo Reference Title List star

opens new windowEncyclopedia Britannica Online

opens new windowFunk & Wagnalls New World Encyelopedia

opens new windowGale Virtual Reference Title List  star

opens new windowLegal Information Reference Center