Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Find Books and Ebooks

The ORU Library subscribes to several ebook collections that provide access to more than 200,000 ebooks. Ebooks are unique titles, not merely digitized versions of print books in the library. To find and access ebooks, search an ebook database, such as Ebook Central or Ebook Collections, or search the catalog.

In the opens new window Library catalog, select Ebooks under the View Entire Collection drop menu. In the list of your results, Click an ebook title to access the detailed record. Library catalog ebook linkClick the View content of ...e-Book link, or similar (shown below) to go to ebook full text.

Copyright rules and "Fair Use" apply to ebooks. Therefore, ebook databases set limits on the number of pages that may be printed or copied.

Ebook Central (ProQuest)

More than 156,000 authoritative, academic ebooks in a wide range of subject areas.
-opens new window Ebook Central User Guide
- opens new window EbookCentral Quick Start Guide
ProQuest Training Videos:
opens new windowEbook Central Overview and searching (YouTube, 3:20 mins.)
- opens new windowEbook Central Reader (Video, YouTube, 3:34 mins)

Create a personal Bookshelf.
Use your ORU single-sign on (Network login) to save, highlight, and write notes in your selected ebook. A citation tool is provide, but it creates citation for an entire folder, not just "marked" items.

View 20 chapter results from the most relevant books.
Click the Chapter Results tab above your search results.

Redefine your results.
Click on a title. Click Show more in the right menu under Bibliographic Info. Click LC Subject Heading(s), LC Call Number, or BISAC Subject Heading(s), if options are available.

Identify and search a call number or Subject Heading.
Go to the opens new window Library of Congress Classification Outline and drill down through the subjects. Or, search the library catalog and note call numbers or subject for books in your area of interest. In Ebook Central Advanced Search, select LC Subject Heading or LC Call Number in the drop menu. Enter the call number or subject heading. Click Search.
Note: In addition to LC Subject Headings, Ebook Central also uses opens new windowBISAC Subject Headings. See: opens new windowComplete BISAC Subject Heading List, 2017 Edition.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

opens new windoweBook Collection
A multidisciplinary collection of ~13,600 full-text ebooks, including titles in the Christian Libraries Collections. DRM-free full ebook downloads. (No special software needed for downloads.) Smartphone friendly: View ebook full text in the mobile web browser. Note: Viewing is restricted to 1-5 simultaneous readers.

-opens new windowSearching EBSCO eBooks - Tutorial (YouTube, 1:36 mins.)
-opens new windowDownloading EBSCO eBooks - Tutorial (YouTube, 2:45 mins.)
-opens new windowEBSCO eBooks App - Overview Tutorial (YouTube, 2:03 mins.)
-opens new windowEBSCO eBooks - User Guides

Project Gutenberg

opens new windowProject Gutenberg offers more than 56,000 free ebooks to download. No fee or registration is required. Books are available in many languages

opens new windowTaped-In: Project Gutenberg ebooks (YouTube, 1:13 mins.) - A brief overview of content, downloading, and searching.

Other Selected ebook Databases