Reference Books in the Library
Reference materials include print and online full text handbooks, specialized encyclopedias, subject dictionaries, atlases, and other sources. They provide objective background information, quick facts, statistics, biographies, and more. Search the library catalog or use a reference database.
To find reference books and ebooks, search the library catalog and limit your results to "Reference Collection." Books are shelved in opens new window Library of Congress Classification (LC) call number order, so similar subjects will be shelved next to each other. Reference books cannot be checked out; however, some titles may have a duplicate in the main collection that is available for checkout. Search the title you need in the library catalog to see if the book is located elsewhere in the library and available for checkout.
- Catalog This link opens in a new window
You can also browse the following call number sections in the Reference Collection to find reference books on environmental science: GE and portions of GF, QE, QH, QC, TD. View the opens new windowLibrary of Congress chart for environmental sciences.
Database - Credo Reference
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
See:
- opens new windowEnvironmental Science Mind Map
- opens new windowEnvironmental Sciences Topic Pages
Sample Titles:
The Bees in Your Backyard by
The Bees in Your Backyard provides an engaging introduction to the roughly 4,000 different bee species found in the United States and Canada, dispelling common myths about bees while offering essential tips for telling them apart in the field. The book features more than 900 stunning color photos of the bees living all around us--in our gardens and parks, along nature trails, and in the wild spaces between. It describes their natural history, including where they live, how they gather food, their role as pollin ators, and even how to attract them to your own backyard. Ideal for amateur natura lists and experts alike, it gives detailed accounts of every bee family and genus in North America, describing key identification features, distributions, diets, nesting habits, and more. Provides the most comprehensive and accessible guide to all bees in the United States and Canada Features more than 900 full-color photos Offers helpful identification tips and pointers for studying bees Includes a full chapter on how to attract bees to your backyard
ISBN: 9781786849533Publication Date: 2015-11-24
Encyclopedia of Marine Science by
Praise for the previous edition:Vertebrates and invertebrates are well-represented here...a first-rate undergraduate or early graduate classroom text and also an advanced reference for the general readership.--SciTech Book NewsThe writing is clear and concise...Highly recommended.--Choice...highly commended for its efforts and would be suitable for those institutions supporting secondary or tertiary education, or as a public reference resource...an excellent acquisition for any library.--Reference Reviews...handy...well written...--American Reference Books Annual...a useful reference source for researchers as well as for students in the field of marine science...well organized...a comprehensive and useful reference book for practitioners of ocean sciences...recommend[ed]...highly for libraries to have in their collections.--Marine Geodesy...top-notch information...invaluable to students and reference librarians.--School Library JournalOutstanding Academic Title--ChoiceOutstanding Reference Source--RUSABest Reference Source--Library JournalAn invaluable reference, Encyclopedia of Marine Science, Revised Edition explores the principal areas and issues of this core science discipline in hundreds of entries, essays, photographs, and line illustrations. This comprehensive encyclopedia brings together information on marine science from its component and affiliate sciences, along with information on technology, commerce, business, society, history, and more.Detailed entries cover concepts, technologies, phenomena, organisms, treaties and legal issues, research stations, places and geographical features, vessels, experiments, marine sanctuaries, scientists and lawmakers, programs, organizations, occupations and careers, and other subjects related to marine science. Spanning 1872 to the present and designed for high school and college students, Encyclopedia of Marine Science, Revised Edition concentrates on developments since World War II, including organizations, people, concepts, and laws of international or regional importance.
ISBN: 9781438163208Publication Date: 2017-03-01
The Environmental Debate, Third Edition by
This unique collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present.
ISBN: 978178684533Publication Date: 2017-09-29
Database - Gale Ebooks
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Selected Titles:
Animal Sciences by
Animal Sciences brings together a wide range of scientific, historical and cultural information about the animal world. In addition to covering biological concepts, the history of zoology, biographies of scientists in the field, and ethical issues, such as the practice of animal experimentation, it also covers careers in the animal sciences.
ISBN: 9780028655567Publication Date: 2001-12-06
The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health
by The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health contains information on the actual catastrophic events - how, where, when, why each of these environmental conditions occurred - what impact the effect has and the kinds of health issues that arise from the event, how to identify the health issues, and how to treat the conditions through test, treatment, therapy, and public health response. This product describes the immediate public health response and the long-term public health needs (progress, challenges, etc). The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health covers events, environmental health statutes, diseases/conditions, environmental health policy issues, as well offering biographical sidebars on key figures in environmental health. The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health benefits high school and college students researching specific environmental disasters and issues for their courses in psychology, public health, and history. The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health benefits public library patrons dealing with the long-term effects of environmental health issues directly or those interested in these issues that affect whole communities and demand widespread public health response.Publication Date: 2013-06-07
Plant Sciences
This encyclopedia introduces the fundamentals - such as cells, transportation and photosynthesis, and also examines related fields, such as agribusiness, conservation and ethnobotany.
ISBN: 9780028654348Publication Date: 2000-12-12
Water
byPublication Date: 2003-12-01
