Library Guides: Environmental Science: Article Databases

Core Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database with book reviews, images, and some books with full-text. Areas covered include biology, chemistry, mathematics, multicultural studies, sciences, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies and more.
More database information from EBSCO.
Basic Searching Tutorial on EBSCOhost.
Advanced Searching Tutorial on EBSCOhost.
EagleSearch This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's discovery service (EDS) is called EagleSearch at ORU. This interface provides access to the majority of ORU resources through a single entry point.
Quick overview of EBSCO's Discovery Service (EDS)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles and eBooks will link to full-text if ORU has access to that resource.
Instructions on how to set up ORU Library on Google Scholar is found on the
Technical Helps LibGuide or in "How to add ORU Library to setting in Google Scholar" pdf.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts of scholarly, governmental and general-interest titles, which deal with the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and governments; has some open access.
More database information from EBSCO.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Database This link opens in a new window
"Free access to an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases in exact, human, and social sciences since 1972."
Classification schemes for Searching both databases
Search by Vocabulary
A search returns bibliographic citations; check Publication Finder for journal access.
PLOS - Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window
opens new windowView all articles on Ecology and environmental sciences(PLos ONE is indexed in Academic Search Complete, PubMed Central and several other databases, so it can be searched in a database or independently.)
From website: "PLOS publishes a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine" -- Biology, Computational Biology, Genetics, Medicine, Neglected Tropical Diseases, Pathogens. Covers original research from all disciplines within science and medicine. Indexed in opens new windowAcademic Search Complete, opens new windowPubMed Central and several other databases, so it can be searched in a database or independently. Articles undergo opens new windoweditorial and peer review led by one of approximately 6,000 PLoS ONE Academic Editors. opens new windowLearn more. Includes article downloads, views and cited references.
PLOS ONE is multi-disciplinary and "facilitates connections within and between disciplines."
ScienceDirect Databases (All) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, peer-reviewed articles from journals related to health & life sciences, physical sciences, and social & behavioral sciences.
Make the most of your access to ScienceDirect.
Tips for the Advanced Search in ScienceDirect.
Tutorials on using the ScienceDirect database.

opens new windowScientific Research Publishing: Earth and Environmental Sciences (open access)

How to Use Subject & Thesaurus Terms

Databases have unique sets of controlled vocabularies, or subject headings, which can help you narrow your topic and target your results. Combine several subjects together or combine subject headings or thesaurus terms with keyword searches.

Examples:
opens new windowDE "CLIMATE change" AND fires (in Environment Complete, DE = subject heading or thesaurus term)
opens new windowDE "GEOLOGIC hot spots" AND (pollutants OR "soil contamination" (in Environment Complete)
opens new windowDE "BIODIVERSITY conservation" AND ("protected areas" OR "ecosystem management") (in GreenFILE, subject term and keyword search)

How to Find Thesaurus or Subject Heading Terms

Thesaurus in opens new windowEnvironmental Complete database:

Subject Terms in GreenFILE database:

Use Database Limiters

Use database limiters, usually available on the Advanced Search page, to refine your search.
Eliminate issues with variant spelling using truncation (*).

What are your paper requirements? Do you need to find peer-reviewed articles? Are there date restrictions for your resources?
Use the database limiters to help refine your search result list. Set relevant limits, such as Date, Scholarly Peer-Reviewed articles, and other limiters to refine your search.

Search Strategies

Use the chart below to guide you in developing effective search expressions.