Supporting the Information Needs of Whole Leaders for the Whole World
Use the chart below to guide you in developing effective search expressions.
EagleSearch searches the ORU Library catalog and several of the databases to which ORU Library subscribes. It is a good place to start if you aren't sure where to look. You can enter a phrase or question in this search box; similar to the way you would search Google.
Go to the Library's home page and on the EagleSearch tab, enter your search terms in the search box.
ORU databases, including full text articles, journals and ebooks, are fee-based resources and, as such, are generally restricted to current ORU students, faculty and staff. For off-campus access it is necessary to login with your ORU Network username and password (Single Sign-on) when prompted.
If you know your Single Sign-on and it works for other ORU applications (D2L, ePortfolio, email, etc.) but not for remote library access, troubleshooting guide may help you discover a technical issue which may be interfering with your access.
Subject specific databases are the best way to find articles on a topic.
When searching databases, you need to construct a search (break your topic into key concepts) rather than entering a phrase or question. See Finding Books or How to Find Articles on a Topic for tips on constructing a search.
To search Education databases, click on the blue button, databases on the Library's home page.
On the Databases listing page, select Education in the first dropdown, Choose a Subject.
Education Source is a good database to start your searching. Click on the linked database title, Education Source.
Once you are in Education Source, you will want to add all of the Education databases available from EBSCO. This way you can avoid searching each of these separately.
Click on the linked Choose Databases. Add more Education databases by clicking on the checkboxes next to the databases you want to add in the Choose Databases pop-up window. Some you may want add include: Educational Administration Abstracts, ERIC, Professional Development Collection, and Teacher Reference Center. Then click on the yellow OK button.
Enter your search terms in the search boxes.
As you can see in the image to the left, I have entered "government fund*" in the first search box, "k-12 education" in the second search box, and in the third search box; US OR U.S. OR "United States" OR America.
You can change the dropdown menu if desired. Sometimes it can be a good idea to limit one of your search terms to the title if you find you are getting a lot of results. Click the Search button to perform the search.
At the time of writing, my search returned 10 results. In this case, I would change my second search box to k-12 (take education and the quotation marks out of the second search box). By doing that, my search results went up to 25.
To ensure you are looking at scholarly sources, click on the limits on the left, including Scholarly (Peer-review ed) Journals and change the earliest publication date to the date range you need. Scroll down a little to set Language limits and click on the box next to Academic Journals.
Don't forgot to set up an alert in EBSCO to have the databases email to you any articles added to the databases that fit within your search. Setting up an alert saves you time because you don't have to come back to the database to redo your search.
Click on the Search dropdown that appears to the top right of your results. Click on Email Alert under Create an alert. Follow the steps as prompted.
Don't forget to go back the Databases list of Education databases and search the others that are not provided by EBSCO (e.g., SAGE Premier and TeachingBooks.net).
Google Scholar is a good place to search for articles when: