Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ebooks@ORU: Open Access

Overview of the ebooks available in the ORU Library along with tips on how to access, search, navigate, annotate, and download them

Open Access eBook Collections

In addition to the ebook collections available for the use of current ORU students, faculty, and staff, thousands of ebooks are open access, available free at various Internet locations. The following are links to some major Web sites that provide free ebooks:

opens new windowAfrican American Women Writers of the 19th Century: "A digital collection of some 52 published works by 19th-century black women writers."
opens new windowAlex Catalogue of Electronic Texts: American and English literature as well as Western philosophy.
opens new windowAmerican Verse Project: An electronic archive of volumes of American poetry made up of mostly 19th century poetry.
opens new windowThe ARTFL Project: The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language.
opens new windowThe Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in law, history and diplomacy.
opens new windowBible Gateway: The Bible in various versions and languages.
opens new windowBible Hub:Online study suite of topical, Greek and Hebrew study tools, plus concordances, commentaries, dictionaries, sermons and devotionals.
opens new windowBible Study Tools: Multiple versions of the Bible, an interlinear Bible, a parallel Bible, and other Bible study helps provided by Crosswalk.com.
opens new windowBible Verses: "A free version of the Bible created specifically for users with vision disabilities ... optimized for screen readers and braille displays, tailored to individuals with low vision, color blindness, and any other sight impairment."
opens new windowBibliomania: Includes more than 2000 free texts, study guides and reference resources.
opens new windowBiblos.com: Originally created in 2004 as the opens new window online Parallel Bible with many versions of the Bible in English as well as in multiple other languages, this site was developed to integrate the parallel Bible with various Bible study tools.
opens new windowBiodiversity Heritage library : "A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global 'biodiversity commons.'"
opens new windowBitpipe.com: "The enterprise IT professional's guide to information technology resources. Browse this free online library for the latest technical white papers, webcasts and product information to help you make intelligent IT product purchasing decisions." Requires registration.
opens new window A Celebration of Women Writers: A collection of works by women writers gathered from over the centuries and from many countries.
opens new windowChristian Classics Ethereal library : Works from various Christian traditions.
opens new windowCore Documents of U.S. Democracy: Documents which contain "information which is vital to the democratic process and critical to an informed electorate."
opens new windowDigital Book Index: "Provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1,800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 140,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free."
opens new windowDirectory of Open Access Books (DOAB): A collection of academic, peer-reviewed books from various publishers."
opens new windowDocumenta Catholica Omnia: A massive database of historical church documents including Migne's Patrologia Latina & Patrologiae Graecae. The majority of the items are in Latin, many are in Greek, some are in English and Italian, and a few are in French.
opens new windowDocumenting the American South: A collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the early 20th century.
opens new windowDuke Papyrus Archive: "The Duke Papyrus Archive provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt."
opens new windowEarly Canadiana Online: "These collections contain over 80,000 rare books, magazines and government publications from the 1600s to the 1940s."
opens new windowEarly Church Fathers - Additional Texts: Edited by Roger Pearse, "these English translations are all out of copyright, but were not included in the 38-volume collection of Ante-Nicene, Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers.... The texts are listed in chronological order."
opens new windowEarly Modern Philosophy: English versions of key texts by such early modern philosophers as Bacon, Berkeley, Descartes, Hobbes, Hume, Kant, Leibniz, Locke, Malebranche, Mill, Reid, and Spinoza, "prepared with a view to making them easier to read while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought." Created by Jonathan Bennett.
opens new windowThe EServer: Also known as the English Server. "A growing online community where hundreds of writers, artists, editors and scholars gather to publish and discuss their works."
opens new windowETANA: Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives: "A multi-institutional collaborative project initiated in August 2000, as an electronic publishing project designed to enhance the study of the history and culture of the ancient Near East."
opens new windowThe Evangelical Christian library : A collection of some 150 online books written by contemporary Christian authors.
opens new windowThe Franciscan Archive: "A WWW Resource on St. Francis and Franciscanism."
opens new windowFreeTechBooks.com: "This site lists free online computer science and engineering books and lecture notes, all of which are legally and freely available over the Internet."
opens new windowGallica: la bibliothèque numérique: The Bibliothèque nationale de France provides this library of French and francophone culture. It includes over a million electronic texts, documents, images, animations, maps, and sound files, and covers such subject areas as economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, political science, and science.
opens new windowThe Gnostic Society library : "Includes over a thousand documents related to the Gnostic tradition, including all major Gnostic writings and anti-Gnostic patristic texts." The collection is searchable opens new windowhere.
opens new windowGoogle Books: Allows searching of digitized books. If a book is under copyright, a search result will provide basic bibliographic information about it, and "in many cases, a few snippets – a few sentences showing your search term in context. If the book is out of copyright, you'll be able to view and download the entire book. In all cases, you'll see links directing you to online bookstores where you can buy the book and libraries where you can borrow it."
opens new windowHathiTrust Digital library : Includes some 2,887,976 digitized volumes in the public domain, of over 10 million total.
opens new windowHebrewBooks.org: 15,000 Classical Hebrew Books for Free Download. opens new windowTutorial.
opens new windowThe Holy Father: Access to papal encyclicals, homilies, letters, and other documents from Leo XIII to Benedict XVI provided by the Vatican website.
opens new windowHumanities Text Initiative: Electronic resources provided by the University of Michigan.
opens new window inTechOpen: Open Science|Open Minds: "A pioneer and world's largest multidisciplinary open access publisher of books covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine." Includes the full text of more than 2,350 books and 6 journals.
opens new window Internet Archive: Open-Access Text Archive: An archive of "a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books."
opens new window internet Ancient History Sourcebook: "A ' classroom usable' source book of copy-permitted material for ancient history and civilization courses."
opens new window internet Classics Archive: "Bringing the wisdom of the classics to the Internet since 1994."
opens new window internet Modern History Sourcebook: "A source book of copy-permitted material for Modern European history and Modern Civilization courses." Includes North American and Latin American documents.
opens new window internet Medieval Sourcebook: "An online source book of copy-permitted, although not necessarily copyright-free, source material for Medieval Studies. It is the largest online resource of medieval and Byzantine textual sources."
opens new windowThe Internet Public Library Books Collection: A list of online books browsable by title.
opens new windowThe Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies.
opens new windowLiterary Resources on the Net: "A collection of links to sites on the Internet dealing especially with English and American literature."
opens new windowMaking of America Books: Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
opens new windowNASA Technical Reports: "Allows users to search the many different abstract and technical report servers maintained by various NASA centers and programs."
opens new windowNational Academies Press: "The National Academies Press is now offering many of its titles in digital PDF format. Hundreds of these books can be downloaded for free by the chapter or by the entire book, while others are available for purchase."
opens new windowOAPENlibrary : "Contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences."
opens new windowThe Online Books Page: More than 35,000 English works in various formats.
opens new window online Library of Liberty: Includes1,631 titles, 453 authors, and 1,147 essays in 23 categories.
opens new windowThe Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL): "A collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization."
opens new windowOpen library : Over 1 million free ebooks available.
opens new windowThe Orange Grove: Florida's Digital Repository: "Florida's digital repository for instructional resources. The repository providesan environment for educators to search for, use, remix, share, and contribute educational resources."
opens new windowThe Oxford Text Archives: Distributes more than 2,500 resources in over 25 different languages.
opens new windowPerseus Digital library : Sources for the study of the humanities.
opens new windowProject Gutenberg: Public domain e-texts.
opens new windowProject Wittenberg: A collection of e-texts by Luther and other Lutherans.
opens new windowReligion-online.org: Over 200 electronic books by recognized religious scholars.
opens new windowSchoenberg Center for Electronic Text & Image: "SCETI, a fully integrated digital library, was created in 1996 to publish virtual facsimiles of rare books and manuscripts in the Penn Library's collections."
opens new windowShakespeare in Quarto : View and compare the British Library's ninety-three copies of the twenty-one Shakespeare plays.
opens new windowTheological Commons: "A digital library of 80,000+ books and periodicals on theology and religion."
opens new windowThomas A. Edison Papers: "Over five million pages of documents . . . chronicle one of the most creative technical innovators in the history of the world—Thomas Alva Edison."
opens new windowThomas Aquinas' Works in English: Read English translations of many, if not most, of St. Thomas's theological and philosophical works including both of his Summas and his commentary on Lombard's Sentences as well as his Quaestiones Disputatae, his Opuscula, and his commentaries on Aristotle and on the Bible. Available from Joseph Kenny, O.P., of the Dominican Institute associated with the University of Ibadan in Nigeria.
opens new windowTyndale seminary's Virtual Reading Rooms: Organized links to texts related to biblical studies, missional church, spiritual formation, theology, Christian ethics, and history of Christianity. See, e.g., the Karl Barth Readingopens new windowRoom.
opens new windowThe Unbound Bible: A collection of downloadable Bibles.
opens new windowUniversal Digital library : "A free-to-read, searchable collection of one million books, available to everyone over the Internet."
opens new windowUniversity of California Press: "The eScholarship Editions collection includes almost 2000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. Access to the electronic books is open to all University of California faculty, staff, and students, while select books are available to the public. Print versions of many of the electronic books can be purchased directly from the publishers."
opens new windowUniversity of Michigan Digital Library Texts: Contains 101 collections with 186,770 texts, some of which are restricted to use by authorized users only, i.e. University of Michigan faculty, staff, and students.
opens new windowUniversity of Pittsburgh Press Digital Editions: "Pitt Press has selected 762 monographs for open access.... The majority of these titles are out-of-print, but are now available online."
opens new windowVirginia Heritage: Searches archival and manuscript collections in Virginia.
opens new windowThe Victorian Web: "A resource for courses in Victorian literature."
opens new windowVictorian Women Writers Project: Works by 19th century British women.
opens new windowWorld Council of Churches Documents Repository: Includes "texts of many different types and levels of institutional authority." They are searchable full-textopens new windowhere.
opens new windowWright American Fiction, 1851-1975: "A collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included (1,763 unedited, 1,124 fully edited and encoded) by 1,456 authors."