Library Guides: Drama & Theatre Research: Databases

Core Databases

EagleSearch This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's discovery service (EDS) is called EagleSearch at ORU. This interface provides access to the majority of ORU resources through a single entry point.
Quick overview of EBSCO's Discovery Service (EDS)

Use databases to find articles, essays, book reviews, conference papers and more in scholarly journals and magazines. Some databases include books and some include web site links with abstracts.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database with book reviews, images, and some books with full-text. Areas covered include biology, chemistry, mathematics, multicultural studies, sciences, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies and more.
More database information from EBSCO.
Basic Searching Tutorial on EBSCOhost.
Advanced Searching Tutorial on EBSCOhost.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Use the Thesaurus to identify relevant subjects. Use Publications in the top menu,to search or browse journal titles.
Full-text scholarly resource for mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics, and speech pathology.
More database information from EBSCO, including title list specific to this database.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A full-text and bibliographic database designed for television and film research; includes movie reviews and full-text of selected books.
More database information from EBSCO.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text content covering all aspects of humanities including articles, interviews, book reviews, reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, etc.
More database information from EBSCO.
International Bibliography of Theater & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
TIP: For a list of journals, click "Publication" in the top menu. Then, to search multiple journal titles, use the checkboxes to select and mark titles. For a single journal title, click on a title name to "search within this publication" or browse a selected year/issue
Full-text and citations, cross-references, and annotations of journals and selected books on theatre and performance from over 100 countries.
More database information from EBSCO, including title list for this database.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments, forms and genres, individual works; allows cross-searching across multiple music reference resources. Sources include Oxford Companion to Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music, Encyclopedia of Popular Music.
Note: maximum of 3 simultaneous users
More database information from Oxford
Grove Music Online User's Manual
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals covering a broad scope of disciplines. Offering scholarly and professional research in partnership with over 400 key societies.

Dissertations and Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses @ Oral Roberts University This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of ORU dissertations and theses published after 1996; includes D.Min. research projects only prior to 1996; contains indexing since 1978.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for millions of dissertations, with the full-text available for immediate free download and many available for purchase in print; the official digital dissertation archive for the Library of Congress.
More database information from ProQuest.