Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DMIN-787 Methods for Ministry Course Guide: Resources

Library support for Methods for Ministry Research DMin course

Theology & Ministry Resources

opens new windowImage of steps of the Learning Resources CenterTheology &Ministry Databases-- indexes, abstracts, and full text

opens new windowHistory & Humanities Databases

opens new windowCounseling & Pastoral Care Databases

Open Access Databases

Combined Searches

To search multiple databases simultaneously, try opens new windowEagleSearch. Or from the Advanced Search page of any EBSCO database, click "Choose Databases" (above the search boxes), select the desired databases, and then click the OK button to search them all at once.

Paper Indexes

Click the call number to find the location of the item.

Books

opens new windowebooks

The ORU Library provides access to three major collections of ebooks:

The EBSCO ebook collections together have over 17,400 titles related to opens new windowreligion and over 2,300 related to opens new windowpsychology and sociology while Ebook Central has over 10,800 titles in religion and 3,150 titles in psychology. For information on how to use these collections, go to their pages in the opens new windowebooks@ORU guide. To use such functions as annotating and downloading, sign up for a personal account in both opens new windowEbook Central and EBSCOhost.

For other ebook collections in the ORU library, see these databases:

For open access ebooks, use the opens new windowGoogle Book Search, opens new windowArchive.org, or opens new windowHathiTrust. For still more, see this opens new windowlist of open access ebook collections.

Course Reserves

To find materials that your instructor has placed on Reserve, go the opens new window Library  catalog and look in the right menu for the heading "Course Reserves." Click opens new windowCourse Search, and then key in your instructor's last name. Alternatively, browse this opens new windowlist of reserve materials:

Book Reviews

Bible Commentaries

Do a keyword search in the library opens new windowcatalog for the word "Bible" and name of the biblical book, e.g., Galatians, plus the word "Commentaries."

Sample keyword searches:

For guidance in selecting Bible commentaries, consult the opens new windowBible Commentaries Plus LibGuide.

opens new windowDictionaries & Encyclopedias, etc.

See the box to the right entitled Selected Theology & Ministry e-Reference Works. Also, go to the Reference collection on the LRC 4th floor and look up a relevant item.

For more subject-specific reference works, go to opens new windowGale eBooks, opens new windowCredo Reference, and opens new windowOxford Reference Online, and search the desired title. Or simply do a search for the information needed.

For general reference works, See:

Need more? Try Atla's opens new windowWebsites on Religion or other Web directories to identify such open access reference resources as opens new windowEncyclopedia Mythica.

Companions & Handbooks

To find handbooks or companions in the Library Catalog, do a search for a subject such as a religion (e.g., Christianity), a class of people (e.g., African Americans), or a religious topic (e.g., "Holy Spirit"), then add the keywords "handbook* OR companion*).

Two online collections of this type of reference work are:

 

opens new windowDissertations, Theses, & Research Projects

Open Access Dissertation Web Sites

 

opens new windowJournals

opens new windowBiography