Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DMIN-787 Methods for Ministry Course Guide: Collections

Library support for Methods for Ministry Research DMin course

Purpose

The purpose of the DMIN-787 Methods for Ministry Course Guide is to orient students to the use of the Library's resources and services.

Main Collection

Main Collection

  • Theology Collection - mostly shelved in the BL-BX section on the 4th floor of the LRC
  • New Books - shelved near a sitting area on the west side of the stairwell of LRC-4 

Circulation Desk

Course Reserves

  • Located at the One-Stop Library Services Desk (LRC-4)
  • May be checked out for a limited number of hours or days as specified by the course instructor
  • May be limited to in-library use only

Image of DVDs

Audiovisual Collection

  • Audiobooks - near the One-Stop Desk (LRC-4)
  • DVDs - near the One-Stop Desk (LRC-4)

Periodicals Collection

Periodicals Collection

  • Scholarly journals - in area adjoining Library Information Commons (LINC) close to GC-4 doors
    • Current loose issues 
    • Bound volumes
    • Microform, e.g., microfilm and microfiche
  • Newspapers - shelved in the large wooden "Ark" near the middle of Periodicals area
  • Popular magazines - shelved along the wall on the left end of the One-Stop Desk  

Reference Desk

Reference Collection

  • Mostly dictionaries, encyclopedias, Bible commentaries, maps and atlases, handbooks, and directories
  • Located in the Library Information Commons (LINC) close to the Reference/Ask-a-Librarian desk
  • May not be checked out 

Holy Spirit Research Center

Special Theological Collections

  • Holy Spirit Research Center (LRC-5): Materials may be transferred to the Reference desk for easier access
  • Brad Young Collection - housed in the HSRC
  • Howard Ervin Collection - housed in the HSRC
  • William Sanford LaSor Collection - housed in the HSRC
  • Elmar Camillo Dos Santos Collection - housed in the HSRC
  • Jewish Theological Seminary Collection - housed in the HSRC

Image of HLSS Reading Room

Other Special Collections

  • Curriculum Media Center - LRC-5
    • Primarily for use by Education majors
    • Mostly children's books and other media
  • HLSS (Heath, Leisure, and Sport Science) Research Library 
    • Located in the Aerobics Center
    • Primarily paper periodicals
  • Music Listening Room - Timko-Barton Hall

Library Collections

  • Books: Books are shelved on the 4th and 5th floors of the LRC (Learning Resources Center). They are classified, for the most part, according to the Library of Congress Classification System (LCCS).
  • DVDs: DVDs are shelved on LRC-4 close to the One-Stop Library Services Desk. They are available for 3-day check-out. You may browse an alphabetical list of the over 340 DVDs online.
  • Audiobooks: Audiobooks (LRC-AV) are shelved on LRC-4 close to the One-Stop Library Services Desk. They are available for two-week check-out. You may browse this alphabetical list of over 300 audiobooks. (See also a small EBSCOhost collection of downloadable audiobooks available online.)
  • The leisure reading (LRC-L) area, which is located on LRC-5 next to the west elevator.
  • The new books area, which is located on LRC-4 next to the west elevator. New books may also be browsed online here.
  • The Reference Collection (LRC-R) is shelved in LINC (LRC-4) close to Group Study Rooms A and B and across from the One-Stop Library Services Desk.
  • To search the Reference Collection, start at the Advanced Search page of the library catalog, and limit the search to "Reference Collection." Select one or two words that refer to the subject area of interest plus one of the reference types listed below. See, for example, this search for French language dictionaries. For e-reference works, search the catalog and limit to ebooks, or go to the Database list and limit the database type to dictionaries and encyclopedias . Gale eBooks (GVRL) is the ORU Library's largest collection of e-reference works.

Types of Reference Works


  • Librarians are available to help select appropriate Reference works. To Ask-a-Librarian, visit the One-Stop Library Services Desk in person, or click the sliding Ask-a-Librarian link on the right to call, email, text, chat, or request an appointment.
  • Reference books may be identified by the LRC-R at the end of the call number and by the yellow sticker that covers the spine label.
  • The Periodical and Microfilm collections are located, for the most part, in LINC (LRC-4) just inside the doors to the Graduate Center.
  • Unbound issues of current academic journals are shelved by call number beside the bound volumes of the same title.
  • The current popular magazines, however, are located in the casual reading area beside Circulation.
  • Pre-1979 bound periodicals are shelved on LRC-5 after the Main collection.
  • Microform, whether fiche or film, are stored by call number in yellow cabinets along a wall in the same area as the Periodicals. A microform reader/scanner/printer is close at hand.
  • A workstation stored in the same area provides access to a small set of journals that are available on CD-ROM.
  • Current issues of newspapers are housed in what is affectionately called the Ark, a large wooden piece of furniture in the center of the Periodicals area.
  • Periodical indexes are shelved by call number in the Main collection, many of which are located in the Zs on LRC-5.
  • The Theology Collection is shelved in Main (LRC-4), primarily within the BL-BX classification range.
  • The special theology collections including the William Sanford LaSor Collection, the Elmar Camillo Dos Santos Collection, the Jewish Theological seminary Collection, the Howard Ervin Collection, and the Brad Young Collection are located in the Holy Spirit Research Center on LRC-5.
  • For information on the Holy Spirit Research Center, which is itself the largest of the special collections, see the separate tab.
  • The Curriculum Media Center (CMC) is located on the 5th floor of the LRC. It contains the audiovisual collection of slides, tapes and cassettes, as well as children's literature, media for grades K-12, and other materials teachers use to develop curriculum. In addition, there is a computer lab for education majors.
  • The Heath, Leisure, and Sport Science (HLSS) Research Library, located in the Aerobics Center, consists primarily of paper periodicals.
  • The Music Listening Room (TBM) is a listening lab (TB-2) located in the Timko Barton Music Building. It contains a circulating collection of scores and a non-circulating collection of records, tapes, and compact discs. Music majors are given priority for use of these materials.
  • The University Archives are located on the 1st floor of the GC. They are the repository for the records of Oral Roberts University. The area also houses collections of transcripts, video, manuscripts, and personal effects of Oral Roberts, the personal papers of former University Regent Lee Braxton, the lifework of historian Dr. Harold Paul, and materials of significance to the Pentecostal and Charismatic revival.