Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
5 Reasons to Use the Library Catalog
- to find out whether the ORU Library owns a particular title. The Library Catalog is the tool to use to find out whether a book or other information resource is physically available in the Library. The physical formats collected by the ORU Library include printed books, paper journals including loose current issues and bound volumes of back issues,DVDS, and microfilm. The titles of most of the ebooks the Library owns or provides access to are also searchable in the catalog.
- tosee what the Library has on a certain topic. Start with a keyword search such as opens new windowafrica* AND relig*, scan the results to find a title that pertains to the research topic, look at the record for that item, and then click a relevant subject heading, e.g., opens new windowAfrica -- Religion.
- to see which books an instructor has put on reserve. The catalog can also be used to find the titles of the books or other items your professor has put on reserve for a course. To search for reserve materials, use the opens new window instructor Search page (the link is located in the right menu of any catalog search page) and search by the instructor's last name.
- to renew items borrowed from the Library. The catalog can be used renew books provided they are not overdue. Sign into your library opens new windowaccount using your first and last name and the barcode of your ORU ID (Eagle) card. Mark the items you wish to renew and click the "Renew" button. If books are overdue, contact the One-Stop Library Services Desk.
- to browse the library shelves. The catalog can be used to browse the library shelves electronically. Do a call number search and begin browsing. For example, search for opens new windowBR1644 from the opens new windowcall number search page, and browse the titles that have that classification.
Search Options in the Library Catalog
From the opens new windowsimple Search page, search by keyword, author, title, subject, call number, and standard number (ISBN or ISSN).
On the opens new windowAdvanced Search page, there are more search options including the option to limit by location, material type, language, year, and publisher. The advanced search page also allows results to be sorted by date, title, or relevance.
Example of a Book Record in the Catalog
This bibliographic record provides the following information about a book held in the ORU Library, including the...
- Author - Shelton, James B.
- Title - Mighty in word and deed : the role of the Holy Spirit in Luke-Acts
- Publication Information: Eugene, OR: Wipf and Stock Publishers, c. 1999.
- Call number -- BS2545.H62 S54 1999
- Location -- LRC 4th Floor Reference (LRC-R) and LRC 5th Floor Holy Spirit Research Center (PEN)
- Status - LIB USE ONLY
Note: Books located in Reference and other special collections have the status "LIB USE ONLY" because they may not be checked out. Books currently checked out will have a due date as their status (e.g., DUE 1-31-17). Books that are "IN REPAIR"or"LOST" are so designated. Otherwise, the status will say "AVAILABLE".
Example of a Journal Record in the Catalog
This bibliographic record provides the following information about a journal held in the ORU Library, including the...
- Title - Pneuma: the Journal of the Society for Pentecostal Studies
- Publication Information: Springfield, Mo.: Society for Pentecostal Studies
- Identity (i.e., format) --paper
- Call number -- BR1644 .P57
- Location -- LRC 5th Floor Holy Spirit Research Center Periodicals
- Coverage (years,volumes, and issues held)-- v.1/2 (1979/1983-v.37 (2015), v.38:no.1/2 (2016, v.38:no.3 (2016).
TIP: In the list of years and volumes, a hyphen indicates that the Library has all the volumes between the numbers on either side of the hyphen while a comma indicates a gap. In other words, a comma means that one or more volumes or issues are missing.