Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Distance Learners: Theology & Ministry Research: Collections

The purpose of this guide is to guide distance learners in the use of the library resources and services, particularly those that pertain to theological research.
Main Collection

Main Collection

  • Theology Collection - mostly shelved in the BL-BX section on the 4th floor of the LRC
  • New Books - shelved near a sitting area on the west side of the stairwell of LRC-4 

Circulation Desk

Course Reserves

  • Located at the One-Stop Library Services Desk (LRC-4)
  • May be checked out for a limited number of hours or days as specified by the course instructor
  • May be limited to in-library use only

Image of DVDs

Audiovisual Collection

  • Audiobooks - near the One-Stop Desk (LRC-4)
  • DVDs - near the One-Stop Desk (LRC-4)

Periodicals Collection

Periodicals Collection

  • Scholarly journals - in area adjoining Library Information Commons (LINC) close to GC-4 doors
    • Current loose issues 
    • Bound volumes
    • Microform, e.g., microfilm and microfiche
  • Newspapers - shelved in the large wooden "Ark" near the middle of Periodicals area
  • Popular magazines - shelved along the wall on the left end of the One-Stop Desk  

Reference Desk

Reference Collection

  • Mostly dictionaries, encyclopedias, Bible commentaries, maps and atlases, handbooks, and directories
  • Located in the Library Information Commons (LINC) close to the Reference/Ask-a-Librarian desk
  • May not be checked out 

Holy Spirit Research Center

Special Theological Collections

  • Holy Spirit Research Center (LRC-5): Materials may be transferred to the Reference desk for easier access
  • Brad Young Collection - housed in the HSRC
  • Howard Ervin Collection - housed in the HSRC
  • William Sanford LaSor Collection - housed in the HSRC
  • Elmar Camillo Dos Santos Collection - housed in the HSRC
  • Jewish Theological Seminary Collection - housed in the HSRC

Image of HLSS Reading Room

Other Special Collections

  • Curriculum Media Center - LRC-5
    • Primarily for use by Education majors
    • Mostly children's books and other media
  • HLSS (Heath, Leisure, and Sport Science) Research Library 
    • Located in the Aerobics Center
    • Primarily paper periodicals
  • Music Listening Room - Timko-Barton Hall

More on the Library Collections

  • Books: Books are shelved on the 4th and 5thfloors of the LRC (Learning Resources Center). They are classified, for the most part, according to the Library of Congress Classification System (LCCS).
  • DVDs: DVDsare shelved on LRC-4in the AV area close to the audiobooks. Theyare available for 3-day check-out. You may browse analphabetical list of the340+DVDs online.
  • Audiobooks: Audiobooks (LRC-AV)are shelved on LRC-4in the AV area. They are available for two-week check-out. You may browse this alphabetical list of over 325audiobooks. (See also a smallEBSCOhostcollection of downloadableaudiobooksavailable online.)
  • The leisure reading (LRC-L) area, whichis located on LRC-5 next to the west elevator.
  • The new books area, which islocated on LRC-4 next to the west elevator. New books may also be browsed onlinehere.
  • The Theology Collectionis shelved in Main (LRC-4), primarily within the BL-BX classification range.
  • The Holy Spirit Research Center and the other special theology collections (listed below) arelocated on LRC-5 (LRC 515).
    • The William Sanford LaSor Collection
    • The Elmar Camillo Dos Santos Collection
    • The Jewish Theological seminary Collection
    • The Howard Ervin Collection
  • For more on the Holy Spirit Research Center, see the separate tab.
  • The Reference Collection (LRC-R) is shelved in LINC (LRC-4) beside Group Study Rooms A and B and near the One-Stop Library Services Desk.
  • To search the Reference Collection, start at the Advanced Search page of the library catalog, and limit the search to "Reference Collection." Select one or two words that refer to the subject area of interest plus one of the reference types listed below. See, for example, thissearch for French language dictionaries. For e-reference works, search the catalog and limit to ebooks, or go to the Databaselist and limit the database type to dictionaries and encyclopedias . Gale eBooks (GVRL) is the ORU Library's largest collection of e-reference works.
  • Types of Reference Works
  • Almanacs, Directories & Yearbooks
  • Atlases, Gazetteers, Maps & Guidebooks
  • Bibliography
  • Biography
  • Dictionaries, Glossaries & Thesauri (synonyms & antonyms)
  • Encyclopedias (general and subject specific)
  • Handbooks
  • Indexes
  • Quotations
  • Sacred Texts and associated Concordances, Commentaries, Introductions, Harmonies, & Criticism, interpretation, etc.
  • Statistics
  • Style Manuals
  • Librarians are available to help select appropriate Reference works. To Ask-a-Librarian, visit the One-Stop Library Services Desk in person, phone, email, text, or chat. See the chat icon to the lower right.
  • Reference books may be identified by the LRC-R at the end of the call number and by the yellow sticker that covers the spine label.

Label

  • The Periodical and Microfilmcollections are located, for the most part, in the Library Information Commons(LINC)just inside thedoors to the fourth floor of the Graduate Center.
  • Unbound issues ofcurrent academic journalsare shelved by call number alongside thebound volumesof the same title.
  • Current popular magazines arelocated in a casual reading area beside Circulation.
  • Pre-1979 bound periodicalsare shelved onLRC-5after the Main collection.
  • Microform, whetherfiche orfilm, is stored by call number in yellow cabinets along a wall in Periodicals. Amicroform reader/scanner/printer is close at hand.
  • A workstation isstationed in the same area to allow access to a small set of journals available onCD-ROM.
  • Current issues ofnewspapersare housed in what is affectionately called the Ark, a large wooden piece of furniture in the center of the Periodicals area.
  • Periodical indexesare shelved by call numberin the Main collection, many of which are located in the Zs onLRC-5.
  • The Curriculum Media Center (CMC) is located on the 5th floor of the LRC. It contains the audiovisual collection of slides, tapes and cassettes, as well as children's literature, media for grades K-12, and other materials teachers use to develop curriculum. In addition, there is a computer lab for education majors.
  • The HLSS Research library is a special, non-circulating collection housed by the HLSSDepartment in the Aerobics Center.
  • Consists primarily ofhealth, leisure, and sport science print journals, many of which are not available full text online.
  • Equipped with a computer to allow users to search forarticles in the print journals.
  • The Music Listening Room (TBM) is a listening lab (TB-2) located in theTimko Barton Music Building. It contains a circulating collection of scores and a non-circulating collection of records, tapes, and compact discs. Music majors are given priority for use of these materials.
  • The University Archives arelocated on the 1st floor of the GC. They are the repository for the records of Oral Roberts University. The area also houses collections of transcripts, video, manuscripts, and personal effects of Oral Roberts, the personal papers of former University Regent Lee Braxton, the lifework of historian Dr. Harold Paul, and materials of significance to the Pentecostal and Charismatic revival.

Purpose of This Guide

The purpose of this guide is orient distance learner students, particularly those who are enrolled in the College of Theology & Ministry, to what the Library has to offer in support of their coursework and research.