Search the Library Catalog
opens new window Library Catalog
Search your broad topic in the library catalog or opens new window browse the subjects for Social Service. Ebook titles are included in the library catalog, with links to the full text ebooks. In subject encyclopedias and books, browse the index and Table of Contents to look for your topic.
See: opens new window Library of Congress Classification Outline -- opens new windowSocial Sciences
Sample reference titles:
• The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology - Call # HM17.J64 LRC-R
• Encyclopedia of Social Work - Call # HV35 .E5 LRC-R
• Social Work Dictionary - Call # HV12 .B37 2003 LRC-R
• Social Worker's Desk Reference - Call # HV40 .S6464 2002 LRC-R
Reference ebook Databases
Use reference materials to find general or background information.
- opens new windowCredo Reference
Browse the opens new windowsociology title list, select a book, and then look at the book table of contents and index. Or, search a broad topic and select from the entries in your result list. See: opens new windowSocial Work Mind Map - opens new windowGale Virtual Reference
How to Find Book Reviews
When searching a database, limit your search results to Book Review if the option is available, or type book review and the title and/or author in the search fields.
In opens new windowSocINDEX with Full Text, opens new windowSocial Work Abstracts, opens new windowAcademic Search Premier or another EBSCO database, in Advanced Search limit to Book Review for the Document Type.
Enter the author or book title in the text box. (Use quotation marks to search the title as a phrase.) Or, simply do a keyword search.
Search Ebook Databases
opens new windowEbook Central
- opens new windowSU "social work" (subject search; more than 3,400 ebooks)
- Combine keyword and subject searching to narrow your results.
- Use the Sort By option to arrange the results. For example, Publication Date will sort the newest ebooks at the top of your list.
Search example:
opens new window"social work" and children (phrase and keyword search)
opens new windoweBook Collection (EBSCO)
- opens new windowSU "Social Sciences" (more than 2,100 ebooks)
Sample Ebooks
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
by Written by a sociologist who is also an accomplished writer and teacher, this is a dictionary of sociology aimed primarily at students. Allan Johnson provides an invaluable reference tool, providing a lively and engaging introduction to thinking in a sociological way.Call Number: HM17.J64Publication Date: 2012
Available online and in print.
Finding Faith
by Despite the masses still lining up to enter mega-churches with warehouse-like architecture, casually dressed clergy, and pop Christian music, the "Post-Boomer" generation-those ranging in age from twenty to forty-is having second thoughts. In this perceptive look at the evolving face of Christianity in contemporary culture, sociologists Richard Flory and Donald E. Miller argue that we are on the verge of another potential revolution in how Christians worship and associate with one another. Just as the formative experiences of Baby Boomers were colored by such things as the war in Vietnam, the 1960s, and a dramatic increase in their opportunities for individual expression, so Post-Boomers have grown up in less structured households with working (often divorced) parents. These childhood experiences leave them craving authentic spiritual experience, rather than entertainment, and also cause them to question institutions. Flory and Miller develop a typology that captures four current approaches to the Christian faith and argue that this generation represents a new religious orientation of "expressive communalism," in which they seek spiritual experience and fulfillment in community and through various expressive forms of spirituality, both private and public.Call Number: BV4529.2 .F57 2009Publication Date: 2008-02-04
Key Concepts in Anti-Discriminatory Social Work
by This Key Concepts clearly and concisely explains the basic ideas in the field of anti-discriminatory social work. It: explores the range of discriminations that people experience and discusses a number of theories that inform anti-discriminatory practice;considers the legal frameworks within which anti-discriminatory practice operates; analyzes the skills and knowledge required to practice effectively;highlights the dynamic nature of anti-discriminatory practice and points the way towards a new practice dimension. provides an essential reference guide for all social work students and practitioners, as well as those taking courses in teacher training, youth and community, nursing, mid-wifery and mental health studies for whom anti-discriminatory practice is an important element in their study.Publication Date: 2009-12-08Sociology and the Twilight of Man
by A critique of modern sociological theory, this brilliant new work rather than announcing the twilight of man accepts the event both as an intellectual conclusion and an empirical fact, and proceeds systematically to examine the alternatives beyond the Weber-Durkheim-Parsons episteme. Addressing himself to the issues of pluralism in sociological theory, Lemert rigorously examines representative writings of important theorists in America and Europe, including the writings of Homans (Lexical Explanation), Blalock (Theory Constructionism), Parsons (Analytic Realism), Blumer (Symbolic Interactionism), Schutz, Berger, Luckmann (Phenomenology), Cicourel (Ethnomethology), and Habermas (Critical Theory). Lemert challenges the celebrated pluralism hypothesis in his argument that recent sociological theory is not so pluralistic after all and has not made particular use of available styles of thinking."""Sociology and the Twilight of Man "is an important contribution to the modern sociological enterprise for several reasons. First, it raises basic questions about the progress made beyond earlier theoretical writings. Second, it questions the explanatory force of current theories. Third, it questions whether contemporary theory can continue to develop in a meaningful way without a profound reexamination of its assumptions and premises. And fourth, it demonstrates the value of discursive analysis to theoretical studies. Lemert s critique could lead to fundamental revisions of sociologists perception of their discipline."ISBN: 0809309750Publication Date: 1980-08-01
