Core Databases

  • opens new windowFamily Studies Abstracts
    Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline; linked full-text when available; title list is available.
  • opens new windowSocial & Behavioral Sciences Journal Collection (ScienceDirect)
    Provides full-text from journals and reference works related to the social & behavioral sciences.
    opens new windowTIP: Use advanced search to specify one or more pieces of information (e.g., keywords, authors, dates, etc.) to search and find documents.
  • opens new windowSociological Collection
    Covers a broad range of subjects relevant to sociology and its related disciplines including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, social and cultural structure and more.
  • opens new windowSocial Work Abstracts
    Indexing and abstracts by the National Association of Social Workers dealing with all aspects of social work, including theory and practice, areas of service, social issues, and problems; linked full-text when available.
  • opens new windowSocINDEX with Full Text
    A full-text sociology research database indexing journals, books, working papers, dissertations, conference proceedings; subjects cover criminology, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, criminal justice, social development, religion, substance abuse, and much more.
  • opens new windowSAGE Premier
    A full-text collection of journals related to and including contemporary sociology, comparative sociology, ethnic studies, family studies, consumer culture, and many others. On Advanced Search page: Select "Only content I have full access to" for ORU journals.

Related Databases

opens new windowEagleSearch -This "discovery tool" provides access to the majority of ORU resources through a single entry point. Searches multiple databases across formats and media. Use advanced search to select disciplines.

  • opens new windowAcademic Search Complete
    A scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database with book reviews, images, and some books with full-text. Areas covered include biology, chemistry, mathematics, multicultural studies, sciences, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies and more.
  • opens new windowCQ Researcher
    Provides in-depth coverage of current issues related to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
  • opens new windowGoogle Scholar
    Go to Settings. Click Library links in the left menu, and key in Oral Roberts University. When you are logged in to ORU Off Campus Access, the results in Google Scholar will provide a link to the article, if it is available full-text in the library. To set up an alert: Perform a search. In the left menu, click Create alert, enter your email, select number of results, and then click Create Alert.
  • opens new windowPro Con.org
  • opens new windowAPA PsycARTICLES
    ​    Provides full-text articles on current issues in psychology from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations; includes all aspects of psychology, behavioral and social sciences.
  • opens new windowAPA PsycInfo
    Provides citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the field of psychology, ninety-nine percent of which is peer-reviewed.
  • opens new windowPTSDpubs
    A bibliographic database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs that provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Subjects include prevention, treatment, public policy, professional ethics, and more; linked full-text when available.

Medical & Health Databases

See: opens new windowNursing Research library guide.