Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSY-355 Child Psychology, Course Research Guide: Article Databases

Course Description: "Serves as a foundation for concepts in child psychology. Spans a broad range of topics including biological, cognitive, social, emotional, and spiritual development domains and covering each age of the child. Examines the mutual interdependence between the developing individual and his or her various social systems, including family, groups, organizations, and community."

Core Databases

  • opens new window APA PsycArticles
    From the American Psychological Association. More than 180,000 full-text, peer-reviewed articles from more than 100 journals covering the science of psychology and behavior. Published by APA and affiliated journals. EBSCO
  • opens new window APA PsycInfo
    From the American Psychological Association. International literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes over 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations, published internationally. View the opens new windowAPA Thesaurus video (YouTube 2:54 mins.)
  • opens new windowPsychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
    Contains peer-reviewed titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, child & adolescent psychology, counseling, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full-text title included in this database is indexed in APA PsycInfo.
  • opens new windowPTSDpubs (previously named PILOTS -Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress)
    Sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Vetrans Affairs; Provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Proquest
  • opens new windowSAGE Premier
    Full-text of peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Covers assessment, child development, applied-, clinical-, cognitive-, counseling-, social psychology, and more.
  • opens new windowScience Direct:Social & Behavioral Sciences Journal Collection
    Full text scientific, technical and medical (STM) articles from 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books. Includes the Lancet and Tetrahedron Letters.

Related Databases

opens new windowEagleSearch - Searches multiple databases across formats and media. Use advanced search to select disciplines.

  • opens new windowAcademic Search Complete
    Multidisciplinary scholarly database; ~9,000 full-text journals; 7,850+ full-text peer-reviewed journals; indexing and abstracts for 12,500+ journals. NEW! ~60,000 videos (with footage from 1930-present) from the Associated Press. EBSCO
  • opens new windowGoogle Scholar
    Go to Settings, choose Library links in the left menu, and key in Oral Roberts University. When you are logged in to "Off Campus Access,"the results will provide a link to the article, if it is available full-text in the library.
  • opens new windowFamily Studies Abstracts
    Bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline; linked full-text when available.
  • opens new windowHealth Source: Nursing Academic
    Provides full-text, abstracts, and indexing of health and medical related scholarly journals.
  • opens new windowSocial Work Abstracts
    Covers 900+ social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Coverage includes: therapy, addictions, child and family welfare, human services, civil and legal rights, and mental health. EBSCO
  • opens new windowSocINDEX with Full Text
    860+ full-text journals; 830+ full-text books; 16,800 conference papers. Special Feature: 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. EBSCO
  • opens new windowSociological Collection
    Covers a broad range of subjects relevant to sociology and its related disciplines including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, social and cultural structure and more.
  • opens new windowSociology: A SAGE Full Text Collection
    Includes the full text of 33 journals (328 volumes; 1,729 issues) published by SAGE and participating societies, and some going back 24 years, encompassing over 12,700 articles. Coverage includes: Childhood, Contemporary Sociology, Comparative Sociology, Consumer Culture, Classical Sociology, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and Sociology of Work and Employment (Labor Studies). Special Feature:  Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full-text in PDF format. SAGE