About Data and Statistics
Why include statistics?
Depending upon the type of paper you are writing, statistics may add significance, importance, and/or interest. Relevant statistics may support the reason why you chose the topic or indicate to the reader why they should read your paper.
Where to look?
To find statistics search all types of resources: government sites, organization and associations sites, databases, health and sport databases and sites. Many of the suggested websites listed in the boxes below are professor recommendations.
TIP: Watch for references to primary sources as you review articles in databases and on the Web.
ORU Databases - General and Subject Specific
Use the subject index or thesaurus to browse your topic, find related terms and identify terms to narrow and/or expand your topic. Try searching with percent, data, statistic*, etc.
ORU Journals - Specific Titles or Subject Related
Go to the Journals List and type a subject or keyword to get a list of journals. Select a journal title. Search your topic within a journal. Or, browse the journal table of contents for reports, surveys and research project.
What to search?
Consider your thesis, identify the key words and concepts, and add search terms that identify statistical data, such as percent, data or statistic.
Search the Web
Search the Web using your key terms and words like data, statistic , or fact sheet.
A good way to get authoritative sites is to add site:.gov to your search, which will limit the results to government sites.
Statistical Data on the Web
- opens new windowAPA: Data Sets
- opens new windowCDC DATA - Psychology
- opens new windowCDC - Child Development, Data and Statistics - NCBDDD
- opens new windowCDC - Children's Mental Health: Data & Statistics
- opens new windowCDC - FastStats: Mental Health
- opens new windowCDC - Mental Health
- opens new windowHHS - Office of Adolescent Health: Facts & Stats
- opens new windowNational Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN)
- opens new windowNational Institute of Mental Health (NIH)
- opens new windowNational Longitudinal Study of Adolescent to Adult Health (Add Health)
- opens new windowPTSD: National Center for PTSD, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Search Databases for Statistics
Search psychology databases using your key terms and words like data, percent or statistic.
• opens new window"single parent" AND (data or statistic) - in Psychology & Behavioral Collection database
• opens new windowsmartphonesopens new window AND child* AND usage ANDopens new window (statistic* or percent) - In Academic Search Complete and Communication Source databases
Other Statistical Resources
The resource below include a variety of depth of statistical data and content.
- opens new windowCQ Researcher - Includes background information, chronology, maps, statistical charts, issues, pros/cons and more
- opens new windowProCon.org - Resources include primary source documents, statistical evidence, government research and documents, and more. See also: opens new windowProCon.org: Debate Topics
- opens new windowStatistical Abstract of the United States - A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.