Library Catalog
opens new window Library Catalog
Use the library catalog to find books and other items in the library. Ebook titles, with links to the full text ebooks, are included in the catalog. Or, you may choose to search an ebook database.
Reference ebooks
Sample Titles:
Key Thinkers in Psychology
by `For anyone that has spent years rowing off into convoluted estuaries, and would like an entertaining and useful chart to remind them of River Psychology as a whole, I thoroughly recommend this book′ - The Psychologist `This is a highly enjoyable, erudite and beautifully written manuscript. It conveys a rare depth of understanding and ability to strike at the core debates. The lively style, concentration on the biopic, use of text features such as links between names, and formal division of each sub-section will all appeal.... I have taught History of Psychology for nearly 6 years. This text will prove for more palatable to students than any of the competitors′ - Dr Steve Brown, Loughborough University `This book is well-written. It is clever, flowing and engaging. The balance between biography and contribution is excellent and makes it almost un-put-downable′ - Professor Adrian Furnham, University College London The 20th Century was rich in attempts to characterize and explain psychological phenomena and so to understand the human mind. These projects were undertaken by a huge and diverse list of characters from B F Skinner to James Gibson, from Gordon Allport to Hans Eysenck. It is important for every student of psychology, wherever they might be in the world, to understand the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is `psychology′. This book achieves this in the most accessible and engaging manner possible. Rom Harré presents a unique textbook orientation, combining the biopic with the significance of the major protagonists of the last century, organized by `schools of thought′, yet with cross-references throughout the text.Publication Date: 2005-12-15
History of Psychology
by "Curriculum connections represent the strongest package of information for high school students available. Featuring Curriculum Connection sidebars on every page, students are lead to know what is important and why. Numerous other sidebars allow students to ""self test"" and investigate further."Publication Date: 2011-01-01
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Sample Titles:
Exploring Positive Psychology
by Looking for an introduction to positive psychology that offers real-life examples? This overview of the science of happiness supplies case studies from some of the world's most successful organizations and describes ways to experience the personal impact of this exciting scientific field. Rather than focusing on treating what is "wrong" with a person, positive psychology seeks to understand and foster the things that drive happiness, creativity, and emotional fulfillment. This is a relatively new area of psychological study, and this reference book presents the research and practice of positive psychology in an informative and accessible format. Readers are given a history of the field, its current applications, and the future implications of this psychological discipline. Case studies from companies such as The Body Shop, Volvo, Zappos, and Google highlight the impact of positive psychology when it's applied in a modern business setting. These case studies, along with biographies of leaders in the field, highlight each chapter and connect the dots between the empirical theory of positive psychology and its practice. Readers also receive tools to apply the practices to their own lives. Grounded in academics but accessible to a wide range of readers Challenges the reader to engage in the material and examine the application of positive psychology across multiple domains Provides an extensive bibliography with references to books, journal articles, popular press articles, and websites Includes examples of how media and technology can promote happiness and well-being Provides practical and applied knowledge in the field that can be used in one's daily lifePublication Date: 2016-10-03
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology
by This major revision of The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology follows the successful format of the health/medicine Gale Encyclopedia of ... line of titles. GEP-3 provides a robust 800-entry survey of the field of psychology including notable people, theories, and terms, as well as landmark case studies and experiments. Presenting authoritative information in an accessible manner, it serves students and public library patrons with new features to add interest and maximize understandingPublication Date: 2016-05-11
Ebook Central
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Sample Titles:
Envy Theory
by Envy arouses questions about fairness and unequal distribution of resources. Scavenging for hidden treasures and exploiting the acquisition of what is perceived to be free also imply underlying envy and greed. Envy, in isolation, can be destructive to psychological processes. Endowments of envy, however, are not as bleak and unsparing as they at first may appear. Envy, recognized and intelligently managed, transforms and may spur admiration, emulation, aspiration, empathy, and developmental advantages. Here, Ninivaggi offers a theory of envy and explores various ideas and concepts related to it. He proposes research paradigms for testability, advances principles and guidelines for pragmatic applications in psychotherapies and psychoeducation, and considers new paths for further discovery.Publication Date: 2010-09-16
Student Development in College
by THE ESSENTIAL STUDENT DEVELOPMENT REFERENCE, UPDATED WITH CUTTING-EDGE THEORY AND PRACTICE Student Development in College is the go-to resource for student affairs, and is considered a key reference for those most committed to conscious and intentional student affairs practice. This third edition includes new chapters on social class, disability, and emerging identity theories, with expanded coverage of faith and gender identity. A new framework provides guidance for facilitating dialogues about theory, teaching theory, and the importance of educators as consumers of theory. Discussion questions conclude each chapter and vignettes are woven throughout to provide practical context for theory. Learning activities in the appendix promote comprehension and application of theory. Get updated on the latest in student development theory and application Consider both the psychosocial and cognitive aspects of identity Learn strategies for difficult dialogues, and the importance of reflection Adopt an integrated, holistic approach to complex student development issues Student Development in College is the ideal resource for today's multifaceted student affairs role. "With five new or expanded chapters and critical updates throughout the text, this third edition expertly presents the complex, multifaceted, and continually evolving nature of the theories that inform scholars and professionals in their research and practice with college students. These authors, consummately aware of the needs of emerging and continuing student affairs professionals, have crafted a text that will be both eminently practical and intellectually engaging for graduate students, professionals, and faculty alike."--Dafin a-Lazarus Stewart, associate professor, higher education and student affairs, Bowling Green State University "This third edition of Student Development in College beautifully presents the theoretical terrain of student development by honoring the foundational theories upon which the field was developed and foregrounding newer theories with brand new content and fresh perspectives. The result is a text that is comprehensive, sophisticated, and accessible--and one that is attuned to the contemporary realities of the complexities of student development."--Susan R. Jones, professor, higher education and student affairs, The Ohio State UniversityPublication Date: 2016-02-29
The Wiley-Blackwell Handbook of Personal Construct Psychology
by The Wiley Handbook of Personal Construct Psychology is the definitive new reference for the field, providing a state-of-the-art review of PCP which focuses on the theory and its philosophy, methodology, areas of application and future horizons A definitive new reference work for the field of personal construct psychology, featuring leading international figures in the field Each section begins with a concise chapter that reviews the literature in the area concerned and highlights new developments Covers theory, history, methodology and a wealth of new and established applications including education, grief and meaning reconstruction, sexuality, organizational consultancy and personal construct coaching Draws on published and previously unpublished work by pioneers including Fay Fransella and Miller MairPublication Date: 2015-10-02
Ebok Collection ( EBSCO)
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Sample Titles:
Introduction to Psychological Theories and Psychotherapy
by This is an introductory text on psychological theories and psychotherapy that approaches the topic from a multidisciplinary perspective. Written for psychiatry residents, but of notable relevance to other students and practitioners in medical and mental health fields, this book lays out a specific sequence for learning psychotherapy that emphasizes the fundamental importance of acquiring an appropriate foundational knowledge base in addition to learning the specific techniques of psychotherapies. Beyond emphasizing the details of major treatment models as well as the theory and research findings that inform the field of psychotherapy in general, a specific learning sequence is laid out that will guide the reader toward developing beginning competence as a psychotherapist. Psychoanalytic theory and behavior theory are each presented in historical context, with explanations and clear distinctions made among categories of each. These include classical psychoanalytic theory, ego psychology, object relations, the interpersonal school, intersubjective and relational approaches, learning theory (including classical and operant conditioning), cognitive theory, and mindfulness-based approaches.Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Introduction to Theories of Learning, Ninth Edition
by Defines learning and shows how the learning process is studied. Clearly written and user-friendly, Introduction to the Theories of Learning places learning in its historical perspective and provides appreciation for the figures and theories that have shaped 100 years of learning theory research. The 9th edition has been updated with the most current research in the field. With Pearson's MySearchLab with interactive eText and Experiment's Tool, this program is more user-friendly than ever. Learning Goals Upon completing this book, readers should be able to: Define learning and show how the learning process is studied Place learning theory in historical perspective Present essential features of the major theories of learning with implications for educational practice Note: MySearchLab does not come automatically packaged with this text. To purchase MySearchLab, please visit: www.mysearchlab.com or you can purchase a ValuePack of the text + MySearchLab (at no additional cost).Publication Date: 2012-07-15
Motivation 101
by What drives people toward their goals? Does motivation come from outside the individual or from within? This text is a concise, engaging overview of leading theories and the wide body of research about this core concept in psychology. It draws from a broad spectrum of psychological models and disciplines, and focuses on how various theories of motivation define and examine different motivational attributes, such as rewards and goals. An abundance of real-life case examples from the author's research and life experiences vividly illumin ates how various models explain behavior and connect the study of motivation to our daily lives. An entertaining alternative to lengthy and expensive texts on the subject, Motivation 101 is unique in helping readers understand how each theory of motivation and behavioral, neurobiological, attribution, and other models and views and defines a particular concept within each theory. For example, each modality views the concept of "reward&" from a different perspective. The book is also distinguished by its multidisciplinary focus, whereby research is drawn not only from different domains of psychology but also from such disciplines as education and business. In addition, the text considers cultural differences in the study of motivation and collaborative environments, and addresses changing research methodologies. It is an engaging introduction to the study of motivation for undergraduate courses in psychology and education. Key FeaturesProvides a concise, engaging overview of motivation that encompasses leading theories and a broad body of researchCompares and contrasts different motivation theories, including needs-based and cognitive modelsDraws from research across a wide range of domains within psychology, education, and businessConnects the study of motivation to our daily lives through illustrative vignettes and metaphors The Psych 101 Series Short, reader-friendly introductions to cutting-edge topics in psychology. With key concepts, controversial topics, and fascinating accounts of up-to-the-minute research, The Psych 101 Series is a valuable resource for all students of psychology and anyone interested in the field.Publication Date: 2016-11-01
