Library Guides: PSY-322 Psychology of Learning and Motivation: Articles

About

This research guide provides subject and discipline related suggested resource links, search strategies, and research tips to support course assignments and student research success. (All links open in a new window.)

What do you need?
To locate your sources, choose relevant databases and use strategic searching. For example, if searching for articles on a learning theory, use a psychology database and an education database. If you need historical information, use a psychology database and an historical or humanities database.

Core Databases

APA PsycArticles® This link opens in a new window
Browse and search key subjects, such as theory, in the "APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms" linked at the top of the database page. (For more information, click the Psychology Thesaurus/Subject Headings tab above.)
Provides full-text articles on current issues in psychology from journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations; includes all aspects of psychology, behavioral and social sciences.
(Formerly accessed as PsycARTICLES)
APA PsycInfo® This link opens in a new window
To find and search subjects, use the "APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms" linked at the top of the page. Enter a key concept and try "Relevancy Ranked" as the display. (For more information, click the Psychology Thesaurus/Subject Headings tab above.)
Look for, or limit your search to Impact Statement which is like an abstract, but instead of describing the technical process, it explains the relevance of the research to the general public.
Provides citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the field of psychology, ninety-nine percent of which is peer-reviewed; links to full-text when available.
(Formerly accessed as PsycINFO)
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
To find and search subjects, use the "Subjects" link at the top of the page. (For more information, click the Psychology Thesaurus/Subject Headings tab above.)
Contains peer-reviewed titles covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, child & adolescent psychology, counseling, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full-text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO.
More database information from EBSCO, including title lists.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs that provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Subjects include prevention, treatment, public policy, professional ethics, and more; linked full-text when available.
More database information from ProQuest.
Information from U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. National Center for PTSD.
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals covering a broad scope of disciplines. Offering scholarly and professional research in partnership with over 400 key societies.
ScienceDirect Databases (All) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, peer-reviewed articles from journals related to health & life sciences, physical sciences, and social & behavioral sciences.
Make the most of your access to ScienceDirect.
Tips for the Advanced Search in ScienceDirect.
Tutorials on using the ScienceDirect database.

Related Databases

opens new windowView all databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database with book reviews, images, and some books with full-text. Areas covered include biology, chemistry, mathematics, multicultural studies, sciences, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies and more.
More database information from EBSCO.
Basic Searching Tutorial on EBSCOhost.
Advanced Searching Tutorial on EBSCOhost.
EagleSearch This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's discovery service (EDS) is called EagleSearch at ORU. This interface provides access to the majority of ORU resources through a single entry point.
Quick overview of EBSCO's Discovery Service (EDS)
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For access to ORU full-text: In Google Scholar go to the menu, choose Settings, then Library links in the left menu. Key in Oral Roberts University and Save. When you are logged in to "Off Campus Access," the results will provide a link (E-resources@OraRoberts) to the article, if it is available full-text in the library.
Citations to journal articles and eBooks will link to full-text if ORU has access to that resource.
Instructions on how to set up ORU Library on Google Scholar is found on the
Technical Helps LibGuide or in "How to add ORU Library to setting in Google Scholar" pdf.
PLOS - Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window
From website: "PLOS publishes a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine" -- Biology, Computational Biology, Genetics, Medicine, Neglected Tropical Diseases, Pathogens. Covers original research from all disciplines within science and medicine. Indexed in opens new windowAcademic Search Complete, opens new windowPubMed Central and several other databases, so it can be searched in a database or independently. Articles undergo opens new windoweditorial and peer review led by one of approximately 6,000 PLoS ONE Academic Editors. opens new windowLearn more. Includes article downloads, views and cited references.
PLOS ONE is multi-disciplinary and "facilitates connections within and between disciplines."

opens new windowScientific Research (Open access)
An academic publisher providing more than 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals. Includes cited references.