Library Guides: NUR-409 Community Health Nursing: Nonprofits & Businesses

Databases

Search for articles and other resources, such as business reports, in non-profit journals and magazines.

Use the databases below to locate demographics and other information on companies and non-profits. To refine the results lists above, in the database use Modify Search and add terms. Or select limiters listed in the left sidebar.

EagleSearch This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's discovery service (EDS) is called EagleSearch at ORU. This interface provides access to the majority of ORU resources through a single entry point.
Quick overview of EBSCO's Discovery Service (EDS)

Use EagleSearch to identify, then search other databases.
Search Examples:

- "Good Samaritan Health Services" AND Tulsa
- "Parent Child Center" AND Tulsa
- Clarehouse AND Tulsa

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly multi-disciplinary full-text database with book reviews, images, and some books with full-text. Areas covered include biology, chemistry, mathematics, multicultural studies, sciences, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies and more.
More database information from EBSCO.
Basic Searching Tutorial on EBSCOhost.
Advanced Searching Tutorial on EBSCOhost.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Choose Company Profiles from the More drop menu. Key in a company name to search. Click the MarketLine Report link, not the company name. The reports include history, business description, employees, products and services, SWOT analysis, competitors, company view, and more.
Example: American Airlines MarkeLine Report SWOT Analysis provides strengths, weaknesses, opportunity and threats. (Starts on p. 40 of the report.)
Provides indexing and full-text of journals in advertising, marketing, and public relations as well as management, MIS, accounting, finance, and economics.
More database information from EBSCO.
Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
A special interface for searching Business Source Complete, providing easy access to company profiles, industry profiles, market research, and country economic data.
Direct link to Company Profiles
Direct link toIndustry Profiles
Direct link to Country Profiles
Video tutorial: Business Searching Interface on EBSCO Tutorial

Nonprofit Quarterly
NPQ provides free access to research-based articles, webinars and podcasts for nonprofits about nonprofit management and governance, public policy and philanthropy.

Regional Business News Plus This link opens in a new window
Coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces; provides access to essential newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, trade publications, newswires, videos and more.
More database information from Ebsco, including title lists.

Sample article: David Page. (n.d.). Nonprofit group Clarehouse provides a home for end-of-life care. Journal Record, The (Oklahoma City, OK).

Small Business Source (formerly Small Business Reference Center) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text journal articles and information from reference books on topics related to starting a company, business plans, operations management, sales, and growing or rescuing a business; included are business videos and an advice section.
More database information from EBSCO.
US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Newspapers include Chicago Tribune (1996-present), Los Angeles Times (1996-present), New York Times (1980-present), New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine (1997-present), Wall Street Journal (1984-present), and Washington Post (1987-present)
TIP: Use "quotation marks" to search for exact phrases. For additional searching help, click on "Search tips" above the search box on Advanced Search screen; also notice links for Thesaurus and Field codes specific to this database. (On the Basic Search screen, "Search tips" is located under the search box Enter button).
Advanced Search screen: Use for filtering by Company/Organization, looking up NAICS codes, selecting specific Document types, etc.

Search TIPS and Examples

Search databases with key terms. Use quotation marks to search a phrase, such as the name of a charitable entity. Search in the default, subject and/or text fields. Set date limits. Sort the result list by Date Newest, Source, or Relevance.

Examples:
- opens new window"American Airlines" AND statistics (U.S. Major Dailies database)
- "American Airlines" AND culture (Business Source)
- "American Airlines" AND community (Academic Search Complete, Business Source, Regional Business Plus, Small Business Source)
- "American Airlines" AND (goals OR purpose) (Academic Search Complete, Business Source, Regional Business Plus, Small Business Source)
- "Cherokee Nation" AND community health (Business Source Complete database)

Books & Ebooks:

In the library catalog, search a subject heading or keywords.

Subject headings to search:

Nonprofit organizations
Nonprofit organizations -- Case studies
Nonprofit organizations -- Employees
Nonprofit organizations -- Management
Nonprofit organizations -- United States

Websites

Cause IQ Tulsa - An tool for research of nonprofit companies. Includes description, programs, funding, personnel, and more.

Examples: Flourish Homes, Clarehouse, Tulsa Hospices

Charity Watch - The American Institute of Philanthropy evaluates the efficiency, accountability and governance of about 400 US charities.

GuideStar - Create a free account to view organization programs, results, goals and strategies, financials, organizational demographics, and more.
Example: GuideStar: Good Samaritan Health Services, Inc. Tulsa

National Center for Charitable Statistics - Portal for nonprofit practitioners, researchers, and policymakers to download and explore data on the nonprofit sector.

Nonprofit Economic Data Project - Information on the dynamics of the nonprofit sector by analyzing diverse datasets on nonprofit organizations, including data on nonprofit Finances, employment and wages, and volunteering.

Statista: American Airlines

American Airlines Number of employees

Organization Websites

Organization websites may provide history, philosophy, leadership, purpose, program(s) and more.

Good Samaritan Health Services - Provides information on history, leadership, volunteers, and church partnerships.

Innovations Family Wellness, Inc.

The Parent Child Center of Tulsa

VA Eastern Oklahoma Health Care - Check out the "About Us" pages listed in the left sidebar.
Ernest Childers VA Outpatient Clinic (Tulsa)

Xavier Medical Clinic - Data from St. Francis Health System or hospital may be useful. (See: American Hospital Directory: St Francis Hospital)