About Secondary Data
To locate secondary data, use relevant terms and search a variety of types of resources. Government and associations or organizations may publish relevant authoritative secondary data, primary source documents and information in journals and on the Web. For regional data, use geographic location(s) in a search, such as Tulsa, Inola, or a zip code.
Types of secondary data may include:
- Demographics by: population, gender, ethnic group, migration trends, urban/rural, community, age, education level, household income, economic level, geographic data/location
- Socioeconomic and Environmental
- Health - mortality, immunization rate, health services and access, facility-to-population ratio
- Sociocultural factors or characteristics - customs, education, family, language, neighborhood, politics, social interactions (peer relationships), technology and values
- Religious/Spiritual - affiliations, beliefs, traditions
In addition to websites and sample results listed on this guide, search your area or people group and the data or statistics you need on the Web. Limit the results to government documents for relevant, reliable results. Examples:
your concept(s) and location and site:.gov
health and Tulsa and demographic
Teshi Accra and (demographic or population) and site:.gov
About Demographic Resources and Keyword Searching
Demographic Resources
Demographic data can be found in a variety of resources, including news and database articles, government resources, and websites.
Company, business, and news websites may provide some narrower demographics of a larger community, the mission or vision statement, purpose, information on the physical environment, services, beliefs, community composition and more
Example:
- The American Airlines Newsroom website, posted American Airlines has more than 5,500 team members at their Tulsa base (2020).
- Hospice of Green Country website
- Innovative Family Wellness (IFW) website
- Shining Star Academy and Ellemnopy Academy website; Parent Handbook
Charitable and non-profit organization websites may provide the philosophy, leadership, purpose, program(s) and more.
Examples:
Government sites contain a variety of data, including demographics for specific areas and people groups.
Examples:
- Government information can be found tabulated on documents and websites, such as Supporting Veterans in Oklahoma by Veterans Data Central.
- Tulsa Police Department (See also: CityData > Tulsa > Police [CTRL+F].)
- Tulsa Vet Center
- The U.S. Census Bureau provides infographics for Veteran Statistics: Oklahoma, U.S. Census Bureau: Veterans, or see the National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics (U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs).
Healthcare and government health department websites include surveys, vital statistic reports, health outcomes, behavioral factors and more.
School data and demographics can be gleaned from government regional, education, and nonprofit sites. Check out the resources listed on the "Nonprofit Organizations and Businesses" and "Regional Statistics and Data" tabs.
Keyword Searching
For the web or a database, use relevant words for a general topic or specific concept.
Examples:
- physical environment; climate; spaces, land
- demographic, age, race, ethnicity, sex, marital status, trends, morbidity & mortality
- politics, travel/transportation, boundaries; community threats, disasters
- culture, society, socio-cultural, social environment, characteristics
- statistic, data, overview
- trends, community environment, growth, decline, expansion, weakness
Sample searches, articles and web documents are provided on this guide to help students navigate and explore resources relevant to the assignment and target communities. View sample resources and search examples on these pages, then edit to match your research needs.
- Comprehensive Community Assessment Tool (EICAT)Assignment for NUR-403, Patterns of Community Health.
Featured Resources
Community Health Nursing: Caring for the Public's Health by Community Health Nursing: Caring for the Public's Health, Third Edition focuses on teaching nursing students about population health and community health nursing
Call Number: Library Reserve. (Inquire at the One-Stop desk to check out the book.) View record.ISBN: 9781449687168Publication Date: 2014-08-01
**This course required book is available on Reserve in the library.**
American Indian Health and Nursing by
" A]n extraordinary textbook that addresses the historical and national impact of healthcare and nursing on the American Indian... Although written for nurses, the usefulness of this healthcare textbook extends far beyond this professional practice. Anyone who wants to understand how healthcare is delivered to the American Indian population will be become well informed while immersed in this text. In this day of indigenizing the academy, including nursing, this textbook would be an excellent resource in Native Studies, Sociology, Psychology, Medicine, or Education." --Karen Doty-Sweetnam, Department of Psychiatric Nursing, Faculty of Health Studies, Brandon University, The Canadian Journal of Native Studies The first book to examine the profound disparities in American Indian health, and how they can be remedied, through a nursing lens The average life expectancy of a male born on the Pine Ridge reservation in South Dakota today is somewhere in the mid-40s'the lowest life expectancy of all peoples not only in the United States but the entire Western Hemisphere. Written by and for nurses, this is the first text to focus exclusively on American Indian health and nursing. In fact, it is likely the only nursing book to even mention American Indian health as a distinct entity. The text addresses the profound disparities in policy, health care law, and health outcomes that affect American Indians, and describes how these disparities, woven into the cultural, environmental, historical, and geopolitical fabric of American Indian society, are responsible for the marked lack of well-being among American Indians. American Indian nurse authors, natives of nine unique American Indian cultures, address the four domains of health' physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional' within each region to underscore the many stunning inequalities of opportunity for health and well-being within the American Indian culture compared with Anglo culture. In an era of cultural competency, these expert nurse authors bring awareness of what is perhaps the least understood minority population in the United States. The text covers the history of American Indians with a focus on the drastic changes that occurred following European contact. Included are excerpts from relevant journal articles, historical reports, interviews with tribal health officials, and case studies. The book addresses the roots of American Indian nursing, including coverage of indigenous knowledge and traditional approaches to health and healing. It examines current issues surrounding American Indian nursing, nursing education, and health care within 10 distinct American Indian cultural populations, including a crucial discussion of the health care needs of American Indians living in urban areas. KEY FEATURES: Focuses exclusively on American Indian health and nursing' the first book to do so Written by American Indian nurses Covers four domains of health: physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional Highlights nine specific cultural areas spanning Indian Country, each with its own unique history and context, with urban spaces as a final area
ISBN: 9780826129840Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Healthy Places, Health People: A Handbook for Culturally Informed Community Nursing Practice
byPublication Date: 2016
See: "Learning the Culture and Health of Communities," Chapter 3
Selected Journal Articles:
• opens new windowCommunity Health Nursing through a Global Lens
• opens new windowApproaches to Community Nursing Research Partnerships: A Case Example
• opens new windowExpertise in Action: Insights into the Dynamic Nature of Expertise in Community-based Nursing
The Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health by
"Focuses on health crises affecting the public at large, ranging from epidemic and pandemic diseases; chronic conditions such as famine, malnutrition, cancer, and diabetes; and social issues such as sexual abuse, obesity, bullying, and new substance abuse issues. Entries describe the origin and spread of the issue, public and government reaction and response, and treatments and preventive measures"--Provided by publisher.
ISBN: 9780028666709Publication Date: 2019-09-01
Search Authoritative Websites and Government Statistics
Search for and restrict results to government and association or organization data. As shown in the chart below, limit to domain .gov (site:.gov) for government sites, or add the term association or organization to your search expression.
