Library Guides: NUR-303 Professional Nursing II: Databases

Core Databases

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
To access subjects headings, click CINAHL Subject Headings in the top blue menu in CINAHL.
Full-text and citations of journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, book chapters, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, and more; uses MeSH
More database information from EBSCO.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, abstracts, and indexing of health and medical related scholarly journals; subjects include pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, etc.
More database information from EBSCO.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
To access medical subject headings, click MeSH 2023 in the top blue menu in MEDLINE.
Full-text from biomedical and health journals; utilizes MeSH.
Advanced Searching with MEDLINE Medical Subjects Headings (MESH).
Video tutorial from EBSCO: Using CINAHL - MeSH Headings (Medline uses the CINAHL-MeSH headings.)
Ovid Core Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of selected nursing journals as well as access to tables of contents, bibliographic citations, abstracts, and references of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals.

More database information from OVID.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Library of Medicine free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
More database information from US National Library of Medicine.

Law, Jurisprudence, Political Science

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
This database specializes in legal issues and documents. It contains statutes, academic articles, law reviews, case histories, political documents, legislative debates, international treaties and more over a wide variety of disciplines. There are many images and video segments as well.
Help with HeinOnline resources (includes training videos, searching tips, how to use the features in this database, etc).
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, case studies, and legal documents and is a source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. The information centers on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, ethical issues, the environment, federal law, international law, organized crime, medical, labor, and human resource law.
More database information about Legal Collection
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Legal reference books containing thousands of legal forms; covers business law, financial planning, family law, property and real estate rights and disputes.
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text of journals, reference books, and conference papers related to contemporary political discourse; subjects include international relations, law and legislation, political theory, non-governmental organizations, humanitarian issues.
More database information from EBSCO, including title lists.

Sample Subject Links

For articles on nursing ethics in CINAHL and MEDLINE databases, search medical subject headings, such as "nursing ethics" shown in the images below. Mark the subject heading and subheadings, then click Search Databases. Add keywords to your search to narrow your results.

Example: CINAHL - Subject heading for "nursing ethics"

Example: MEDLINE - MESH 2020 for "nursing ethics"

Search Examples with Links to Results

Examples below show searches using subject heading. Links go to the search result and article list.

opens new windowMH "Codes of Ethics"+/LJ = [Major Heading "Codes of Ethics" and subheading "Legislation & Jurisprudence/LJ" in MEDLINE]

opens new window(MH "Codes of Ethics+/LJ") AND (MH "nurse's role") [in MEDLINE]

opens new window(MH "Codes of Ethics") AND (MH "nurse's role") [in MEDLINE]

EagleSearch

EagleSearch This link opens in a new window
Searches multiple databases simultaneously. Use EagleSearch to identify databases that have articles on your topic.
EBSCO's discovery service (EDS) is called EagleSearch at ORU. This interface provides access to the majority of ORU resources through a single entry point.
Quick overview of EBSCO's Discovery Service (EDS)

Legal Issues and Documents

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
This database specializes in legal issues and documents. It contains statutes, academic articles, law reviews, case histories, political documents, legislative debates, international treaties and more over a wide variety of disciplines. There are many images and video segments as well.
Help with HeinOnline resources (includes training videos, searching tips, how to use the features in this database, etc).
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
This database provides a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, case studies, and legal documents and is a source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. The information centers on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, ethical issues, the environment, federal law, international law, organized crime, medical, labor, and human resource law.
More database information about Legal Collection
Legal Information Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Legal reference books containing thousands of legal forms; covers business law, financial planning, family law, property and real estate rights and disputes.