Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HLSS-499 Senior Paper/Project, Course Research Guide

Course Library Research Guide This course library research research guide supplements the LIBBI session and provides suggested resources, search strategies, and research tips to support the course assignments and student research needs. (All links open in a new window.)

Fun Facts

2019-2029 Projected Job Outlook/Growth fromOccupational Outlook Handbook, BLS

opens new windowFitness Trainers and Instructors, 15% increase (faster than average).
opens new windowAthletes and Sports Competitors, 10% increase (faster than average).
opens new windowopens new windowExercise Physiologists, 11% increase (faster than average).

Fun Facts

2019-2029 Projected Job Outlook/Growth fromOccupational Outlook Handbook, BLS

opens new windowFitness Trainers and Instructors, 15% increase (faster than average).
opens new windowAthletes and Sports Competitors, 10% increase (faster than average).
opens new windowopens new windowExercise Physiologists, 11% increase (faster than average).


"The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form."
View: opens new windowNutrition: Movies
Examples:
- opens new windowA Film Lesson in Health and Nutrition: Food (1928) from Prelinger Archives, San Francisco
opens new window- Wartime Nutrition by U.S. Office of War Information (1943)
- opens new windowFoundation Foods by Avis Films (1951)
- opens new windowIt Happened in Flatbush, Carole Landis (1942, Public Domain Mark)
Images:
- opens new windowThe Five Food Groups (2014)

Featured Resources

Healthy People 2030
Maintained by U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. Provides "national objectives to improve health and well being over the next decade." Includes ObjectivesLeading Health Indicators, Evidence-Based Resources, and more. (View opens new windowHealthy People 2020)


Sports Medicine-Openopens new windowSports Medicine - Open
An online, open access journal for the publication of research in the field of sport and exercise medicine. Includes medical and scientific research relating to:
• Sporting performance enhancement including nutrition, equipment and training
• Medical syndromes associated with sport and exercise
• Injury prevention and treatment
• Exercise for rehabilitation and health
• The application of physiological and biomechanical principles to specific sporting codes," by opens new windowSpringer Open.



The Internet Archive - A non-profit "digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form."
View a list of opens new windowNutrition Movies
Examples:
- opens new windowA Film Lesson in Health and Nutrition: Food (1928) from Prelinger Archives, San Francisco
opens new window- Wartime Nutrition by U.S. Office of War Information (1943)
- opens new windowFoundation Foods by Avis Films (1951)
- opens new windowIt Happened in Flatbush, Carole Landis (1942, Public Domain Mark)
Images:
- opens new windowThe Five Food Groups (2014)