Selected Books
The New International Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements
by The Definitive History of the Spirit-Filled Church Encyclopedic coverage of: Activities of the Spirit over 2,000 years of church history in 60 countries and regions Outpourings at Topeka, Mukti Mission (India), Azusa Street, Duquesne University, and many other 20th-century locations Current movements among today's 500 million-plus Pentecostal and charismatic Christians worldwide The New International Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements sets modern, Spirit-filled Christianity in a context that spans two millennia and the entire Christian world. Like no other resource, this volume reveals in detail the full, sweeping legacy of Spirit-empowered movements that have touched hearts and lives both in modern America and across the centuries and continents: in medieval Europe, Finland in the 1700s, South India in the 1800s, Azusa Street at the turn of the 20th century--and much more, including ongoing moves of the Holy Spirit throughout the world today. One thousand entries provide the most extensive information available on Pentecostal, charismatic, and neocharismatic movements. The diverse topics covered include, as a small sample, glossolalia, black and Hispanic Pentecostalism, prophecy, the role of women, faith healing, music, sociology, missions, church growth, and different historic and contemporary revivals. With its unique international and historical perspective, this completely revised and expanded second edition of the acclaimed Dictionary of Pentecostal and Charismatic Movements offers features that no other reference of its kind approaches. Its extraordinary scope and detailed, up-to-date coverage make this the definitive resource on Pentecostal and charismatic denominations and movements both in North America and worldwide. Includes: Exhaustive coverage of Pentecostal and charismatic movements in 60 countries and regions--individual histories, cultural and theological aspects, and key figures and institutions. Statistical section with a wealth of current information on the growth of classical Pentecostalism as well as charismatic and neocharismatic movements. 1,000 articles. Over 500 photos and illustrations, maps, and timeline. Cross references, bibliographies, and indexes to people, places, and topics.Call Number: BR1544.D53
View catalog record. Multiple copies are available.Publication Date: 2002-05-27
Encyclopedia of Evangelicalism
by In theEncyclopedia of Evangelicalism, Randall Balmer pulls together insightful information about the people, events, and institutions that have shaped the powerful and influential evangelical movement. This highly accessible book reads more like a collection of stories than a set of dry academic articles, and is an indispensable tool for studying and understanding evangelicalism.Call Number: BR1640.B35
Available online and in print in the library.Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Biographical Dictionary of Evangelicals
byCall Number: BV3780 .B56 2003ISBN: 0830829253Publication Date: 2003-07-11
How to Find Biographical Articles in Databases
Select Indexes from the More drop menu, then choose Name as Subject. Key in a person.
Other Suggested Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowClick More in the top menu > click indexes > For Browse an Index choose People.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- In the first text box, key in biography and change Select a Field (optional) to SU Subject Term. In the second text box, key in the person's name. (shown below)
- Key in the person's name and change the drop menu from Select a Field options... to PE People. (shown below)
- Or, mouse over More in the top menu and click Indexes. For Browse an Index, choose People. Key in your person's name then click Search.
