If the assignment requires you to make an objective analysis of a current magazine article, current newspaper article, popular secular song’s lyrics, or film (if a printed script is available) to expose its underlying worldview or specific philosophy, consider dividing the research into two parts.

• Select a work - Choose a song, tv script, popular magazine article, or newspaper article (per your professor) and form an opinion on the worldview of the lyricist, writer, or author.
• Search databases for scholarly articles - Find scholarly articles to support your opinion of the worldview you identify with the lyricist, writer, or author.

For citations examples, click Citing Sources in MLA page (in the left menu).

Song Lyrics & Television Scripts

1. Search the Web to find song lyrics, opens new windowTV show transcripts, and opens new windowmovie scripts.
   Search example:
         TV show name AND episodes AND transcripts
   Choose song lyrics that communicate a predominant worldview.
   What do you see as the worldview of the lyrics? Why?
    
2. Then, use databases to search for scholarly articles. Search the worldview you interpret is communicated in the work you selected.
   Search example:
         reincarnation AND "new age"
         reincarnation AND "new age belief"

Newspaper Article

• opens new windowNewspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
• opens new windowUS Major Dailies - Provides access to Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times Magazine ,Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

"Popular Culture" Magazine Article

Click the Popular Culture tab in the left menu to view search tips and a list of popular magazine titles with links to full text.

To get background and/or summary information on worldviews:

• Click the Worldviews/Comparison Chart/Ethics (in the left menu) and select "Worldview Comparison Charts."
• Click the Worldviews/Comparison Chart/Ethics (in the left menu) to view selected books and ebooks or search a worldview in the library catalog or ebook database.

• Search the worldview you interpret is communicated in the work and terms from your analysis.
• Key in the person's name, song title or lyric phrase. (Search default and text fields.)
• Use quotation marks around a song title or lyric phrase. (Search default and text fields.)
• See the "Worldview" tab for a list of related search terms.
• Search a name several ways. For example, use AND between the first and last name.

Suggested Databases:

For additional databases use the opens new window Database List or the "Choose Databases" link in an EBSCO database.