About a Journal and Magazine Titles
- Journal Finder + This link opens in a new window
Search and find journals, magazines and newspapers.
To evaluate content of a journal or magazine title, 1) search the title, 2) access the journal/magazine record, and then 3) view the publication's description and to see if it is scholarly or peer reviewed.
Popular Culture - Journals
The Library has a variety of popular culture journals and magazines. opens new windowView the list. Select a title from the list, then browse an issue or search all issues for topic, artist, song or lyrics. Try a journal title search for "popular culture."
To find a writer or lyricist, try the writer's name and/or song lyrics as a search in the "text" field. Although, this may not provide lengthy articles specific to your person, the search may bring up some interesting articles.
Browse or search the sample journal titles listed below for articles on lyrics, worldview, your career, contemporary ethical issues and more. Use the "Search within this publication" link on the publication page to search all issues of the journal or drill down through the dates and volumes.
- opens new windowAmericana - Explores the function of signs and symbols in popular culture.
- opens new windowCareer Development Quarterly - "Articles on career assessment & measurement, career counseling practices, career indecision, information, salience, self-efficacy, theory, transitions, gender issues, case histories & work & family."
- opens new windowJournal of Popular Culture - Includes "essays and book reviews on popular culture in all areas of the arts, humanities, social sciences and physical sciences. "
- opens new windowJournal of Religion & Popular Culture (full text delay 6 months) - Covers topics in religion and popular culture.
- opens new windowStudies in Popular Culture - Discusses aspect of American or international, contemporary or historical, popular culture.
Try a Publications search in opens new windowAcademic Search Complete or inquire at the Library Service desk for librarian assistance.
Popular Culture - Magazines
Click a link below to go to the magazine's detailed record page. Then use the Search within this publication link or drill down through the issues/dates to browse a single issue. When available, access the PDF full text version.
- opens new windowCosmopolitan
- opens new windowEntertainment Weekly
- opens new windowGood Housekeeping
- opens new window InStyle
- opens new windowMen's Health
- opens new windowNational Geographic (full text delay 3 months)
- opens new windowPeople
- opens new windowPopular Mechanics
- opens new windowPopular Science
- opens new windowRolling Stone
- opens new windowSeventeen
- opens new windowSports Illustrated
- opens new windowTime
- opens new windowVanity Fair
- opens new windowVogue
Popular Culture - Books & Ebooks
- Catalog This link opens in a new window
View a list of opens new windowbook titles on popular culture.
View the subjects for opens new windowpopular culture: narrower terms.
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Try a search using key words that describe your selected work. For example, opens new windowBob Dylan's Hurricane lyrics.
Sample Titles:
At the Crossroads
by This book is meant to clarify the mission of Christian music & awaken the Christian music community to its lofty potential as God's image-bearers.Call Number: ML3187.5 .P37ISBN: 0805418229Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Apostles of Rock
by Contemporary Christian music is one of the fastest growing areas of popular music. CCM is heard on more than 500 radio stations throughout America, and outsells both jazz and classical music in record shops.Call Number: ML3187.5.H68ISBN: 9780813121055Publication Date: 1999-06-01
Living in the Rock N Roll Mystery
by Mystery, rather than "problem,” provides the context that the cultural ethnographer best uses to approach the experience of both the living and the writing of culture. In this work, H. L. Goodall, Jr., continues his discussion of the cultural ethnographer as detective through an investigation of what he calls the "rock n roll mystery.” Using Bakhtin’s notion of "Carnival,” Goodall positions rock n roll as an important aspect of the American cultural experience using its lyrics and rhythm as a force of resistance to the domin ant bureaucratic order. He argues that interpretive ethnography, where sentences use rhythms and emotions along with words to construct a work, parallels rock n roll in its creation of multiple voices struggling for creative and interpretive presence and space in the text. As there is no privileged text in the social life of rock n roll, there is no privileged voice in the writing of interpretive ethnography. It is, instead, a reading and writing method within the field of communication and the field of cultural studies that challenges the "existing wisdom.” Goodall invites the reader to join him in the role of the detective who confronts, enters, and then participates in the mysteries of living. Through the use of his interpretive method, Goodall is able to move under the skin of experience to disclose the relationship among self, other(s), and context, an understanding only achieved by "going beneath the often cosmetic surfaces of cultural traffic to where symbols mingle with the driven stuff of life.” Because the "stuff of life” is laid out on the pages of this book, Goodall’s text is as compelling as a good novel and in some ways more intimate.ISBN: 9780809316106Publication Date: 1991-02-28
Open up the Doors
by Within the Judaeo-Christian tradition -with few exceptions- music has always been central to the performance of sacred rites. The musical setting of liturgy has its roots in the earliest customs of the church and the practice has continued to evolve up to the present day. As the contemporary church in many Western societies grapples with the divisive issues of gay clergy or female ordination, just as divisive a schism appears to be in progress in the world of church music. On the traditional side are those that keep the ancient choral traditions alive. They face the new, intense informality of the evangelical wing who embrace a plainer more approachable music but who are not themselves without controversy, owing to the struggle between the secular forces from which their new forms of church music derive and the messages they wish to propagate and who are also, it often seems, drawn to fundamenta list and reactionary politics. This book surveys the music used in churches around the world today in the context of the history of western congregational song and concludes that music, like other cultural elements of contemporary Christianity, has been widely secularized. This secularization is a global phenomenon fed by the explosive growth of the contemporary church music industry (worth more than $900 million in annual sales) which has seen the large secular music companies acquiring independent labels, in many cases, to the distress of the faithful. By analyzing the tensions and controversies that are fuelling this crisis and leading to the breakdown of traditions that have been the backbone Christian tradition for centuries, the book questions whether the theoretical and practical problems aroused by this crisis can ever be surmounted.ISBN: 9781845531867Publication Date: 2006-01-15
The Point of It All
by For three decades, Charles Krauthammer elevated the op-ed column into a form of art. Whether holding forth on American politics or reflecting on more esoteric topics like baseball, chess and spaceflight, Krauthammer became known not only for his penetrating wit and insight, but for his ability to identify the hidden moral truths that animate our daily lives. This new collection, which Krauthammer was working on before he passed away, collects the columns, speeches, and unpublished writings that showcase Krauthammer's philosophy on politics and life, and the legacy that he left behind.Call Number: PN4874.K725 A6ISBN: 9781984825483Publication Date: 2018-12-04
News/Newspaper Databases
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
- Newswires This link opens in a new window
- Regional Business News Plus This link opens in a new window
- US Major Dailies This link opens in a new window