About
You may use a variety of publication formats and types for your resources, including articles, ebooks, AVON (Academic Videos Online), government documents, statistics, etc. Regardless of the format or type, whenever you use another person's ideas, words, opinions, videos, etc., you must include a citation to avoid plagiarism. In a research paper, sources will include 1) an in-text citation and 2) a citation in the "Works Cited" at the end of the paper.
MLA citation examples and resources are provided in the boxes below.
Many databases have citation tools, including the EBSCO databases, that allow you to copy and paste citations, then edit as needed. Always refer to the print style manual for complete citation formatting and punctuation guidelines. Follow your professor's recommendations.
MLA Style Manual
MLA Handbook by
Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbookis published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbookoffers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTubevideos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Call Number: LB 2369.M52 2021 View catalog record.ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-06
The Little, Brown Handbook by
NOTE: This edition features the same content as the traditional text in a convenient, three-hole-punched, loose-leaf version. Books a la Carte also offer a great value; this format costs significantly less than a new textbook. Before purchasing, check with your instructor or review your course syllabus to ensure that you select the correct ISBN. Several versions of Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products exist for each title, including customized versions for individual schools, and registrations are not transferable. In addition, you may need a Course ID, provided by your instructor, to register for and use Pearson's MyLab & Mastering products. For courses in English Composition. This version of The Little Brown Handbook has been updated to reflect the 8th edition of the MLA Handbook (April 2016). The 8th edition introduces sweeping changes to the philosophy and details of MLA works cited entries. Responding to the "increasing mobility of texts," MLA now encourages writers to focus on the process of crafting the citation, beginning with the same questions for any source. These changes, then, align with current best practices in the teaching of writing which privilege inquiry and critical thinking over rote recall and rule-following. The gold standard of handbooks - unmatched in accuracy, currency, and reliability The Little, Brown Handbook is an essential reference tool and classroom resource designed to help students find the answers they need quickly and easily. While keeping pace with rapid changes in writing and its teaching, it offers the most comprehensive research and documentation available-with grammar coverage that is second to none. With detailed discussions of critical reading, media literacy, academic writing, and argument, as well as writing as a process, writing in the disciplines, and writing beyond the classroom, this handbook addresses writers of varying experience and in varying fields.
Call Number: On Reserve. View catalog record.ISBN: 9780134582634Publication Date: 2016-07-28
General Information (MLA 9th ed.) & Citing Generative AI (ChatGPT)
For articles in databases, when a DOI (opens new windowDigital Object Identifier) is not available, use the permalink, if available. A permalink is a URL that is static, persistent, or permanent. To get a permalink in EBSCOhost, click "Permalink" in the right sidebar under "Tools."
In MLA, the accessed date is not required, but may be provided if you wish. Check with your professor's guidelines.
- For an online work, use a DOI, permalink, or URL.
- Precede a DOI with http:// or https://. (i.e., https://doi.org/10.1111/jch.12223.) (MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 194 [5.93])
- For a URL https:// or http:// at the beginning may be omitted. (MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 195 [5.95])
- For a web source, copy the URL from the browser. The http:// or https:// may be omitted. (MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 195 [5.95])
- For articles in EBSCOhost, if the work is available in full text (not just the article abstract or record), use EBSCOhost as the container. Note: Databases within the EBSCOhost platform, such as Academic Search Complete or ERIC, are considered "filters," not the container. (MLA Handbook, 9th ed., pp. 134-137 [5.31-34], for notes on website containers.)
How do I cite ChatGPT and other generative AI?
See the MLA Style Center at https://style.mla.org/citing-generative-ai/
Citation Examples - Journals, Magazines (MLA 9th ed.)
Article in magazine. Includes optional accessed date.
Example (opens new windowview article record.):
Gliatto, Tom, et al. “1936-2017 Mary Tyler Moore. (Cover Story).” People, vol. 87, no. 7, Feb. 2017, pp. 54–62. EBSCOhost, https://oralroberts.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=121093537&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 29 Apr. 2020.
Journal Article with URL
Examples:
Fowler, Cary. “A ‘Doomsday’ Seed Vault to Protect the World’s Diversity.” Journal of International Affairs, vol. 67, no. 2, Spring/Summer 2014, pp. 141–146. EBSCOhost, https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=95804642&site=ehost-live&scope=site.
opens new windowView article record.
Monteith, Andrew. “Transhumanism, Utopia, and the Problem of the Real in Ready Player One.” Journal of Religion and Popular Culture, vol. 34, no. 1, Spr 2022, pp. 1–15. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.3138/jrpc.2018-0054.
opens new windowView article record.
For URLs the http:// or https:// at the beginning of the URL can be omitted unless you want to have a hyperlink. (See MLA Handbook, 9th ed. p. 195, [5.96])
Journal Article with DOI
Examples:
Latham, Laura S., et al. “Chocolate-Guilty Pleasure or Healthy Supplement?” Journal of Clinical Hypertension, vol. 16, no. 2, Feb. 2014, pp. 101–106. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.1111/jch.12223.
Reddy, Deva Eswara. “Emerging Trends in Seedbanking for Food and Agriculture: An International Perspective.” Journal of Agricultural & Food Information, vol. 18, no. 2, Apr. 2017, pp. 145–60. EBSCOhost, https://doi.org/10.1080/10496505.2017.1289092.
opens new windowView article record.
Precede a DOI with https://doi.org. (See MLA Handbook, 9th ed., p. 194, [5.93])
Citation Examples - Song Lyrics, TV Scripts (MLA 8th ed.)
The examples below show elements to include in the citation. Use the print style manual and your professor's requirement to correctly format the citations.
Song Lyrics (from an album or CD)
Writer or lyricist last name, first name. “Song title.” Recording date. Album name. Recording label. Year of release.
Example:
Child, Desmond, Jon Bon Jovi, and Richard Sambora. “Livin’ on a Prayer.” Slippery When Wet. Island/Mercury, 2017.
Song Lyrics (from a website)
Writer or lyricist last name, first name. “Song title.”Website name,URL
Example:
Child, Desmond, Jon Bon Jovi, and Richard Sambora. “Livin’ on a Prayer.” SongLyrics, songlyrics.com/bon-jovi/livin-on-a-prayer-lyrics/.
Television Script
Writer. "Title of source." Title of container (in italics), series, episode, Title of second container (in italics), publisher, location.
Example:
Litt, David and Lee Aronsohn. "The Luminious Fish Effect." Big Bang Theory, story by Chuck Lorre and Bill Prady, series 01, episode 04. Big Bang Theory Transcripts, WordPress, bigbangtrans.wordpress.com/.
Television Script -No Writer/Author.
Example:
"The Big Bran Hypothesis."Big Bang Theory, series 01, episode 02, 5 Oct. 2007. Big Bang Theory Transcripts, Forever Dreaming,
transcripts.foreverdreaming.org/viewtopic.php?f=159&t=8537.
In-Text Citations Without Page Numbers
When page numbers are not fixed (the numbers are not the same in all formats) or not available, use a label identifying abbreviation for the number reference. Use a comma to separate the author from a reference that is not a page number.
Examples:
(Smith 27) page number 27
(Smith, par. 6) paragraph 6
(Smith, pars. 6-7) paragraphs 6 and 7
(Smith, ch. 4) chapter 4
See:
MLA Handbook, 8th edition (pp. 36, 123-127) - Call number opens new windowLB2369.G53 2016
The Little, Brown Handbook, 13th edition (pp. 638-640) - Call number opens new windowPE1112.F644 2016.
The DOI
What is a DOI?
The digital object identifier, or DOI, is a string of digits and letters that lead to the source location. DOIs are persistentlinks used in scientific and scholarly publishingto provide a permanent electronic address to avoid the problems of broken, outdated or changed links. opens new windowThe DOI System provides a means for managing informationin changingdigital environments. For example, if an article URL or resource services changes or moves, the DOI will link to the correct resource(s) on the Web. Journal articlesare often assigned DOIs, while magazine articles are not.
Where can I find the DOI?
In most recently published articles, the DOI is printed with the article, often on the first page in the header with other citation information, such as the title, authors and other publication information. It may also appear in the footer. In databases, if an article has a DOI it is usually included in the article record.
What if there is no DOI?
If a DOI is not provided in the article or with the article record, you can look it up on the website opens new windowCrossRef.org. Use the “Search Metadata” option to search the article title or author(s).
How do I find an article with the DOI?
If the DOI starts with http:// or https://, paste it into your web browser or go to opens new windowdoi.org and paste the DOI string (name).
DOIs and MLA
For MLA documentation, if a source, such as a journal article, has a DOI,use it instead of the persistent link (or URL). If there is no DOI, use the persistent link.
How do I write the DOI in a MLA citation?
The correct format for a citation is doi:10.xxxxx with no space after the colon.
Additional MLA Resources
MLA Style Center (Modern Language Association)
To organize key elements in your citation, use the opens new windowMLA Interactive Practice Template from MLA Handbook (8th ed.), PDF, by the Modern Language Association (style.mla.org),
- opens new windowHow to cite an online video?
- opens new windowUsing MLA Format
- opens new windowWorks Cited: A Quick guide
- FAQs, MLA Style Center
- MLA Citation Style 8th edition HD (Hayden Memorial Library)
- opens new windowCitation Help for MLA, 8th Edition (College of St. Scholastica)
- opens new windowMLA Documentation Guide (The Writing Center, University of Wisconsin-Madison)
- opens new windowScribbr - Provides interactive MLA citation generator