• opens new windowO*NETOnline (Occupational Information Network, Sponsored by U.S. Dept. of Labor) - Includes, work activities, job zone, work styles, work values, related occupations and more. opens new windowAbout. Try the opens new windowO*NET Interest Profiler. See opens new windowWork Values and browse by O*NETData descriptors.
• opens new windowOccupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) (U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics) - See the opens new windowA-Z Index. Browse occupations by opens new windowhighest paying, opens new windowfastest growing, or opens new windowmost new jobs (proposed). OOH opens new windowCareer Outlook "articles provide data and information on a variety of topics—including occupations and industries, pay and benefits, and more." Career Outlook supplements the Occupational Outlook Handbook. opens new windowAbout
   
• opens new windowCareerCast: Jobs Rated
  Look for career and job opportunities by industry, function and location. Includes:
  - opens new windowBest Jobs of 2019
  - opens new windowWorst Jobs of 2019
  - opens new windowThe 2019 Jobs Rated Report
  - opens new windowCareerCast Niche Job Networks - Each network includes jobs and a library of articles, videos, news, job ratings, career advice, emerging trends, outstanding figures, key publications, and more.
• opens new windowCareerOneStop: Occupation Profile (U.S. Dept. of Labor, Employment and Training Administration)
  - opens new windowCareer Assessments
• opens new windowHaz-MAP (National Institute of Health) - Information on hazardous chemicals and occupational diseases. Provides information about the "adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents." Includes opens new windowHigh Risk Jobs and opens new windowJob Tasks.
• opens new windowLearn How to Become - Provides job help tools including "articles, rankings, and other resources that are informed by primary sources, data, and expert guidance."
• opens new windowSpotlight on Statistics: Occupational Employment and Wages in Metro and Nonmetro Areas (November 2020, U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
  opens new windowSpotlight on Statistics: Race, Economics, and Social Statusopens new window (May 2018, U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics)
  View Spotlight on Statistics opens new windowArchives

opens new windowCareer Development Quarterly (Full text delay: 12 months) - "Articles on career assessment & measurement, career counseling practices, career indecision, information, salience, self-efficacy, theory, transitions, gender issues, case histories & work & family."

Career Outlook

Journal of Vocational Behavior - "Publishes original empirical and theoretical articles that contribute novel insights to the fields of career choice, career development," and more.

Work and Occupations (WOX): An International Sociological Journal - Provides "a broad perspective on the dynamics of the workplace and examines international approaches to work-related issues."

In addition to career websites, use databases to identify trends, the outlook and other features or projections for your career.

✓ Select a database, such as opens new windowAcademic Search Complete. Use the "Choose Databases" link to select and add one or more subject related databases to search.
✓ Use key terms for your occupation or career.
✓ Use the "Subject" and/or "Subject Thesaurus" limiters in the left menu bar to mark all relevant subjects for your occupation and update your results.
✓ Browse and search subject headings.
✓ Change or add databases, as needed.

Sample Searches:
The searches below include keyword, phrase and subject heading searches. Click a link to review the results and edit for other careers or professions.

• opens new windowlibrarian AND "job description"
• opens new window Library professions AND ethics (Subject Term)
• opens new windowDE "LIBRARIANS -- Professional ethics" (DE = subject heading)
• opens new windowDE "Library science -- Moral & ethical aspects" (Subject heading); same Search

Search the Web for the professional organizations or associations and their Professional Ethics or Code of Ethics. If you do not know the name of the professional association affiliated with your career, try a search similar to those below.
Search Examples:
• librarian and "professional ethics"
• accounting and "Code of Ethics"
• professional and ethic* and association

• opens new windowCareers Representing America: Work (U.S. Dept. of State)
  opens new windowWhich Career Path is Right for You? quiz
• opens new window ORU Student Resources - Includes Resume Review, Mock Interviews, and Handshake (ORU's online job board).

Selected Job Search Sites:

• opens new windowIndeed: Career Guide
• opens new windowLinkedIn
• opens new windowMonster
• opens new windowZipRecruiter